We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SFO Visits” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel San Francisco Bay to your Saves list
Sofitel San Francisco Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Twin Dolphin Drive, Redwood City, CA 94065   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Redwood City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“SFO Visits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Have stayed at this hotel thrice in the last 5 years. Have stayed there for a week in each trip. This place is very well located for people having offices at Redwood City. For me it was 10mins walk to work. Ofcourse the hotel also provided frequent shuttle to our office every morning as there were many guests put up here almost daily. Rooms are great, nice little shop at the ground floor, lovely pool, good view from the rooms, nice departmental store nearby (if you want to buy something to eat cheaper than the hotel), couple of good restaurants at a walkable distance.

  • Liked — Homely.. Good privacy
  • Disliked — Lonely surroundings, especially late evenings, but that is how most of California is I guess
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    306
    125
    62
    25
See reviews for
138
180
89
360
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

Outside of the lobby this hotel is really showing its age. The rooms are well past their best and grubby. The first room I was given had blood on the wall and the second the toilet wouldn’t flush, the wood was coming away under the sink and the shower was a dribble! The staff try really hard and are friendly and helpful but there is only so much that they can do given what they are working with. If you want a clean hotel, I’d go somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

I stayed one night at the Sofitel for business. The first floor of the hotel looks very new and modern. The restaurant has good food for a hotel and the bar seemed lively and with an open floor plan. There was also what seemed to be a nice cafe. Then I went to my room and was very disappointed. I would describe the décor as tired and without the standard amenities that one would expect in a business oriented hotel (i-pod alarm clock, flat screen tv, and down pillows and feathered bed). For the amount of money for the room, it certainly was lacking. The employees were very helpful, cheerful, and professional.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

We stayed here in September...just a little late reviewing. We enjoyed the hotel. I have never stayed at another Sofitel but the hotel seemed to be decent enough. The hotel room did seem a bit outdated but the bed was very nice and the public areas were fantastic. We got a great deal on travelocity...

The Management was great...let me explain. After about two hours of sleeping we both woke up and were itching like crazy. After reading some articles about bed bugs I was very scared. I called the front desk and they sent someone to move us to anothere room. Again we had the same issue. The next morning we spoke with the manager and he assured us that they checked the rooms and there was not a bug to be found. He did suggest that it might be the pure down bedding that they used and they switched our bedding to hypo allergenic. That evening we slept like babies. It was definitly the bedding. Word of advice if you are a little bit allergic to down ask them to change the bedding to the hypo allergenic stuff. If you are not allergic than I am jealous becuase you can thoroughly enjoy all of the fantastic bedding they have.

We decided to eat in the restaurant downstairs and we were so happy we did. I am extremely picky and the food was FANTASTIC. I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Also if you are thinking about staying outside of the city for free parking think again. Yes the hotel has free parking but public transport is very expesenive in San Fran and we spent just as much communiting on the nearby train as we would have just staying in the city and parking at the hotel. Oh well.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

Having stayed at Sofitels in New York and Miami, this one is slightly disappointing in comparison but it’s still a good place for an overnight stay. The room was clean and OK but definitely needed updating, especially the bathroom. Service was fast and friendly and the food was a good standard. There’s only one small shuttle bus though and it only departs on the hour. The drive to the airport takes about 15 minutes. It’s fine for an overnight stay but if you’re planning on sightseeing in San Francisco I’d stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

I've stayed here on business a couple of time over the last 10 years. Recently spent 4 nights on business and I've come to the conclusion the hotel is getting old. This place is showing the wear of time and is in near of some updating.

This hotel has a great international feel, with groups of people from everywhere attending meeting with many of the companies in the area. Expect to hear several languages in the lobby and bar.

15 bucks, for a bowl of oatmeal or dish of pastries is crazy.

  • Liked — Great Service and international feel
  • Disliked — Old and worn, noises on the 9th floor; expensive breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

Just returned from two nights. Safe quiet location, with a mall 10 minutes walk away. Friendly helpful staff. Hotel in top condition. Rooms clean, bedding excellent, location great. Very good gym with top amenities. Free parking and easy access. A real gem.

  • Liked — Clean and top condition
  • Disliked — Expensive food in restaurant.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel San Francisco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Address: 223 Twin Dolphin Drive, Redwood City, CA 94065
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Redwood City
#1 Green Hotel in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel San Francisco Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sofitel San Francisco Bay, an exclusive 'corporate resort' reputed for its refinement, considerate service and attention to detail. Whether you are visiting for pleasure or in town for business, you will savor this truly unique experience, a total immersion in comfort! Enjoy the superbly appointed accommodations in tranquil surroundings fanned by gentle breezes... Ideally situated between San Francisco and San José, this luxurious establishment is only minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel San Francisco Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel San Francisco Bay Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Redwood City
Redwood City Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel San Francisco Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.