We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated, too much plumbing noise” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Save Saved
You added Sofitel San Francisco Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel San Francisco Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 Twin Dolphin Drive, Redwood City, CA 94065   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Redwood City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Outdated, too much plumbing noise”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed here for a nearby family event. The carpeting in the room was dirty, stained and buckled. The furniture was old and worn, the paint and the wood peeling. I don't like the lack of a top sheet. Most disappointing was the noise when people in adjoining rooms used their plumbing. It sounded like a fog horn and was extremely annoying. I'm also accustomed to more updated amenities, like IPod docks and more outlets. The lobby was nice, except that the way the bar was arranged it was impossible to find seating when it was crowded. The staff was friendly, the parking was free, which was nice, and the fitness center was good for a hotel. It is very far from a luxury property. Finally, and this is true of all "upscale" hotels, I really resent having to pay for internet access. With other options in the area, I would not choose this hotel again unless they invested in a major overhaul and modernization.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    266
    114
    55
    21
See reviews for
125
160
85
324
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012 via mobile

If you are there on business then this hotel will tick the boxes. It's comfortable, clean, service is good but it's an impersonal place like most business hotels in big business parks. It's practical to get to and close to the main motorways and not far from the international airport. You will need a car and there is really nothing else at walking distance. It does what it says on the box with some nice touches on the amenities and the food is actually nicely French inspired which is good in the land of fast food. I was there on business and will go back there next time because in comparison to other hotels in this area the Sofitel is better and more comfortable I would not choose to stay there if I wanted to visit SF, way to far from the center of town

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

This is a large hotel in a small suburb.
It kind of looks like a large Hilton, the staff are all friendly and helpful.
It is probably not as young as it used to be, but very well kept, not noisy, comfortable.

Only complaint - and this seems to be a custom of late - no top sheet on the beds, just a comforter in a duvet. Does that mean I am sleeping with the same sheet that just touched someone else's diseased skin last night? Yuk! Why don't hotels use top sheets anymore???

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

On more than one ocassion we have stayed here for a "weekend" away from it all , while living in the Bay Area. Its a good location and the weather is usually pretty nice. Its a short drive into Belmont/San Carlos/Red Wood City, or a quick jaunt on to the 101 freeway if you need to high tail it into San Francisco.

Its more of a business hotel, but has some nice features. For example- their pastry chef is pretty darn awesome.

Buyer beware on more than one weekend their pay per view family movies havent worked. BIG BUMMER when you plan a whole day of movies and room service. Maintenance never knows how to fix it.

Another trip- we had picked up our kid at summer camp and had put a bunch of cute little "welcome' home/back gifts on his bed/pillow- I guess the housekeeper maid thought the note was for her and took everything. Really?

The beds are nice and if you go be sure to ask for extra feather pillows and robes.

Room Tip: ask for the best view they have
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed for 1 night at the Prestige Suite. The bed was glorious but the whole space is quite outdated. The paint on the ceiling in the shower area is peeling. The edge on the arms of the chairs were frayed. The lighting in the bathroom is definitely old - lots of incandescent bulbs...energy hogs. The room service was atrocious. Barbara, the Front Desk Rep informed us that they have a tub & she was going to check if they have bubble bath. After 20 minutes, no call nor an update. So I called the Reception & I was told by the gentleman that answered that they have none. So I asked if they can send some extra shower gels instead as alternative. 1 hour came & went, I decided to call them back. Finally after 10 minutes, the gels arrived. Granted I used a Groupon for a special deal, the Prestige Suite it's not! Glad the stay is just for 1 night. Otherwise, Groupon or not the Prestige Suite does not deserve to be classified as such.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

As always , beautiful room, plush and crisp bedding, super clean and classy, comfortable like a 5 Star should be! Sofitel just has that special something... the "My Bed" is like a a visit to a spa... I hate to even leave the room... Just wonderful

Room Tip: Be sure and ask for "My Bed"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

The Hotel is a little out of the way, however it's a very nice hotel, staff was great, the room was nice and I cant say enough about the bar area. Very nice! I would definitely recommend the hotel and I will be staying their again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel San Francisco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel San Francisco Bay

Address: 223 Twin Dolphin Drive, Redwood City, CA 94065
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Redwood City
#1 Green Hotel in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel San Francisco Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sofitel San Francisco Bay, an exclusive 'corporate resort' reputed for its refinement, considerate service and attention to detail. Whether you are visiting for pleasure or in town for business, you will savor this truly unique experience, a total immersion in comfort! Enjoy the superbly appointed accommodations in tranquil surroundings fanned by gentle breezes... Ideally situated between San Francisco and San José, this luxurious establishment is only minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel San Francisco Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel San Francisco Bay Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Redwood City
Redwood City Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel San Francisco Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.