We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrong room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Save Saved
You added The Portofino Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast for Two!
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Redondo Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wrong room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a romantic weekend, but reading the other reviews I think we definitely got the wrong room. We were above the gym and could hear someone at 6:00am pounding on the treadmill. Wasted space in the bathroom that could have better utilized. The room was in the corner near a stairwell and near housekeeping station and we heard constant noise, voices of the staff. And what was up with room service knocking at the door at 9:00am on a Sunday morning!? Elevator was out on Easter weekend when we stayed. This should not be happening at a hotel putting itself out as high quality.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Lisa, we apologize that your room was not ideal. Please know that you are always welcome to ask for a room change if necessary. Our goal is to always provide 100% guest satisfaction. Thank you for bringing these observations to our attention. We will make sure to use them to better our hotel. We understand our elevator situation was not ideal and we have done everything in our power to have it back up and running. Thank you for staying with us.

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    223
    90
    48
    34
See reviews for
140
250
32
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Came here after a hard week at a tradeshow in Vegas, looking for peace and tranquility.

This hotel is wonderful venue for a relaxing wind down. I thoroughly recommend this hotel. Pay for an ocean view premium room so you can sit out on your patio or balcony and watch the seals play in the harbour.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments and great feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled you were able to relax after a stressful week in Las Vegas. We hope to see you again soon!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My 8 month old daughter and I joined my husband and I at this hotel on a business trip. It was a treat to stay in such unique little hotel compared to some of the bigger chains. The decor was lovely, the location was unmatched and the hotel staff was very helpful. We had a Oceanside room and loved watching the seals and boats in the marina! Great place, would return anytime!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review! We pride ourselves on being a special property with unique features. Our staff and location set us apart from larger chain hotels. We appreciate that your family enjoyed our individuality. We hope that guests feel at home when they’re here.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you!
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was my second and her first stay there, and as usual, she wasn't sure she'd like it so she surfed for other hotels. The (inland) Ritz in Santa Monica Ritz was $$$$$, so she OK'd my pick. We arrived, checked in, walked by the VERY elegant "parlor" off of the lobby, saw the sea lions in the harbor out our room window, and she was sold. Our ocean view HC accessible (for me) room was on the first floor near the lobby. It was small and there was WAY too much "shameless commerce" (even the normally complimentary two bottles of water had a big price tag). It was, however very clean, well decorated, and all the room stuff worked.

The upper floor restaurant and bar and dockside snack bar are in a separate building on the marina side. They are excellent, highly rated, and surprisingly reasonable (for LA), though, with our family visits and sightseeing, we only ate breakfasts and some lunches. The dinner menu looked very good, so we have to try that next time.

Self parking is close, and valet parking is available too.There is a paved beach walk that goes north to miles of beaches and piers and they rent beach cruiser bikes. The weather wasn't conducive to trying the pool out.

Room Tip: We got a package that included $50 credit per day which was enough to get breakfast or lunch and val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments and constructive review. We will use your remarks to improve the hotel amenities. We are thrilled you enjoyed BALEENkitchen and their pricing. It is a wonderful restaurant. It sounds like you were able to experience the area and all that Redondo Beach has to offer. We are happy that you enjoyed a $50 daily credit with your stay too! We are delighted you and your wife had a nice time.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you!
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel 4 times for my birthday in January. We have always had a room on the ocean side on an upper floor. We love watching the sunset from our balcony. Several times we have seen pods of dolphins swimming by. We also love using their free bicycles to take a ride to the nearby Redondo pier. Lots to do and see!

Room Tip: Request a room on the ocean side of the hotel and an upper floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Four times! That’s amazing! Thank you so much for your continued support. We are thrilled you enjoy staying with us often. It sounds like watching the sunset and dolphins add to your experience. We love to hear that you are able to take advantage of the complimentary bikes. They are a great way to explore the area.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you!
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wonderful little hotel right on the water and marina. Great walking area and lots of establishments nearby for fun and food. Being on the ocean also means no smog.
The front staff was excellent.
The outdoor spa, when turned on, produced a huge foam coating; almost like someone had added detergent to the water - rather gross.

Room Tip: It is only 3 stories so pick a room on the 3rd floor for viewing either the ocean or the marina. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments! We appreciate you taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled you enjoyed our location and excellent staff. They really are an exceptional department. We will definitely take into account your observations about the outdoor spa and use them to improve our property!

Thank you!
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgeville
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had never stayed in this Redondo Beach area before and were very pleasantly surprised by the hotel, the area and the restaurant/eating choices. The hotel offers roms with balconies and tables/chairs overlooking the working fishing harbor. But also in view are seals, birds and dolphins/porpoises especially at tidal changes. The hotel's restaurant,Baleine, was terriffic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments and restaurant review of BALEENkitchen! We are thrilled you were able to enjoy the hotel and its surrounding area. Being in such a unique location really adds to hotel’s ambiance. We are very happy you liked listening to the birds, seals and other marine life. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again.

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
BALEENkitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathe in the sea and all that Redondo Beach offers. Offer guests an authentic SoCal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer”, endlessly. Welcome to The Portofino Hotel & Marina in Redondo Beach at King Harbor, a haven for business and leisure travelers alike. The Portofino boasts breathtaking scenes from sunsets and sailboats to dolphins and pelicans and is framed in the floor-to-ceiling windows and private balconies within this beautiful Redondo Beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Portofino Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.