We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Save Saved
You added Sofitel San Francisco Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel San Francisco Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Twin Dolphin Drive, Redwood City, CA 94065   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Redwood City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
“Great service, comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is one of the better hotels my wife and I have stayed in in the past ten years. The outside of the hotel looks like any of the others in the (Hyatt, etc.) but the inside had the kind of styling that betrays its French heritage. The large bar area, dining room and lounge comfortably blend leading to the deck with the pool and the lake close by. Though the pool seems an after thought (and it was too cool to think about swimming), it did add to the ambiance. The gym was the right size and had all the right equipment for my exercise program.

The room, though modest in size, was fine for my wife and me. And the bed - sheer comfort. The company trumpets its beds - and rightly so. My wife and I both had great nights sleep after active days in the city. The small couch by the window was a nice touch and the view was good of the distant hills.

The meals where a nice step up from the usual faire, highlighted by the excellent steak served at a celebration dinner during our visit. The only complaint would be the slightly dry pizza served for a lunch.

The hotel staff took care of our needs, calling a taxi, arranging for airport transport and serving us in other ways to make our stay pleasant. I highly recommend this Sofitel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    268
    114
    55
    21
See reviews for
126
160
85
325
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed one night at the end of a great trip to Yosemite. The staff was extremely welcoming, parking was easy and close to airport. Room was really fantastic. We had a waterview room that was just great. Bed was extremely comfortable. Everything was really very nice. In Yosemite we'd eaten pretty much only food we'd brought in in a cooler. We had a fantastic dinner here. Definitely not your usual hotel restaurant. Food was fantastic, menu very different from a usual hotel restaurant menu, and extremely professional waiters. We enjoyed walking along the water and relaxing poolside in some great outdoor loungers stargazing and enjoying a cigar (me anyway). This place is probably very busy during the week. It is in a very large corporate complex, but on the weekends it is pretty quiet. Only ten minutes to the airport and car rental returns. If you have to get out of town the next day, this is a great way to end your trip!

Room Tip: Get a water view room. as high up as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Excellent hotel, located near the 101 in Redwood City, 20min drive south of San Francisco Airport.

The bar area is awesome and even the gym area seems very well organised with five or six treadmill units. I have not used the pool outside as the weather was on the fresh side.

The room is large and spacious with a desk, sofa, flat tv and a good coffee machine with capsules. Water is complimentary and you would get two new bottles everyday. Thank you!

The hotel is plenty of big and small rooms which we have used extensively during the conference and we nicely fit 130 people with great comfort.

On the negative side, space to organize clothes is not really enough, there are few hangers but no shelves and no big convenient drawers. There is no safe either.

The blanket/duvet was extremely hot and I used to get up fully sweat in the morning.

Fitted carpet on the floor was properly clean but gave a feeling of old due to its worn out colour. Same for the toilet, the wooden on the lower side of the door and near the basin was worn out due to water spills and few tiles on the floor had some damages from dropping objects.

For a four star hotel and even more for a Sofitel brand, these negative aspects are really too much and would be justified more in a three star hotel.

The rest is top class and I would recommend this hotel anyway!

Room Tip: I was on 4th floor and - even though just next to the elevators - the room was really quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times now, and have always been delighted by the "here you go" service. It's like they don't know the word "no". Very reasonable pricing as well.
They're always fair, and follow up with you in case there were any issues.
Highly recommended. Location is far from San Fran, but that's not a big deal.
They also provide hourly service to San Fran airport.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the water have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I chose to stay at the Sofitel after finding a good rate on Expedia and hearing good things about the brand.

The hotel is conveniently located off of the freeway, which is great if you're looking to head into San Francisco. It's in a business park which isn't the most beautiful scenery, but does have a lagoon.

The hotel itself is very nice. The lobby and bar area are classy-looking, and the giftshop/bakery downstairs is adorable.

When we opened the door to our room, it was like being hit in the face with a hot, wet washcloth. There was a bad, musty odor and it was incredibly humid. We turned the A/C up as much as possible which helped, but the condensation on the windows was so bad that our windows were literally dripping with water onto the windowsill.

Housekeeping came to bring new towels, but we did not receive any additional toiletries once we ran out. The bed was very comfortable, but the smell and the humidity in the air was pretty unbearable. We were not in the room except at night to sleep. I don't know if this is an issue in all of the rooms, but if I wanted humidity I'd go to Florida.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

This is obviously a business hotel, but the staff are the best in San Francisco. While the decor is a bit dated, the beds are wonderful. The downstairs staff could not be more accommodating with regards to rides to the airport and train. The cab fares to the city ($100) are a killer, but the shuttle mitigates the pain. And the value of the room was exceptional.

Room Tip: If you have a breakfast voucher, use the Market instead of the restaurant. ..better selection and va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for three nightscthis week while I was attending a work session in the hotel's conference area.

This has been the most comfortable I have felt on a business trip in years. Food was great, wireless Internet was fast (free option slower), gym in good shape, shuttle was convenient and bar was fun.

Another thing I notice was the rooms are well insulation from the adjacent rooms. Walking in the hall I could heard the kids in the room next door, but once in my room I was surprise to not hear them.

This location was good because it was close to the airport, but would be disappointing if you were expecting to be very close to the actual city of SF.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel San Francisco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Address: 223 Twin Dolphin Drive, Redwood City, CA 94065
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Redwood City
#1 Green Hotel in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel San Francisco Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sofitel San Francisco Bay, an exclusive 'corporate resort' reputed for its refinement, considerate service and attention to detail. Whether you are visiting for pleasure or in town for business, you will savor this truly unique experience, a total immersion in comfort! Enjoy the superbly appointed accommodations in tranquil surroundings fanned by gentle breezes... Ideally situated between San Francisco and San José, this luxurious establishment is only minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel San Francisco Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel San Francisco Bay Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Redwood City
Redwood City Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel San Francisco Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.