We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasurable Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1836 El Camino Real, Redwood City, CA 94063 (Formerly Executive Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Redwood City
New Fairfield, CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Pleasurable Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

The best feature of this hotel was the very hard working, courteous and helpful staff. The front desk staff was extremely helpful in getting my boarding passes for my flight squared away.The room was very clean and a good size at a very reasonable price. Good location between Palo Alto(Stanford) and San Francisco and the airport. Excellent breakfast with many choices, that was meticulously maintained by their staff. Will definitely stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    48
    10
    4
    8
See reviews for
30
17
14
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This Holiday Inn Express is not in the greatest of locations however it is very handy if you need to get up and down the valley. Very close to the 101 and on Woodside and access to the 280. Not a hotel for holidays but great for business.

The rooms are large and the bed is very comfortable. Only thing to remember is to ask for a room towards the back or the noise from El Camino is loud.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a week while he was on business. The hotels we had originally wanted to stay in were booked so we had to "settle" for a Holiday Inn. I was not thrilled but it was my first time in CA so I did not complain. I have to say I was impressed! The rooms are beautiful. They are sparkling clean, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. Our bed was extremely comfortable as was the entire room. The front desk staff is helpful and polite if not enthusiastic about being good hosts to you during your stay and the breakfast in the morning is a great way to start off. They have something hot like eggs, omelets, ham, bacon, sausage etc. And it changes for variety everyday! Te chain apparently also has their own brand of Cinnamon bun, which was ok but the biscuits were great! They also had the normal items you would expect to find on a breakfast bar such as fruit, pastry, and yogurt. My room was clean everyday and was a welcome sight to a worn down tourist at the end of everyday. Even though we debt get the five star hotel we had wanted I'm still glad we stayed here! It was great!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We had a great time and enjoyed the redwood city HIX for our accomodations. Staff were very cordial and helpful, room was quiet and linens adequate, comfortable bed and pillows and parking was very convenient to our room. the quiet neighborhood was both secure and relaxing. Eating area was roomy and convenient. I especially liked the gourmet coffee and the chocolate cocoa.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Surrounding might be misleading, but it is a good hotel in what seems to be not upscale but pretty safe neighborhood . I was upgraded and the room was excellent. (no great view from window; but I did not need it anyway). Breakfast is pretty basic , but still it comes handy. Hotel is a 15 min walk form redwood city train station with hourly trains to San Francisco and San Jose (via Palo Alto). Walk to train station is via a well lit very walkable center of town. I walked after 11pm and it felt safe. Front desk is helpful and efficient . Overall a good budget option in the ara.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkview, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The staff was courteous and very helpful. Enjoyed the spacious rooms, free Wi-Fi access and a free breakfast make this hotel a smart choice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised when staying at this hotel to visit family. The accommodations were clean and the service was very helpful. One of the things we were especially impressed with was the breakfast that was included with our stay! This was no "coffee and pastry" breakfast, but one that offered pancakes, pastries, omelets (moist and with diced ham and cheese), yogurt, bagels, french toast, cereal, and more!! There was also an abundance of coffee, both decaf and regular along with assorted flavors of creamer. Since we stayed 2 nights, we noticed that the offerings even changed over the 2 mornings for even more variety! Their breakfast room was welcoming and was a great way to start our day. :) We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 1836 El Camino Real, Redwood City, CA 94063 (Formerly Executive Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Redwood City/Menlo Park, California! We are located on the south side of Redwood City on El Camino Real (CA 82), within minutes of the quaint town of Atherton, Menlo Park, and the Stanford University. Our accommodations are perfect for business and leisure travelers, equipped with complimentary high-speed Internet access, two line telephones with voice mail, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator, hairdryer, lighted make-up mirrors, iron and board. We also feature televisions equipped with 70 channels, HBO, DVD/VCR players. All king rooms come with a sofa sleeper. At the end of the day, enjoy an invigorating workout in our fitness center and relax in our Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. In the morning you will wake up to an inviting Express Start complimentary hot breakfast at the breakfast bar, featuring our famous cinnamon rolls and SMART Roast Coffee. Our friendly staff is ready to welcome you and make you feel right at home. Discover all that downtown Redwood City, Menlo Park, Atherton and Palo Alto have to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Redwood City. We are close to the Stanford University and Hospital, Kaiser Permanente Hospital and the Sequoia Hospital. We are strategically accessible to the Silicon Valley. We are also close to the corporate offices/buildings of Hewlett Packard, Yahoo, Microsoft, OmniCell, Google, Verisign, Synopsis, Verisign, NASA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Redwood City
Holiday Inn Redwood City
Redwood City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.