We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Staff in San Francisco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel San Francisco Bay to your Saves list
Sofitel San Francisco Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Twin Dolphin Drive, Redwood City, CA 94065   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Redwood City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Best Staff in San Francisco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

This is obviously a business hotel, but the staff are the best in San Francisco. While the decor is a bit dated, the beds are wonderful. The downstairs staff could not be more accommodating with regards to rides to the airport and train. The cab fares to the city ($100) are a killer, but the shuttle mitigates the pain. And the value of the room was exceptional.

Room Tip: If you have a breakfast voucher, use the Market instead of the restaurant. ..better selection and va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    300
    119
    61
    24
See reviews for
135
175
87
353
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for three nightscthis week while I was attending a work session in the hotel's conference area.

This has been the most comfortable I have felt on a business trip in years. Food was great, wireless Internet was fast (free option slower), gym in good shape, shuttle was convenient and bar was fun.

Another thing I notice was the rooms are well insulation from the adjacent rooms. Walking in the hall I could heard the kids in the room next door, but once in my room I was surprise to not hear them.

This location was good because it was close to the airport, but would be disappointing if you were expecting to be very close to the actual city of SF.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed here for a nearby family event. The carpeting in the room was dirty, stained and buckled. The furniture was old and worn, the paint and the wood peeling. I don't like the lack of a top sheet. Most disappointing was the noise when people in adjoining rooms used their plumbing. It sounded like a fog horn and was extremely annoying. I'm also accustomed to more updated amenities, like IPod docks and more outlets. The lobby was nice, except that the way the bar was arranged it was impossible to find seating when it was crowded. The staff was friendly, the parking was free, which was nice, and the fitness center was good for a hotel. It is very far from a luxury property. Finally, and this is true of all "upscale" hotels, I really resent having to pay for internet access. With other options in the area, I would not choose this hotel again unless they invested in a major overhaul and modernization.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012 via mobile

If you are there on business then this hotel will tick the boxes. It's comfortable, clean, service is good but it's an impersonal place like most business hotels in big business parks. It's practical to get to and close to the main motorways and not far from the international airport. You will need a car and there is really nothing else at walking distance. It does what it says on the box with some nice touches on the amenities and the food is actually nicely French inspired which is good in the land of fast food. I was there on business and will go back there next time because in comparison to other hotels in this area the Sofitel is better and more comfortable I would not choose to stay there if I wanted to visit SF, way to far from the center of town

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

This is a large hotel in a small suburb.
It kind of looks like a large Hilton, the staff are all friendly and helpful.
It is probably not as young as it used to be, but very well kept, not noisy, comfortable.

Only complaint - and this seems to be a custom of late - no top sheet on the beds, just a comforter in a duvet. Does that mean I am sleeping with the same sheet that just touched someone else's diseased skin last night? Yuk! Why don't hotels use top sheets anymore???

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

On more than one ocassion we have stayed here for a "weekend" away from it all , while living in the Bay Area. Its a good location and the weather is usually pretty nice. Its a short drive into Belmont/San Carlos/Red Wood City, or a quick jaunt on to the 101 freeway if you need to high tail it into San Francisco.

Its more of a business hotel, but has some nice features. For example- their pastry chef is pretty darn awesome.

Buyer beware on more than one weekend their pay per view family movies havent worked. BIG BUMMER when you plan a whole day of movies and room service. Maintenance never knows how to fix it.

Another trip- we had picked up our kid at summer camp and had put a bunch of cute little "welcome' home/back gifts on his bed/pillow- I guess the housekeeper maid thought the note was for her and took everything. Really?

The beds are nice and if you go be sure to ask for extra feather pillows and robes.

Room Tip: ask for the best view they have
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel San Francisco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Address: 223 Twin Dolphin Drive, Redwood City, CA 94065
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Redwood City
#1 Green Hotel in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel San Francisco Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sofitel San Francisco Bay, an exclusive 'corporate resort' reputed for its refinement, considerate service and attention to detail. Whether you are visiting for pleasure or in town for business, you will savor this truly unique experience, a total immersion in comfort! Enjoy the superbly appointed accommodations in tranquil surroundings fanned by gentle breezes... Ideally situated between San Francisco and San José, this luxurious establishment is only minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, Venere, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel San Francisco Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel San Francisco Bay Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Redwood City
Redwood City Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel San Francisco Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.