We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little shabby but worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel to your Saves list
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% discount per night
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
142 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“A little shabby but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The comfort, view and location of this hotel overcome the slight shabbiness of the interior. It is clean and tidy, but needs paint n polish to make it shine in the lift/corridor areas. Having said that our room was very nice. Comfortable big bed (pillows are marshmallow though), big TV with good entertainment selection, big marble dressing area off the bathroom, but the bathroom itself was tiny with the smallest bath we have ever seen! Shower was good so it made up for the trough like bath. Nice furnishings and colour palette. Big comfy bathrobes, but no slippers. Nice toiletries and a full size hairdryer. Staff were friendly, helpful and professional from the valet parker to reception to housekeeping and the restaurant.
The big draw for us was the ocean view room and the balcony. Yes the ocean view is of the manmade harbour which consists of a stone sea wall, then the sea beyond right up to the horizon. However we watched a fantastic sunset from our balcony, then the stars came out and we had fun picking out the big dipper, etc. We even saw the kitschy romantic gondola go by covered in fairy lights with music softly playing (it was Valentine's Day so they were very busy going back and forth). The seals were barking vociferously and very entertaining but once the sliding door was shut you barely noticed them (plus the hotel provides free earplugs in every room). Next morning we had coffee on the balcony and watched the seals cavorting around in water so clear you could see huge orange fish in the shallows. A pod of dolphins made an appearance and stayed for over an hour, playing in the wake of boats as they entered/departed the marina by the hotel. Kayaks and small fishing/row boats pottered by too. It was so peaceful, relaxing and quiet you could hear the dolphin blowholes as they surfaced.
The hotel has valet parking ($25 per day) but cars are parked outside, no covered structure available. The lobby area is very pretty with high ceilings, chandeliers and comfy chairs, and has water flavoured with fruit on a self serve basis. They may serve drinks there at night as there is a small bar, but we didn't use it.
We visited Baleen Kitchen for breakfast which was very tasty with great lattes. There are a lot of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel if you want a choice.
Would I recommend this hotel to friends? Yes. Would U visit again? Yes. It was a great R&R destination for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments and thoughtful review of our property. We are very happy that you had a relaxing visit. Our goal is to provide an oasis from the hustle and bustle of Los Angeles. We hope that we achieved this for you. It sounds like you had a very nice stay. Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding the hotel room layout. We will use your comments for further improvements. We appreciate your patronage and hope that we can serve you again.

Thank you!
Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    290
    122
    62
    43
See reviews for
223
373
47
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Like everybody said on here, if you can - pay the extra and stay on the second or third floors on the ocean side. The views are amazing, basically an unobstructed view of the Pacific Ocean from Palos Verdes to Malibu. The best part is that there is absolutely nothing between you and the ocean - no street or beach full of people, like just about every other beach hotel I've been to.

The breakwater provides for an amazing little playground for sea lions, gulls, geese and penguins. The sunsets are amazing but stay on your balcony for another hour to watch the show that the birds put on... You won't want to leave the room, the sea lions are adorable and playful... But do leave the room, and rent a kayak to be a part of it for an hour or so (there is a place next door that rents kayaks etc, but nobody was ever there when I went over - so I just rented one for 15 bucks for one hour at the boardwalk).

The rooms were great, well appointed and large. The windows are double-paned so the noise of the animals don't come through so much when they are closed. The pool is warmed nicely, the gym has a variety of free weights in addition to aerobic equipment - and you can rent bikes for free to ride up and down the strand...

It's also a short easy walk to restaurants and the pier...

Again, I was so glad I paid for the room upgrade, was a great stay...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Nick, thank you for your sweet comments about our hotel and location. We are so thrilled you enjoyed watching all that nature has to offer in Redondo Beach. It truly is amazing to watch the wildlife from our Ocean room balconies. We very excited to know you advanced to a higher floor, the views there are worth the upgrade! Thank you for visiting. We hope to see you again soon.

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I think they should change their website to PERFECT HOTEL DOT COM! the staff was perfect, from valet to the front desk to housekeeping! My wife and I have decided that this is our hotel of choice to visit in the LA area (we are LA residents) when we want to get away 4 a weekend or a special occasion. You guys will be seeing alot more of us now that we have discovered this ocean side paradise! thanks again 4 everything! see u guys soon! tell the staff job well done! -FDW

Room Tip: ANY room is a good one but definitely choose the ocean side! excellent view 4 a price that i thought...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
As a hotel, we strive for reviews this wonderful! Hearing what a delightful time you had truly makes us happy! You may be surprised to hear that most of our guests are from the LA area! Redondo Beach is a great little oasis from the hustle and bustle of Los Angeles. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel staff and location. Hearing that you plan to join us again is fantastic! We look forward to serving you again!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Location was great, less than a mile away from a jogging path right on the beach. It doesn't get any better than that! Also within walking distance to many restaurants. My room was very clean, I love the TV size, comfortable bed, nice little patio with sliding door to let the breeze in and my favorite, waterfall shower head. The lobby is awesome in the evenings and the sunset is to die for, not to mention all of the seals outside barking, they don't get too close but they are fun to watch. I will return!

Room Tip: I had marina view because I didn't want to pay to upgrade but the oceanfront looks worth the mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Ashley, many thanks for all your kind remarks! We are thrilled you were able to experience all that Redondo Beach has to offer! Between the restaurants, strand and the beach, there are so many fun activities to do. We are very pleased that you plan to visit again. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our stay here was all we expected -- and more. The rooms were pristine, the beds were extraordinarily comfortable, the view was fantastic, the staff was friendly, and I could go on. Our room had obviously been renovated, and they did not go the cheap route. Every corner received high quality attention, including the beds, which were great. Plus, every time we talked to the staff, they did everything they could to make our stay more enjoyable. Thumbs up.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the bay (not the marina/parking lot). It is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Shaneen, our sincere gratitude for such a phenomenal review. We realize staying with us is a choice and we appreciate your patronage. We are thrilled you enjoyed your room and comfortable bed! We are also pleased to hear our staff was practicing such well received customer service. We hope that you can join us again. Thank you!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

This was the third time we've stayed here and I must say it still needs work. The staff is great and very responsive. The lobby is to die for, the water pressure in the shower is wonderful, good location, nice spacious room. The downsides however are: the rooms could use updating, the tempature in the rooms doesn't get very cool so we had to sleep with the door open which meant dealing with the smell of low tide, and the tube didn't drain well.

This hotel has so much potential I do hope they make the necessary upgrades to unlock its full potential.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your constructive comments and review. We are thrilled that your enjoyed our charming staff and beautiful lobby. We appreciate your observations on the rooms. We plan upgrades throughout the year and will use these comments when improving the hotel. We are so happy to know that you have been to the hotel three times and we appreciate your loyal support. Developing relationships with continued guests are what make our jobs so much fun. Thank you again!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I visited this hotel for a spring wedding but I can't imagine a better place for a weekend winter escape. This is LA-hassle free. Just fly into LAX and you're minutes from the hotel. Not that you feel like it. Redondo Beach is a little beachy community off by itself. We had ocean views that included seals. (At first when my husband said he heard seals I thought he was deluded and teasingly asked him if he also heard zebras!) The hotel is within walking distance of several restaurants and a small shopping center with a drugstore, grocery, etc. The lobby is very pretty, like the entry hall of a mansion. We didn't get to spend much time here because we basically flew in and out for the wedding so I hope we get an opportunity to return.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Emily, thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are thrilled to have been part of a memorable wedding weekend for you. We love to hear when guests are pleased with our location and proximity to LAX. We pride ourselves on being an oasis just outside the city. Our seal friends are just one of the many things that make Redondo Beach a secret Los Angeles gem. We are very excited to hear you would like to visit us again and hope we can provide you with exceptional service next time you are here.

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.3 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 17 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
1.2 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles / Redondo Beach
3.8 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Redondo Beach
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Redondo Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portofino Hotel & Marina is located on a private peninsula, Redondo beach’s only waterfront hotel. A rich tapestry of panoramic views greets you, with the harbor, the Pacific Ocean and Catalina Island. The hotel lies just six miles south of Los Angeles International Airport, a short stroll to shops and restaurants of Redondo Beach. We offer our guests an authentic Socal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer “endlessly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.