We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent but signs of wear and blanket/duvet too hot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sofitel San Francisco Bay to your Saves list
Sofitel San Francisco Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Twin Dolphin Drive, Redwood City, CA 94065   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Redwood City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Monza, Italy
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“excellent but signs of wear and blanket/duvet too hot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Excellent hotel, located near the 101 in Redwood City, 20min drive south of San Francisco Airport.

The bar area is awesome and even the gym area seems very well organised with five or six treadmill units. I have not used the pool outside as the weather was on the fresh side.

The room is large and spacious with a desk, sofa, flat tv and a good coffee machine with capsules. Water is complimentary and you would get two new bottles everyday. Thank you!

The hotel is plenty of big and small rooms which we have used extensively during the conference and we nicely fit 130 people with great comfort.

On the negative side, space to organize clothes is not really enough, there are few hangers but no shelves and no big convenient drawers. There is no safe either.

The blanket/duvet was extremely hot and I used to get up fully sweat in the morning.

Fitted carpet on the floor was properly clean but gave a feeling of old due to its worn out colour. Same for the toilet, the wooden on the lower side of the door and near the basin was worn out due to water spills and few tiles on the floor had some damages from dropping objects.

For a four star hotel and even more for a Sofitel brand, these negative aspects are really too much and would be justified more in a three star hotel.

The rest is top class and I would recommend this hotel anyway!

Room Tip: I was on 4th floor and - even though just next to the elevators - the room was really quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    288
    117
    57
    21
See reviews for
133
167
85
341
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times now, and have always been delighted by the "here you go" service. It's like they don't know the word "no". Very reasonable pricing as well.
They're always fair, and follow up with you in case there were any issues.
Highly recommended. Location is far from San Fran, but that's not a big deal.
They also provide hourly service to San Fran airport.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the water have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I chose to stay at the Sofitel after finding a good rate on Expedia and hearing good things about the brand.

The hotel is conveniently located off of the freeway, which is great if you're looking to head into San Francisco. It's in a business park which isn't the most beautiful scenery, but does have a lagoon.

The hotel itself is very nice. The lobby and bar area are classy-looking, and the giftshop/bakery downstairs is adorable.

When we opened the door to our room, it was like being hit in the face with a hot, wet washcloth. There was a bad, musty odor and it was incredibly humid. We turned the A/C up as much as possible which helped, but the condensation on the windows was so bad that our windows were literally dripping with water onto the windowsill.

Housekeeping came to bring new towels, but we did not receive any additional toiletries once we ran out. The bed was very comfortable, but the smell and the humidity in the air was pretty unbearable. We were not in the room except at night to sleep. I don't know if this is an issue in all of the rooms, but if I wanted humidity I'd go to Florida.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

This is obviously a business hotel, but the staff are the best in San Francisco. While the decor is a bit dated, the beds are wonderful. The downstairs staff could not be more accommodating with regards to rides to the airport and train. The cab fares to the city ($100) are a killer, but the shuttle mitigates the pain. And the value of the room was exceptional.

Room Tip: If you have a breakfast voucher, use the Market instead of the restaurant. ..better selection and va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for three nightscthis week while I was attending a work session in the hotel's conference area.

This has been the most comfortable I have felt on a business trip in years. Food was great, wireless Internet was fast (free option slower), gym in good shape, shuttle was convenient and bar was fun.

Another thing I notice was the rooms are well insulation from the adjacent rooms. Walking in the hall I could heard the kids in the room next door, but once in my room I was surprise to not hear them.

This location was good because it was close to the airport, but would be disappointing if you were expecting to be very close to the actual city of SF.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed here for a nearby family event. The carpeting in the room was dirty, stained and buckled. The furniture was old and worn, the paint and the wood peeling. I don't like the lack of a top sheet. Most disappointing was the noise when people in adjoining rooms used their plumbing. It sounded like a fog horn and was extremely annoying. I'm also accustomed to more updated amenities, like IPod docks and more outlets. The lobby was nice, except that the way the bar was arranged it was impossible to find seating when it was crowded. The staff was friendly, the parking was free, which was nice, and the fitness center was good for a hotel. It is very far from a luxury property. Finally, and this is true of all "upscale" hotels, I really resent having to pay for internet access. With other options in the area, I would not choose this hotel again unless they invested in a major overhaul and modernization.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel San Francisco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Address: 223 Twin Dolphin Drive, Redwood City, CA 94065
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redwood City
#1 Business Hotel in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel San Francisco Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sofitel San Francisco Bay, an exclusive 'corporate resort' reputed for its refinement, considerate service and attention to detail. Whether you are visiting for pleasure or in town for business, you will savor this truly unique experience, a total immersion in comfort! Enjoy the superbly appointed accommodations in tranquil surroundings fanned by gentle breezes... Ideally situated between San Francisco and San José, this luxurious establishment is only minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel San Francisco Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel San Francisco Bay Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Redwood City
Redwood City Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel San Francisco Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.