We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for business travelers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel to your Saves list
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% discount per night
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not for business travelers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great location. The housekeeping staff was great (friendly and accommodating). The room was nice overall; comfortable bed, great water pressure in the shower; and nicely decorated. We were in town on business and stayed here because it’s listed on my husband’s company’s “lists of preferred hotels.” We were very disappointed to learn that even though we were able to book our room at the preferred rate, it was not honored when we arrived because they only had 3 rooms left. We ended up not staying here the first night. When we returned the next day, we were not offered an upgrade to an ocean view even though the hotel was virtually empty. We concluded that they simply aren’t concerned with accommodating business travelers or maintaining business accounts.

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you're traveling for business
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. I apologize that you had some difficulty using your business traveler rate. We are happy to offer special rates in advance. However, we must keep some rooms open for our non-business travelers. We are a small boutique hotel and therefore we must manage our inventory closely. If you had a reservation, the front desk should have honored the rate. Please contact our sales department for further information. We would like to resolve this immediately. 310-798-8481

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    273
    120
    57
    42
See reviews for
202
352
44
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I think your view on the Portofino really depends on what type of hotel you wanted in the first place and what you make of your trip. So with that in mind:
+
Beautiful location and scenery
Lovely lounge and reception area
Gym, pool, hot tub
Comp IT room
Comp wifi
Nearby eateries (Very near a cheesecake factory!)
Suites are spacious-king beds a good size
Seaview room-lovely views
Bellboys and maids warm and friendly.
Although I wasn't getting the vibe that they were thrilled to; desk staff were helpful and accomodating in switching us to another room when the first was unsatisfactory.

-
Marina view room- view of the parking lot.
Standard double rooms are small- 2x double beds in the room are very small if actually utilised to accomodate two normal sized people. (Hence the move)
Rooms are average and in need of a refresh- not as lush as lounge area.
Gym (looked neglected) and pool are very small.

If you are looking for peace, serenity, a quiet romatic or family break this is for you. If you want something more lively stay up the road in Hermosa Beach where there are many shops eateries, bars and some clubs.

Lastly if you stay here, unless you want to cab it everwhere or don't mind a fair walk to the bus stop a car is a must!

Room Tip: Def choose a suite over a standard room if you can. Also seaview (naturally) trumps car lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in the Portofino at the start of our 3 week trip through the southwest. As we had booked through Priceline, we got a decent rate for the hotel.

Rooms are nice and large with a maritime theme. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn't eat at any of the hotel's restaurants - Redondo Beach has many alternatives nearby.

As for visiting LA, Redondo Beach seems a good alternative to staying directly in LA - it's a 30 minute drive to Hollywood, or to some of the outlet malls. Very near to the airport as well (9 miles I think), so convenient if you arrive or fly out from LAX - no airport noise.

My only gripe with the Portofino (and some other 4 star hotels along the way) is the habit to charge extra for everything: parking is 20+ dollars per night, internet access another 12 dollars per day. You get all of this for free in the cheaper motels (most of which are decent too). The Portofino has a great location and really nice rooms, but you have to decide whether that's worth the extra costs for parking and internet.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive comments! We are pleased that you enjoyed our proximity to Los Angeles. We are a great alternative to staying so close to Hollywood. We do offer a parking & Wi-Fi package on our website. It is a great discount as well as a nice value to our guests. Please visit us again soon! Have a great summer.

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Nice older hotel - right on the water - with nautical theme. A bit difficult to find good restaurants in the neighborhood. Hotel restaurant - despite the claim to have a seafood emphasis - had almost no seafood on menu. Well-prepared California bistro food. Rooms very nice; especially looking over water (and seals). Can bicycle (initially over some OK roads) to beach and then for miles - very nice!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
James, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed the nautical theme rooms and ocean views! I apologize that you though our hotel was a little out of the way. Our private peninsula is something that draws most guests to our property. The slight exclusion provides an oasis from the hustle and bustle of the city. We hope that you can join us again soon. We look forward to serving you again!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the first time to celebrate our anniversary. It was my first time to visit Redondo Beach, and found this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews. We booked the ocean Jacuzzi room directly on the hotel website and got a discounted rate with advance purchase.

Upon arrival to the hotel, we were promptly greeted by the valet who kindly assisted us in unloading our belongings. Check-in process was smooth.

Since we booked the Jacuzzi room, we were located on the first floor. Although we could not see the entire ocean view over the breaker wall, we did enjoy the beautiful sunsets. The only thing I didn’t like was that on the balcony there was only a partition on one side- wish it were on both sides. I preferred a little privacy while lounging outside, and didn’t feel comfortable when our (loud) neighbors came out same time.

The room had a stocked mini bar, which we didn’t use. There was also a small refrigerator, which we didn’t use because it was zip-tied. It would’ve been nice if we could’ve used it to keep our water cold. The shower had full-size toiletries, which was great! There were no storage drawers for our clothes, so we never unpacked our luggage.

One amenity we really enjoyed was the complimentary bikes. Make sure to ask for a bike lock in case you decide to stop somewhere. We followed the bike path along the road toward the Strand at Hermosa Beach and had a really nice breakfast at Scotty’s. Then we headed to the Redondo Pier and hung out on the boardwalk.

We ordered dinner from on-site Baleen restaurant via room service and food was good. Also note that there are plenty of restaurants near the hotel that are within walking distance. If you happen to bring the kids along, there is a small water park called Seaside Lagoon that is located near the hotel. If we bring our little ones on our next visit to the area, we would definitely like to take them there.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for the extensive comments and informative review! We are pleased that you enjoyed biking around the pier and stand. We will take note of the mini fridge zip tie and use your comments to evaluate our hotel amenities. We look forward to you returning with your children. Seaside Lagoon recently went through a total renovation. We know that your family will have a wonderful time there. Thank you again for your feedback. Have a great summer.

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My family of 6 has just returned from 10 nights at the Portofino Hotel and we had a fantastic time. I travelled with my husband and 4 children (15, 18, 20 and 21). On arrival my husband and I were given an immediate upgrade to an ocean view room which was a lovely addition, and the children had adjoining rooms with a harbour view which were also very nice. Our rooms were situated on the ground floor but we had no problems with noise. However, when the balcony doors are open in the ocean view room you can hear some noise from your neighbours - the sea lions!!! Personally I found this to be a nice touch!
The hotel is in a great position, situated between Redondo Beach and Hermosa Beach. We spent time at both however we preferred Hermosa Beach. The hotel was secluded enough in the marina to ensure no traffic noise, etc, however with only a minute’s drive we were on a main street filled with restaurants and supermarkets.
The hotel is beautiful and immaculately clean, and the staff members were extremely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the complimentary use of bicycles every day, mainly to cycle along the beach front – however there were multiple bicycle lanes allowing us to travel along the streets also. We also received an immediate discount for parking in the hotel’s car park due to our long stay, which was a great saving. We visited the Baleen restaurant for dinner one evening, which was very nice, however a bit more expensive than the local restaurants. We also visited the neighbouring Cheesecake Factory and drove to a nearby shopping mall which included several restaurants.
We also made use of LA Boat Rentals, situated at the side of the hotel, to rent jet-skis to ride through the marina and out into the ocean. The experience was very thrilling and I would highly recommend it!
We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing stay at Portofino and are missing it already!

Room Tip: Ocean view room beautiful, however harbour view rooms also very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Ruth, thank you so much for your extensive review of the hotel and area. We are very pleased that your family was able to experience an upgrade! The seals and neighboring beaches are wonderful additions to the property. LA Boat Rentals is also a fun plus to staying near the water. We are so happy that your family had a great time. Please visit us again soon,

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is as close the the ocean as you can get in the South Bay. The ocean side rooms overlook the breakwater and have a beautiful sunset view. With your hotel room door open, you get the nice ocean breeze and the seals barking in the distance. This is definitely a very a solid harbor hotel experience.

My only complaints would be (and these are minor): Check-in was delayed due to Weddings (not to travelers in the wedding seasons), Pool is a bit small (but you don't go to this type of hotel for a grand pool experience), and shower seemed to put out a ridiculous amount of water filling the tub a bit.

Room Tip: If you want the real ocean experience, fork out a bit more for the ocean side room. The "marin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portofino Hotel & Marina is located on a private peninsula, Redondo beach’s only waterfront hotel. A rich tapestry of panoramic views greets you, with the harbor, the Pacific Ocean and Catalina Island. The hotel lies just six miles south of Los Angeles International Airport, a short stroll to shops and restaurants of Redondo Beach. We offer our guests an authentic Socal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer “endlessly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.