We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Staff in San Francisco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Save Saved
You added Sofitel San Francisco Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel San Francisco Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Twin Dolphin Drive, Redwood City, CA 94065   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Redwood City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Best Staff in San Francisco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

This is obviously a business hotel, but the staff are the best in San Francisco. While the decor is a bit dated, the beds are wonderful. The downstairs staff could not be more accommodating with regards to rides to the airport and train. The cab fares to the city ($100) are a killer, but the shuttle mitigates the pain. And the value of the room was exceptional.

Room Tip: If you have a breakfast voucher, use the Market instead of the restaurant. ..better selection and va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    263
    108
    54
    21
See reviews for
116
157
85
315
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for three nightscthis week while I was attending a work session in the hotel's conference area.

This has been the most comfortable I have felt on a business trip in years. Food was great, wireless Internet was fast (free option slower), gym in good shape, shuttle was convenient and bar was fun.

Another thing I notice was the rooms are well insulation from the adjacent rooms. Walking in the hall I could heard the kids in the room next door, but once in my room I was surprise to not hear them.

This location was good because it was close to the airport, but would be disappointing if you were expecting to be very close to the actual city of SF.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed here for a nearby family event. The carpeting in the room was dirty, stained and buckled. The furniture was old and worn, the paint and the wood peeling. I don't like the lack of a top sheet. Most disappointing was the noise when people in adjoining rooms used their plumbing. It sounded like a fog horn and was extremely annoying. I'm also accustomed to more updated amenities, like IPod docks and more outlets. The lobby was nice, except that the way the bar was arranged it was impossible to find seating when it was crowded. The staff was friendly, the parking was free, which was nice, and the fitness center was good for a hotel. It is very far from a luxury property. Finally, and this is true of all "upscale" hotels, I really resent having to pay for internet access. With other options in the area, I would not choose this hotel again unless they invested in a major overhaul and modernization.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012 via mobile

If you are there on business then this hotel will tick the boxes. It's comfortable, clean, service is good but it's an impersonal place like most business hotels in big business parks. It's practical to get to and close to the main motorways and not far from the international airport. You will need a car and there is really nothing else at walking distance. It does what it says on the box with some nice touches on the amenities and the food is actually nicely French inspired which is good in the land of fast food. I was there on business and will go back there next time because in comparison to other hotels in this area the Sofitel is better and more comfortable I would not choose to stay there if I wanted to visit SF, way to far from the center of town

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

This is a large hotel in a small suburb.
It kind of looks like a large Hilton, the staff are all friendly and helpful.
It is probably not as young as it used to be, but very well kept, not noisy, comfortable.

Only complaint - and this seems to be a custom of late - no top sheet on the beds, just a comforter in a duvet. Does that mean I am sleeping with the same sheet that just touched someone else's diseased skin last night? Yuk! Why don't hotels use top sheets anymore???

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

On more than one ocassion we have stayed here for a "weekend" away from it all , while living in the Bay Area. Its a good location and the weather is usually pretty nice. Its a short drive into Belmont/San Carlos/Red Wood City, or a quick jaunt on to the 101 freeway if you need to high tail it into San Francisco.

Its more of a business hotel, but has some nice features. For example- their pastry chef is pretty darn awesome.

Buyer beware on more than one weekend their pay per view family movies havent worked. BIG BUMMER when you plan a whole day of movies and room service. Maintenance never knows how to fix it.

Another trip- we had picked up our kid at summer camp and had put a bunch of cute little "welcome' home/back gifts on his bed/pillow- I guess the housekeeper maid thought the note was for her and took everything. Really?

The beds are nice and if you go be sure to ask for extra feather pillows and robes.

Room Tip: ask for the best view they have
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel San Francisco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Address: 223 Twin Dolphin Drive, Redwood City, CA 94065
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redwood City
#1 Business Hotel in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel San Francisco Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sofitel San Francisco Bay, an exclusive 'corporate resort' reputed for its refinement, considerate service and attention to detail. Whether you are visiting for pleasure or in town for business, you will savor this truly unique experience, a total immersion in comfort! Enjoy the superbly appointed accommodations in tranquil surroundings fanned by gentle breezes... Ideally situated between San Francisco and San José, this luxurious establishment is only minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Sofitel San Francisco Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel San Francisco Bay Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Redwood City
Redwood City Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel San Francisco Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.