We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldnt "sleep" there again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Save Saved
You added The Portofino Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Redondo Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wouldnt "sleep" there again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

2 1/2 is more like it

-Humid air in the rooms
, small beds( like 120 cm for 2 people to share), sucky pillows, and not soundproof at all. I could hear it if someone 5 rooms away took a shower and if someone from outside spoke it sounded like they where in the room. The whole family slept porly.

+great staff, not very expensive

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled you enjoyed our staff. We apologize that you didn’t have a fantastic sleeping experience. We will use your comments when updating and improving our hotel. Thank you for your feedback.

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    207
    85
    45
    31
See reviews for
115
234
30
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed in the Hotel for Business in June 2013. i was attending a conference in the hotel.

The Rooms are great with a view (i personally favour the top floor, with a marina facing view). the rooms are quiet and very well provided for. all facilities are great.

The conference facilities were great and the food in the banquets was also very nice.

Room Tip: i personally favour the top floor, with a marina facing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments on our conference facility and hotel! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback! We are thrilled you enjoyed your business trip and hotel stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It took me three hours to drive 38 miles on a Friday afternoon, so I was pretty happy to finally arrive at Portofino. The check-in clerk honored my request for an amazing, yet quiet room (there were two weddings that weekend) and checked me in to Room 363. The room was clean and comfortable, with a table and chairs on the balcony overlooking the water. Lots of paddle boarding going on, and the sea lions kept up their conversations the whole time I was there.

Had a memorable dinner at Baleen, and went back twice more, for drinks and for breakfast. Check out the three firepit tables outside - very nice to have your feet in the sand while eating tasty food.

Loved the lobby, with its soaring ceiling and window seats - curled up in one to finish reading a book, and parked myself there for awhile the next morning just to watch people come and go. The bar was not open the hours I was there but it would be a nice space to have a drink.

Everyone I came in contact with was helpful and friendly. Was a nice weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Agree that the water view trumps the 'marina' view, which means 'looking at the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Tammy,
Thank you for your outstanding review! We are thrilled you were able to experience BALEENkitchen and our lobby! Hopefully on your next visit, it will not take 3 hours to drive 38 miles!! We are very happy that you found a relaxing place to lay your head after your long commute. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horgen, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I've stayed at this property three times in the last nine months, each time about one week. The location is not only beautiful, but also practical. There are many restaurants, bars, the beach and many other things within walking distance, and it isn't too far from LAX airport - about 25 minutes by car. Each stay was during the week on business as we held conferences there for our customers. Don't expect a modern, state-of-the-art hotel. It is an older property with a lot of charm, and very sweetly renovated.
This last stay was disappointing. While there is still the charm of the beautiful building, location and the carefully renovated rooms, we noticed that the service quality dropped massively, and this mainly in the Baleen - the restaurant. The service was not only slow, they brought wrong drinks, couldn't get ice tea made for two days straight - and didn't realize that for about half an hour. The service was slow, sometimes very slow, and almost lazy. Even though there weren't many customers, they were hesitant to serve us in the downstairs area which is may 30 to 40 feet away from the main restaurant. I can't say the staff wasn't friendly, they were. But they seemed to be lacking motivation with maybe the exception of one or two who did go out of there way to serve us outside.
The other issue with the Portofino is that they don't seem to realize that conference guests are there to work and need to be productive, but the meeting facilities aren't really laid out for that, nor are things such as very pricy wifi and other things.
On the upside, it is a super charming location, and totally relaxing. If they can just fix the service issues and conference issues, it'd be darn near perfect.
I'd go there again, hoping that it will be better but wouldn't hesitate to find a new hotel if it doesn't live up to expectations again...

Room Tip: You'll probably want a seaside room on at least the second floor, even better on the third to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your continuous business and frequent hotel visits. We apologize that your most recent stay was not ideal. Our goal is to always provide 100% guest satisfaction! Your comments about BALEENkitchen will not go unnoticed! We agree that as a convention client you should receive top quality service at all times. We will personally make sure to follow up with you directly. Please email aholyoak@hotelportofino.com for more information. We would like to get a little more information from you.

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our company used one of the hotel's conference halls for a week-long seminar at The Portofino in Redondo Beach, CA and the whole experience was excellent. The space we were in had a beautiful view of the marina with a nice ocean breeze and an outside terrace. The food and other accommodations were excellent. Kate Foster was our contact person for the week. She was very responsive and made sure we got exactly what we needed. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to escape the office and get some serious work done.

Room Tip: We didn't spend the night in any of the rooms. But judging from the experience in the conference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for such a kind review of Kate Foster and our facility! We are thrilled you enjoyed your time here. It sounds like you were able to accomplish a great deal of work. We appreciate your thoughtful insight on our catering team. We hope to serve you again soon.

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were on a weekend getaway. Stayed in a room on the second floor overlooking the water. Originally requested a third floor room. Never seem to get as requested? Rooms are small but comfortable. Read many reviews about the sea lions. We kept the doors closed at night. Didn't bother us. There isn't air conditioning. Room got a little stuffy at night. Had dinner at their restaurant, Baleens(sp?).
Made dinner reservations in advance. Requested a marina view table. Again, request not honored. Restaurant very busy with graduations & weddings. Our server kept apologizing. Despite all that, we enjoyed the meal. We enjoyed walking the boardwalk. Found the Pier area in desperate need of renovation
with new shops & restaurants.
Really enjoyed eating lunch at Joe's Crab Shack. Loved our server Jay (from Chicago). Had dinner at Kincaids. Restaurant was really warm. Servers were sweating. Customers kept complaining. Food was fine.
Drove over to Manhatten Beach. Enjoyed breakfast at the Kettle. Had a great table outside. All in all, we had a nice weekend away. Now, back to reality....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and the area! It sounds like you really got to explore the South Bay! We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel and our restaurant. We apologize that you didn’t find the air conditioner in your room. Each room is equipped with a new individually controlled air conditioning system. We appreciate your comments about to Pier and are happy to report that a full renovation is planned this year.
Thank you again for choosing The Portofino Hotel & Marina! Have a fantastic summer!

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the Portofino the last week of May, for 2 nights.
After a long day of driving, it was wonderful to arrive at the Portofino. I really didn't know what to expect - it was hard to tell from the pictures I saw - clearly they didn't do the hotel justice!

The rooms were pretty big and clean. The bathroom was modern, and the bed was really comfortable!

There is also a very nice sitting area near the front desk - we didn't take advantage of it though. We used the hotel just as a place to sleep after long days of touring. We'll definitely take advantage of all the amenities when we return to California and return to the Portofino.

One thing we didn't like (in addition to the parking fees) was the fact that our room was next to one of the side exits, whose door slammed so hard every time someone would walk out. But I guess we should have spoke up!

Another thing was that there seemed to be no fan in the bathroom. After a hot shower, everything gets steamed up in there!

But all in all, it was a great experience and we look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Ocean view is nicer, but try to get a higher floor; if not you'll just see a concrete wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Frank,
Thank you for your gracious review! We found your comments about our property to be very kind and humbling. We are thrilled you enjoyed your two night stay in May. We hope you were able to experience the South Bay to the fullest during your visit. We are very happy to hear you will be returning to Portofino again!
Thank you for your constructive observations about the exit door and bathroom fan. We will use these comments when updating the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Have a great summer,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathe in the sea and all that Redondo Beach offers. Offer guests an authentic SoCal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer”, endlessly. Welcome to The Portofino Hotel & Marina in Redondo Beach at King Harbor, a haven for business and leisure travelers alike. The Portofino boasts breathtaking scenes from sunsets and sailboats to dolphins and pelicans and is framed in the floor-to-ceiling windows and private balconies within this beautiful Redondo Beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Portofino Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.