We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Portofino!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Save Saved
You added The Portofino Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Redondo Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love the Portofino!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I got a great deal on Hotwire for this hotel. The location is amazing! The room was beautiful. My only complaint was that the room was so nice it was hard to leave it! The hotel staff was helpful and nice. The hotel is walking distance to the pier and beach. The parking is a little pricey but for the price I paid for the hotel it was still well worth the money!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review and compliments! We are so pleased you enjoyed yourself! It sounds like you had a fantastic time. We appreciate your thoughts on the parking charges however they are standard for all full service hotels in the area due to proximity to the water. Thank you again for staying with us! We look forward to serving you again soon.

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    207
    85
    45
    31
See reviews for
116
234
30
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed at the hotel in late May 2013. Unfortunately, I got a room facing the Marina - which has some sort of refinery that is shrouded in not tall enough fencing. If you are staying here push for an ocean view room; it will be a much better experience. The hotel appears to have been relatively recently refurbished; nice job on the lobby and lounge and an okay to poor job on the rooms.

I had lunch at the restaurant across the turning circle - it was expensive and very average - prawn pasta dish that was $26!

The staff were all friendly and accommodating.

My biggest gripe was the internet charge $12 / day / device.

I wanted to rate this place an average - but I am afraid for 2 nights $763 (not including food) it is wildly overpriced.

Room Tip: Insist on Ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your feedback and understand your concerns. Our internet cost is standard for all full service hotels in the area and we will use your comments about the restaurant to improve our practices. We apologize that your meal experience wasn’t ideal. Our goal is always to provide superb customer service and accommodations. I can assure you that your comments will be used when planning our room renovations.
Thank you again for reaching out to us. We hope to serve you again on day.

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We really like this hotel,it's beautiful has a great location near the pier and it has lots of character,the staff makes you feel at home.we have stayed at several locally and like this one the best. The only thing we didn't like was the stiff parking charge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We are so thrilled you enjoyed our hotel again! We understand your concerns about the parking charge however it is standard for all full service hotels in our area. Due to our proximity to the ocean, we are required to charge for parking. We are so happy you enjoyed our location and the staff. We hope to see you again soon. Have a fantastic summer!


Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Do not let the pictures fool you the hotel is very far away from the beach
the pool is shared by the hotel and the marina. When sitting by the pool you can't even enjoy the ocean as it is block by a wall. We were welcomed by Katie at the front desk she was about the only one that made us feel welcome. Paying $25 for parking a night and missing high speed internet in the room.
When checking out they could not even ask us how are our stay was,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Bobbie,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We appreciate your kind comments about Katie. I will be sure to thank her myself. Thank you for your observations about the pool and the internet access. The standard parking charge in the area is $25 but we will use your comments to improve our pricing and amenities. I apologize that your check out process wasn’t flawless. This is unacceptable and I will personally look into it. If available, please contact me directly for more information aholyoak@hotelportofino.com

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We've stayed at the Portofino many times over the past several years. It's like having a beach house without the commitment. The staff consistently goes out of their way to make the stay more enjoyable and this time wasn't any different... except for the fact that the staff was REACTING to missteps rather than preventing them.

We checked in on Saturday for a two night stay in a King Deluxe Ocean View room. Our first room was almost all the way to the left (south) side of the hotel and... well... it smelled like a wet dog. Seriously, like a kennel. We asked to move to a different room and only one other option was available (understandable as it was a holiday weekend). We moved a few doors down to the very last room on the corner. We noticed that the hotel is starting to look a little beat up. The beautiful renovation is showing signs of wear and tear... stains, chips, thread wear, etc... Bound to happen... but kind of a bummer.

So my awesome wife decided to take a shower.... and it did not drain. So after her hillbilly shower, we called down to see if anything had changed room wise. A cancellation? Upgrade options? A Suite? There was a suite available but at an additional $200 a night we decided to grin an bear it.

So we got dressed and on our way out, a woman with a walkie talkie and clipboard was walking down the hall and spraying something with each step like a scene from outbreak. You cant cover up mildew with tropical perfume, y'all. But, at least our concerns were heard, right?

After a lovely dinner out, we returned and went to sleep. Well, we didn't actually sleep because the mattress was concave and worn. Every time one of us moved the other was jolted from their sleep... kind of like a circus trick. We finally both fell asleep and were awakened by the cleaning staff YELLING at each other from the hallway and adjacent rooms. I opened my door WTF? And there was a guy literally RIGHT THERE right next to our do not disturb sign (and many others) laughing and carrying on in the early morning. Seriously?

The were VERY apologetic, but still... slipping... see?

We discussed our evening with CHRIS K at the front desk who was AWESOME. He immediately found a room to upgrade us to (no charge this time), had our clothes moved and bought us brunch at Baleen. Wow. We were impresssed.

However, at Baleen... they completely forgot to put in our order and we sat for an hour waiting patiently for our complimentary bunch as everyone ate around us. Our panicked waitress was running around trying to make it right... but it wasn't exactly relaxing.

At a certain point, you think... are we being PUNK'D?

After a day at the beach (thanks to their complimentary beach cruisers) we returned back to our PREMIERE OCEAN KING and were delighted. It was like a different hotel. And the mattress was pillow topped and quite comfortable.

Next morning... no noise. Better.

So all this being said, I'm not sure that we'll be back to our little "beach house." It's a bummer. We like the proximity to WeHo and the staff couldn't be nicer, but I think it's time for a refresher.

Room Tip: Do not book anything other than the DELUXE PREMIERE KING.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for the comprehensive review and in depth comments about the hotel and restaurant. We are thrilled that you choose to stay with us often and think of us as your own personal ‘beach house’. However, we are very apologetic that your most recent stay was not impressive. We appreciate all of your comments and will most certainly use them to improve the hotel. I am very sorry that your stay wasn’t perfect and we will make sure to refer back to your specific suggestions while planning our next hotel upgrade. As always, our goal is 100% satisfaction. We pride ourselves on exceptional customer service. I am happy to hear that your last night improved and I appreciate your insight. Please feel free to contact me directly when planning your next visit. I’d like to personally make sure we are able to maintain your long-term Portofino relationship. I will also make sure to contact Chris K. myself to make him aware that you appreciated his service.

Thank you again for your years of patronage!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I did my homework on Trip-Advisor of the 4 star rated resort/hotels in the Redondo or Manhattan Beach. Ca area. We wanted something different and unique to give a variety to our hotel stay experiences. After all, we wanted to get a location near the beach- and see more of what California has to offer!
We met a very nice guest at the Padre Hotel in Bakersfield, Ca who told us to try the Belamar but at $167 a night - we elected to bid on Priceline for a 4 star in the area for $less. The selection for our price point was the Portofino Hotel & Marina. After looking at the website photo's I thought we found a jewel! I asked for the ocean view - like Trip advisor customers recommended but was told at the desk that it would be an additional $40 upcharge!
The nautical theme was nice but this was NOT a 4 star by any means! It was missing the free high speed internet wireless room access, upgraded bedding, complimentary designer toiletries, white (not dingy) towels, and gourmet dining options.
Since we didn't get the view we were looking for or a good nights sleep - this would not rate over 3 for our experience in hotel ratings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled that you are an avid TripAdvisor user. We apologize that your upgraded ocean room was not up to your standards! We appreciate your comments and will use them to improve the hotel rooms, our service and the in room amenities such as toiletries.

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Earlier reviews accurately portray this place as a little gem, tucked safely into a narrow space between a breakwater and a marina. Birds squawk, seals bark, and vistas are incredible. This place is very well staffed by people interested in pleasing their guests. Baleen is kind of a cool place to have brunch or a beer, and it's right across the parking lot from the hotel.

I guess the highlight of what was an extremely enjoyable long weekend in California was the opportunity to walk or cycle along the path that cuts right through the three beach communities of Redondo, Hermosa, and Manhattan. There are many splendid seafood restaurants, many with striking views and craft beers on tap. We found the best coffee shop on the planet in Hermosa Beach, a wonderful place called Cafe Bonapart, where the espresso was heavenly, the fruit bowl tangy, and the pastry sinful.

It's a chance to get out walking and people-watching, and then guiltlessly indulge in tasty Calfonia cuisine.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are humbled by your kind comments and hotel review! Thank you for taking the time to assess The Portofino and Redondo Beach. We are so happy to hear your comments about the hotel being a “tucked away gem.” We pride ourselves on being a little oasis just six miles from LAX. We are very happy you found so many great places to visit in the surrounding area as well.
We look forward to your next visit & hope to serve you again!

Thank you,
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Redondo Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathe in the sea and all that Redondo Beach offers. Offer guests an authentic SoCal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer”, endlessly. Welcome to The Portofino Hotel & Marina in Redondo Beach at King Harbor, a haven for business and leisure travelers alike. The Portofino boasts breathtaking scenes from sunsets and sailboats to dolphins and pelicans and is framed in the floor-to-ceiling windows and private balconies within this beautiful Redondo Beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Portofino Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.