We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good first experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel San Francisco Bay to your Saves list
Sofitel San Francisco Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Twin Dolphin Drive, Redwood City, CA 94065   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Redwood City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A good first experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

Caveat: This is one of the first times I have stayed in a hotel nicer than Motel 6 (literally), so it doesn't take a lot to impress me.

The good:

*The hotel staff was friendly and knowledgeable
*Toiletries were replaced daily and was a brand
*Cotton balls, mints, cotton swabs provided in the restroom
*Ample bathroom reading material, Sofitel hotel directory and city guides (there may have been more)
*Free parking
*Open parking garage. We never had to go far for a space
*Large bathroom
*In a very safe-feeling area because it is in a business park area.
* Pleasant, creative colored lobby
*Huge cushy bed
*All of the porters were courteous and efficient
*Pewter trash cans


The bad or possibly bad:

*No coffee in the room! This was our biggest complaint
*The bathroom toiletries smelled really weird
*The hotel is located around a lot of office buildings. Great if you are staying for business, not so much if for a vacation
*No top sheet on the big cushy bed. My husband and I wondered if they actually washed those huge comforters after each guest.
*Not especially convenient to food outside of the hotel

  • Liked — Free parking
  • Disliked — No coffee in the rooms
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    322
    136
    71
    28
See reviews for
155
191
94
393
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

I recently attended a wedding at the Sofitel and stayed there for two nights.

If anyone is looking to book a wedding there, please go elsewhere. The food was mediocre. During the cocktail hour, they only had one table of cheese, cold cuts and olives. And they never came back to replenish the table. During dinner, they forgot the serve the bride's side tables (about 12 tables all together) the dessert until someone went and complained to the manager. The service was very very poor. This clearly is not a place meant for weddings to be held as food and service are clearly not their top priorities. They forgot to send food to the bridal suite during the cocktail hour until one of the bridesmaids went down and reminded them.

As for the hotel, the bed was very comfortable. I had stayed at other Sofitels before and the bed tends to be pretty uniform across the board. The bathroom was so-so, you can tell it's an old hotel by the faucet knobs and stuff. Staff are alright. The hotel has a free shuttle to the SFO airport and it runs every hour on the hour. Please get there early as the van is small and it's first come first serve. We found that the hard way and ended up having to take the cab to the airport. You'd think that the hotel would use a bigger van since it's very very far away from the airport and many guests stay there.
All and all, this Sofitel is ALL STYLE BUT HAS NO SUBSTANCE. The lobby and the bar area tries to be ultra chic and modern (an imitation of W hotels) but it really fails in areas that matter the most such as service, food and thoughtfullness that go into making guests' stay memorable.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

After the reviews I read on here I was expecting a little better experience, the lobby/bar area is beautiful but the rooms need work. The carpet was stained, one of the chairs had a big spot as if someone spilled bleach on it, the shower had mildew on it, etc. The bed was the only saving grace of the room, it was very comfortable and clean.

The staff was friendly, I had no problems there. There is also a free self parking garage, not too far of a walk from the garage to the hotel. The pool was closed for maintenance on the day we were there, so we unable to use it. The lagoon was very nice, we took a little walk alongside it.

It is out of the way a bit, so if you are looking to eat outside of the hotel, you will need a car. I don't think I would stay at this property again.

FYI-They have a live DJ on Friday nights until 1am, so I'd ask for a room as far away as possible from the bar.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, ON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

I stayed at the Sofitel last week for a short visit while on business in Redwood. The area is VERY remote, literally right in a business park. I heard it was the nicest hotel in the area. It had it's pro's and con's.

The hotel was nice with a very nice lounge and restaurant. The beds were really comfortable. IT was clean and fitted my needs for a short term stay.

On the downside, my room service food (and tea) was cold. Some of the staff were rude and as I said it is very remote. Only stay here if you are on business in Redwood. If you need to be in San Francisco this is far from it.

Bottom line, I was satisfied with my short stay but happy to move on!

  • Liked — It was nice and was the best known option
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2007

Having read many of the earlier reviews, I am confused as to where those people stay. Be clear, this is an old property, in the middle of nowhere. The lobby has been redone nicely, the rooms are late 80's, chipped veneer, mismatched furniture, small tv, (in our case lightbulb out, menu stained, no shampoo, half a tube of conditioner, etc.) types of environments. Ugh. if you have stayed a a Sofitel before you know they can be wonderful. This. One. Isn't. The service in two circumstances was helpful, in almost every other interaction it was troubling, unprofessional, and less-than-happymaking. O well. One of the front desk staff did try to help, and was patient and sought out solutions. They just weren't to be found. We considered leaving, should have. The food in the restaurant was good, the service appalling. Room service the next day? Late and cold. Side order of cold fries = 7 dollars. Just so you know. Love Sofitel, just not this one.... There are dozens of better hotels nearer to SFO or silicon valley, if you must wait until after the facility renewal slated for next year. Cheers!

  • Liked — lobby
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2007

I had a 5-night stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay in early April 2007. Let's start with the good:
- Free shuttle from the airport. Not as frequent as other hotels closer to the airport (once an hour) but I don't have a problem with that.
- Good service by check-in/out and also housekeeping. Check-in/out was efficient but friendly. The room was very clean and the turn-down service highly appreciated.
- Very comfortable bed. I like a firm mattress and this one reminded me of some very good hotels in Asia.
- Excellent gym with much of the equipment very new. One of the best hotel gyms I have seen in recent times and mostly empty!!!
Now for the bad:
- Apart from the bed the room was rather tired-looking. The woodwork needed an urgent paint job, the non-matching furniture looked like it had been bought at a garage sale with some hideous decor. The bathroom was small and did not have a separate shower. The shower in the small and slippery bathtub was quite uncomfortable to use (and I expect rather dangerous for elderly people).
- The room did not have a safe or a mini-bar. I don't care about the mini-bar but a room safe should be standard issue in a hotel of this nature.
- Limited choice of dining options. The hotel is in the middle of an office park with no restaurants in the immediate vicinity. There is really only one restaurant in the hotel, which offers ok but rather overpriced food. And if you, like me, are allergic to seafood more than half the options on the already limited menu are off-limits.
Final conclusion:
A hotel that seems to offer a lot at first sight but in the end does not really deliver the goods.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — The rest of the room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2007

This hotel was chosen for a work conference. We spent 8 nights here in total and couldn't complain at all. The staff were fabulous, housekeeping came by twice each day and the bed very comfortable. The gym is well equipped with state of the art equipment which saw us there everyday. Whilst it was a distance from the city, it is only 3 - 4 stops to Paolo Alto which is worth the visit - great restaurants, fabulous shopping centre and the home of Stanford University. All in all this was a memorable stay, even though work played such a large part. Tony & Linda Edwards, Sydney Australia

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel San Francisco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Address: 223 Twin Dolphin Drive, Redwood City, CA 94065
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Redwood City
#1 Green Hotel in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel San Francisco Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sofitel San Francisco Bay, an exclusive 'corporate resort' reputed for its refinement, considerate service and attention to detail. Whether you are visiting for pleasure or in town for business, you will savor this truly unique experience, a total immersion in comfort! Enjoy the superbly appointed accommodations in tranquil surroundings fanned by gentle breezes... Ideally situated between San Francisco and San José, this luxurious establishment is only minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel San Francisco Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel San Francisco Bay Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Redwood City
Redwood City Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel San Francisco Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.