We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Rumors are True: This is (likely) the Best Place to Stay in Redondo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel to your Saves list
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% discount per night
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The Rumors are True: This is (likely) the Best Place to Stay in Redondo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I visited a friend in Redondo Beach. For proximity, our friend recommended the Portofino and Crowne Plaza. I price shopped and could not find a room under $140 at Portofino. But, fate was kind and the hotel ran a January sale at $120/night. Sold! The hotel has an attractive Cape Cod feel and there's great access to the beaches. (We spent most of our time at Hermosa Beach.) We made good use of the restaurant and bar areas for breakfast and dinner. Drinks by the fire in the hotel are a must. Staff members were exceptional. In searching for a complaint, food and beverage prices were on the higher side BUT were consistent with selection, service and the area. (Whisky choices at the bar were thoughtfully selected.) High season rates likely push this fine property out of our budget but we look forward to returning in a future off-season.

Room Tip: We had a Marina side room which was fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Ms. Steele, Thank you so very much for your kind and thoughtful comments about our property! We are thrilled you were able to experience Hermosa and Redondo Beach. They really are little gems just outside of Los Angeles! We are also pleased you enjoyed the hotel’s Nautical Chic décor and were able to take advantage of one of our flash sales. If you choose to visit us again, we invite you to join our mailing list. Even in warmer months, we offer wonderful last minute offers. Thank you again for your considerate review. We hope you can join us again soon.

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    273
    120
    57
    42
See reviews for
205
352
44
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed overnight New Years Eve in a spa room. Everything was great except the view, which was overlooking the water but since it was a bottom floor the view was just eh due to the water breakers. Bathroom was clean, jacuzzi tub was clean, sleeping area was clean. I would absolutely recommend the hotel and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for the constructive comments. We appreciate you enjoyed your NYE stay. Because of the Jacuzzi tub weight, it requires a bottom floor location. We understand that higher floors allow for optimal views. If you choose to visit us again, we suggest and Ocean Premiere room! The Ocean Premiere room has wonderful ocean views. Thank you for the kind comments and we hope you are able to visit us again.

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Try to choose an ocean view room; the sound of the harbor seals at night is very soothing. This is the second or third time we've stayed at this property (we live about 5 minutes away!) and this room was the nicest of all. The spa tub faced the outside window with french doors on either side. The toilet was a bit oddly placed adjacent to the tub, but the curtain could be pulled for privacy. The beds are up against the wall facing the ocean, so one could literally see the water sitting upright.

Like many older hotels, the walls are thin and outside noise is common. Also, the decks are nice, but when someone is smoking on one of them, the smoke travels into your room fairly quickly. Other than making the hotel completely smoke free, I'm not sure there is a way to get around that. Inconsiderate guests add to the issue when they smoke, yell, talk loudly at 1:00 a.m. and sing on their balcony, but it's Redondo Beach and you expect some of that.

Baleen is adjacent and they have a nicely done Happy Hour in a beautifully appointed room.

The lobby of the Portofino is wedding worthy. It's a lovely Wedgewood blue with white trim with a large fireplace in the center. It would be wonderful if food were served; I think you can only get drinks after a certain hour in the evening.

Even if you are not staying there, it's a nice place for a quick after work meeting to sit and relax and watch the boats sailing in and out of King Harbor.

Room Tip: Facing the ocean on the second floor is your best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for the sweet comments about our hotel and lobby. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. We would like to apologize about the smell of smoke. The entire hotel is smoke-free. We appreciate your continued loyalty to the hotel and would also like to note that a full BALEENkitchen menu is served in the lobby Tuesday through Saturday from 5pm to 10pm. We hope next time you stay at the hotel, you can take advantage of our lobby dining. It really is a treat to dine during sunset!

Thank you for your continued business. Have a Happy New Year!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I live about an hour from the beach and look for any opportunity to stay near the Strand. We discovered Portifino hotel about 4 years ago and have stayed on several occassions. If you can, pay a little extra for the ocean views. It sets them apart from the competition. We like parking our car, eating at Baleen and walking to the pier. Baleen is an onsite restaurant that has spectacular food. They are known for their shredded duck appetizer and I abolutely love it and I don't eat duck. It is a nice retreat, the staff is very professional and friendly. This is definately one of my favorite places to stay and we will be returning.

Room Tip: Make sure to have the ear plugs near by. The seals are adorable, but can be loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Diana, thank you for your kind review. We truly appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. We are ecstatic that you have been able to experience BALEENkitchen and the surrounding area! The Duck Carnitas really are such a treat. We also invite you to join our mailing list for special offers from BALEENkitchen and the hotel. Because you live closely, you can take advantage of those great last minute offers. Thank you again for your continued business.

Have a happy New Year!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We called ahead because we were going to be getting in late and they staff of the phone was very nice, when we checked in however the new staff member seemed just ast tired as we were after a long day of walking and driving.The rooms in this hotel are huge and very pretty! You can tell this hotel is an older beach side property but they have done some very lovely updates (new paint, carpet, furniture). Very nice shower. I believe our king size bed must have been a California King because it was much bigger than the beds we had stayed in on the rest of our trip. I wish we could have stayed longer to explore the property more and enjoy the pool/beach. They have free bike rental which is pretty amazing. We were on the third floor and had a very good view of the Marina. Booked directly with the hotel, great price! Valet price was similar to what we paid eveywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Ellie, thank you for your generous and intuitive review. We appreciate your kind comments and are thrilled you enjoyed our hotel. We are very happy to hear you had a nice trip. We hope that next time you are near Los Angeles you are able to stay with us again.

Have a happy New Year!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All over
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We spent a night at Portofino last night as it was my girlfriend's birthday. We needed a place that was close enough to Los Angeles to get back for work in the morning and Portofino worked perfectly.

From the time of reservation through check out, everything was perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful from valet to restaurant to front desk and room service.

Rooms look recently updated and they are very comfortable. We overlooked the ocean side on the 3rd floor and it's definitely worth booking the ocean side. We had seals outside our window so we got to enjoy them, but never heard them with the balcony door closed.

Baleen restaurant is great also. We had dinner overlooking the harbor and our meal was outstanding (try the snapper!). And room service in the morning was quick, hot, and really tasty (this is something that a lot of hotels don't do well).

Most of all, we enjoyed the holiday feel of our trip as the property is decorated really well for the holidays. It got us in the holiday spirit!

Thanks so much to the whole team at Portofino!

Room Tip: The ocean side rooms are definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful feedback and thoughtful review. We are thrilled your girlfriend had a nice birthday celebration! It sounds like you had a great stay in the area. Thank you for your compliments on our holiday décor. We have so much fun decorating the hotel this time of year. Next year, you can visit us for the Redondo Beach Holiday Boat Parade. It’s a very special way to celebrate the holidays. We hope to serve you again soon.

Have a Happy New Year!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

First the pros: great location, good value, and a front desk manager who cares.

Recently I stayed for 4 nights on Priceline/Hotwire bids, and asked for and received early check-in, a room on the 3rd floor, and was able to get an ocean view for a nominal fee.

The location on the harbor was perfect, other reviewers complain about the seals' noise but one is after all by the ocean - personally I found the setting overall very relaxing and convenient.

Value was good given what I paid vs. the rack rates.

I have to give a compliment to Sebastian (front desk manager), who remedied a service issue by comping lunch and offering a free movie. He demonstrated great customer service and is a valuable asset to the hotel and its customers.

On the minus side, rooms with connecting doors have thin walls and one can easily hear conversations in the other room, so I would recommend getting a non-adjoining room.

Also, overall service was very uneven - one morning I did not get the wake-up call that I requested, and was not told about cable TV maintenance that was scheduled, so TV reception was suddenly interrupted for an hour without warning (also accompanied by intermittent thumping on the roof). I was told by a flyer under my door that there would be an interruption in water service one day but when I called the front desk, I was told not to worry about it. So I was told about planned maintenance that didn't happen and was not told about planned maintenance that did happen. Housekeeping knocked on my door a few times even though I had the "Do not disturb" sign on the door. Finally, while my lunch was comped, the food quality was middling (don't order the fries unless you like grease).

In sum - ok, YMMV.

Room Tip: Ocean view 3rd floor (for a nominal upgrade fee) provides the best views, try to get a corner room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for the constructive feedback and kind comments for Sebastian. He is a wonderful team member and fantastic front desk supervisor. We appreciate your concerns and will use these comments to improve our hotel and service. We apologize you had trouble with your TV reception. We are working hard to improve the hotel and upgrading to HDTV. Unfortunately for a brief period of time, this caused reception issues. We can assure you however that this will not happen again and that our Television quality is very important to us.

Please know that we appreciate your business and would like to welcome you back again one day.

Have a happy holiday!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portofino Hotel & Marina is located on a private peninsula, Redondo beach’s only waterfront hotel. A rich tapestry of panoramic views greets you, with the harbor, the Pacific Ocean and Catalina Island. The hotel lies just six miles south of Los Angeles International Airport, a short stroll to shops and restaurants of Redondo Beach. We offer our guests an authentic Socal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer “endlessly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.