We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Portofino Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast for 2 included
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Redondo Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have stayed at the Portofino before. It is not far from our house.
The Inn has rooms directly above the water in the harbor so the views are outstanding. You awaken to the sound of Otto the sea lion, as you sit on the balcony you watch the pelicans and other sea birds fly by. Also you can watch the sailboats come and go and the daily paddleboarders as they paddle seemingly below your feet!
The rooms are appointed in nautical decor and have a nice tub and spa quality soaps and lotions.
There are bathrobes so you may sit and drink your coffee on your balcony without having to get up and dressed.
The hotel offers a nice pool and jacuzzi.
The restaurant Balleen is outstanding and has a nice happy hour.
Nice place to get away even if it's just a few miles away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for the outstanding review and wonderful comments. We appreciate you taking the time to say such nice things about the hotel and BALEENkitchen. One of the most interesting aspects of the hotel is the stimulating activity that is visible from the hotel rooms. Our guests, much like you really enjoy watching the sailboats, paddle-boarders and seals passing by.

We hope that because you live close you are able to visit again.

Have a happy holiday,

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    239
    100
    51
    37
See reviews for
156
274
35
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Aust.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a lovely spot, the hotel was clean and nice, great spot to look over the marina (Christmas Boat pararde) sea lions and marina. We really had fun, the breakfast was great!!!
The location was great for us because we wanted to go shopping rather than do the "LA thing". So headed to various malls, stocked up on goodies (clothes) for the rest of the trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Sounds like you had a wonderful time! Thank you for the nice comments and review of the property! We appreciate you taking the time to leave such friendly and constructive feedback. We hope that you can visit us again soon. Have a Happy Holiday Season!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Conveniently sandwiched in between Redondo Beach & Hermosa Beach, one can easily walk/bicycle to the beach and volleyball courts, etc. But you are NOT on the beach here as this place is really a hotel in a marina i.e. boat dock. The rooms are ample size, but hey no venting for the bathroom AND the small fitness center makes for a lot of unwanted heat and steam. Pool is tiny but the hot tub is actually running HOT! Staff is nice and pleasant lobby is wonderful. Seems like a wedding hotel gig. Had to request a light bult (come on) and more than 2 glasses in a room with 2 double beds. The WIFI which is only free in the lobby is horribly SLOW and while there are flat screen TV they're not in HDTV mode!

Room Tip: You pay up to be on the waterside but you're not going to see a beach but a rocky jetty. Save y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your constructive feedback. We use the comments to update the property as well as improve our service standards. We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotels location. We are updating the technology on property to HD as well as always working on improving the equipment.

We hope that you can visit us again, as we look forward to serving you. Have a Happy Holiday Season!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The place is fantastic, close to Hermosa, Manhatan and all the Redondo Beach amenities. Bar Club Balee was the best!
Gym is rather precarious but who needs a fitness center at the beach?
Seals and Sea Lions, priceless!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your amazing feedback! We love to hear guests happy with the location and the wonderful wildlife residents! We appreciate your comments about the closeness to all the beach cities – it’s a big plus to staying with us. We will absolutely use your comments about the fitness center for future hotel planning.

Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you again!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

This is a well-maintained older hotel with nicely decorated rooms and friendly, helpful staff. We chose an up-grade room with an "Ocean View". Our first observation was that the view was of the breakwater, with the ocean obscured by a man-made berm. No beach or landscaping, just cement. The small balcony had two plastic Chairs and a little table. Really not worth the premium price. The second issue was the absence of drawers to facilitate unpacking. You must live out of your suitcase at this hotel. This is more suitable for the single, business or short-term guests. For us it was a detraction. Parking at this facility is pricey. We own a late model well maintained car, so we chose to the premium priced valet parking. Be advised that it appears the valet parks your car out in a lot amongst the self-park vehicles. We were shocked when our car was delivered upon checki-out covered with water spots from the sprinkler system. These spots had dried in the morning sun and had actually "etched" in the finish. It cost us an extra $100 for a detail shop to polish out these spots which still show some remnants of the damage. Again, this facility is more suitable for the business traveller with a rental car.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for the constructive review and extensive comments about the property and our helpful staff. We appreciate your kind remarks about the nicely decorated hotel and friendly employees. We apologize if your lower ocean floor room was not to your liking. We do offer higher ocean floor rooms with optimal views. The short breakwater wall is relatively low and there for guest safety. In case of a storm, the wall will protect the hotel and its guests. We will use your comments to improve the hotel and its amenities as well as the parking.

As always, guest satisfaction is our number one priority. We hope that you can visit us again and we can improve your thoughts on the property.

Thank you for your business, have a Happy Holiday!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

As other reviewers have written, this hotel is set in a very nice area by the marina. Front desk and valets were very nice. Room was clean except for the bathtub which needed to be updated. Bed was very comfortable and there were the regular toilet amenities. We had a marina view, but am sure the ocean view would be fantastic. I would recommend to friends who are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We appreciate your kind comments and constructive thoughts! Thank you for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel and recommending it to friends. We look forward to another visit with you. Have a Happy Holiday Season!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a nice hotel with clean rooms, beautiful foyer and waterfront views. The front desk and valet staff are very nice and helpful as well as the reservation staff that acommodated our business requests with ease and efficiency. I have some problems with the hotel that will make me search for a different property in the future. First, the hallway on the third room was musty smelling and very narrow. I ordered breakfast for the first morning and it never arrived. On the day of my checkout I left in my room a bag with very nice toiletry products I have purchased and even tough I know this is my mistake for leaving it behind, I was very dissapointed when I called a few hours later and it was not in the lost and found. Some cleaning ladies will be smelling really nice! I don't feel secure staying in a place where cleaning employees are not very honest. It was also very hard to contact lost and found, they never returned my calls and it took three phone calls to finally receive an answer about my items. Finally I was charged for the wifi (which is terribly overpriced at $12 per day!) even tough it should have been included in my corporate rate. This problem was fixed quickly by the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
I am very sorry about this experience. There is a bag in the back of the front desk that matches the description of your items. Please contact me directly at aholyoak@hotelportofino.com

Thank you!

Annelise Holyoak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathe in the sea and all that Redondo Beach offers. Offer guests an authentic SoCal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer”, endlessly. Welcome to The Portofino Hotel & Marina in Redondo Beach at King Harbor, a haven for business and leisure travelers alike. The Portofino boasts breathtaking scenes from sunsets and sailboats to dolphins and pelicans and is framed in the floor-to-ceiling windows and private balconies within this beautiful Redondo Beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Portofino Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.