We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy guy threatening to shoot my tires out” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dean Creek Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dean Creek Resort to your Saves list
Dean Creek Resort
4112 Redwood Drive, Redway, CA 95560   |  
Hotel amenities
Cartagena, Murcia, Spain
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Crazy guy threatening to shoot my tires out”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I drove through Dean Creek resort the night of sept 16th, 2012, looking for a group of friends camping there. I circled the place twice, stopping here and there to see if I could find my friends. After the second time, I sent a text to one and parked, waiting for the reply. Within a couple minutes a truck showed up saying I was parked in there camp site, so I apologized and moved my car. Just then, there was a man outside the passenger winder asking "can I help you?" My bofriend asked if he knew where are our group of friends were (they're in a band) and the man's response was "I don't know but if you come through here again at that speed I'll shout your tired out." Now, i admit, i might have been cruising a bit fast (15 mph?) but slow enough because i stopped a few times as we were looking at the campsites. I replied to the man "Oh. Wow. Ok. We're leaving then." to which he replied "don't you get smart with me I tried to be nice!" my boyfriend told him to calm down, and the man threatened to punch my boyfriend.
We left then, and the next day we found out from our friends (who talked to the man later that night) that his son was waiting in the bushes with an ax.
This man work and maybe even lives at Dean Creek. I would never come back or reccommend this resort until this man is no longer there. The same goes for his ax-wielding son.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
13
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Pros:
Kind, knowledgeable, friendly staff
Clean, shaded grounds
Hot tub and pool
Decently stocked frozen and dried goods camp store open 9 to 9
Lovely "glorified camping" cabins.
Possible cons, though we didn't experience these:
Crowded in-season
Smokers


I'm on a cross country trip with a friend, and we needed a place to sleep for one night on the road. Since we're both recent college grads, we're rather broke. We rolled into Dean Creek around 8 pm on a Wednesday night after 6 hours of driving, with no prior research into the resort. Linda, the very sweet woman working the front desk (she and her husband maintain all aspects of the resort while the owner is away) saw that we were too road weary to sleep on the ground, and too broke to sleep in a motel room, and so very graciously offered us a sleeper cabin, at a slightly reduced price to aid our financial situation. Linda was fantastic - super friendly, kind, and very knowledgeable of the attractions around the region. The little camp store in which we met her was stocked with frozen and dry goods, a decent variety of beers, maps and brochures that covered southern Oregon and northern Cali., and the odd traveler's miscellany. She told us that she and her husband are responsible for hauling all the goods to the store from the nearest town once per week. The parts of the resort we visited were clean and well cared for. The hot tub fits 14 people, and was clean when we used it. The ladies' washroom was average, with the addition of a keypad-lock security system (be sure to ask for the combo when you check-in). The cabin we stayed in was brand new, very clean, furnished with two sets of bunk beds, cable TV, mini fridge and microwave, small table/desk, and a set of drawers. It had a nice porch, a picnic table, a grill and a fire ring, and a spigot (don't drink, just wash). It also has A/C and heat, but we didn't use either, so we don't know how well they work. Our site was next to the river access point, and had one other empty site to one side. I can see how it could become crowded in-season (we're at the end of the season). River access traffic might become annoying at this site. Over all, we had a lovely rest at this camp site, and were treated with the best hospitality.

Room Tip: If you're not feeling like tenting, and you can't afford a motel room, the sleeper cabins ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haleiwa, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Of the five properties for lodging in the area, this is the ONLY ONE right on the river. Our dogs loved it and we were grateful that they were welcome. We appreciate that the owners are accommodating to try to meet your needs. Very cool that you have your choice of camp site, motel room, or "swanky" cabin! We hope to establish a well priced corporate account with this location so we can stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Our family of 5 camped in a tent for 5 nights. Ok, here is the good: pool, jacuzzi, ping pong, lots of kid activities, shady camp site, very helpful and friendly employees, very close to redwood walking trails. Here is the bad: camp sites/RV sites are VERY close together. Here is the ugly part: the hot water in the shower stalls fluctuate from scalding hot (two of my kids got burned) to freezing cold. You couldn't get a stable temperature for more than 10 seconds no matter what time of the day or night you were showering. The campground does show its age, especially the bathrooms/showers and could definitely be modernized and upgrade the water lines to prevent the temperature fluctuation problems. Our campsite was right next to the river and the bugs were not bad at all. Although there was not much water in the river this late in the summer. We heard coyotes almost every night, sometimes very close to our tent so keep small pets inside and keep food and trash disposed of. All in all we would recommend this campground, especially if you have kids.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed for 1 night on a trip through town. There wasn't much choice in this town, so we ended up staying here.
Pluses: very quiet, foresty, campground-style, cozy, nice people around, very nice owners, heating worked well (although rattled pretty loud at times).
Minuses: very small, bit dirty feeling, found spiders and hairs in the bed, some walls have "unknown" liquid splatter on it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

I traveled with my 16 year old son and his friend. We stayed for two days. The place really is a resort, so much to do! We floated down the river, played minature golf went in giant Jacuzzi, and swam in the pool. We stayed in two of the cabins which is wonderful experience after staying in dingy motel rooms at other locations. It is great location for family reunions. The giant redwoods were magnificent. The managers Dennis and Linda couldn't have been more helpful and professional.

We will be back with our entire extend family.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Clean camp grounds, Easy access to the eel river where you can always find a secluded swimming hole. We felt very comfortableand look forward to coming back again. Close, but not to close to town

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dean Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Creek Resort

Address: 4112 Redwood Drive, Redway, CA 95560
Location: United States > California > Redway
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Redway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Dean Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dean Creek Hotel Redway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dean Creek Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.