We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Romantic Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Portofino Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast for 2 included
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Redondo Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Romantic Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed in May for our anniversary. The hotel is nicely situated at the marina. Check in was efficient, they upgraded us to a ocean view for a price, for which we paid. Room was clean, lay out was quaint and had a nautical theme. We had champagne and chocolate strawberries waiting for us in the room. Nice touch! We enjoyed our balcony with views of the water, sea lions, and beaches. I love the use of the bicycles. Baleen restaurant across the way was delicious. Bathrooms were nice with all the amenities you need, including a coffee maker. I loved the plush bath robes, made the jacuzzi experience comfortable. The only cons I would mentioned, maybe it was my room, but the bed was sloping towards the middle and my husband and I didn't get a good nights sleep. And I wished they had a little coffee table instead of an ottoman. Older hotel, but the ambiance was calm and inviting. Had some charm and sophistication.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for the kind thoughts as well as the beneficial feedback. We are thrilled when couples are able to experience a romantic weekend away. The bicycles are a charming touch to a couple’s weekend. We appreciate your observations about the beds and use all of the guest comments to improve the hotel. We look forward to serving you again.

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    239
    100
    51
    37
See reviews for
156
274
35
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Midland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is a great little hotel on the water. By on the water I mean behind a jetty and only the upper level rooms on the ocean side can see the ocean. It is debatable as to whether it is worth the extra expense of paying up for those rooms unless you really want to see the sunset. This place is at a marina which is between the hotel and the street. The rooms are comfortable and neat but small in comparison to most unless you get the up scale rooms. Linens are fresh and the place is clean. The service is normally really great. I have stayed five different times. The location is near the strand and the hotel provides free bicycles to go to the beach with but the bikes are very popular on weekends and are normally given out. The restaurant is very nice and the bar is quiet as well as the hotel due to its location. Mostly you only hear the sea lions barking during the day. Nighttime is very quiet normally. This is not normally a young hangout or youth scene place but groups can alter that a bit. Location has to work for you as it can be a bit of a trip to the freeway or you can easily get up to LAX on PCH. The foliage is well kept and abundant flowers make it a picturesque place to stay on the marina side. The balconies are very small and almost not usable on the ocean side. The hotel is older and does have some flaws such as only one rather slow small elevator. I love the place but the location has to work for you and you have to remember you are in a beach community with lots of younger people and limited good resturants available. There is a Cheesecake Factory and a Nice Fish place within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for the great information and observations about our hotel. We are thrilled that you have been able to stay with us five times! Your loyalty is appreciated as well as your comments. We are happy that you enjoy staying at the hotel and using our bikes. They are a great addition to sightseeing! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Have a great summer!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband and I spend two night here and we had a nice relaxing weekend. We brought our own bikes, although they had beach cruisers for you to borrow. Everyone was nice and friendly. Rooms are bit outdated but clean and comfy. Location is very nice with ocean on one site and marina on the other so it doesn't matter which side room you get. Tons to do within walking distance but we liked riding our bikes up to Manhattan Beach for dinner and walking around. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant and it was very good. The only disappointment was the pool and spa - too small.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
We are thrilled that you had a relaxing weekend at our hotel. We appreciate your comments about that pool and spa. Guest’s feedback is important for creating an inviting experience for all of our visitors. Please come again soon, we look forward to serving you again.

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Staying at the Portofino was a wonderful experience. Lovely rooms and view too!
The staff was very nice and rooms are clean. Great area of Redondo Beach to enjoy the beach and local attractions.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are pleased that your experience was lovely. Have a great summer!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
260 Portofino Way | Redondo Beach, CA 90277
310-798-5875 aholyoak@hotelportofino.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This had been booked as a stopover, but it was so beautiful I wish I could have stayed longer. The room was spacious with a good size lounge area, overlooking the superb views of the marina. The Lobby Lounge was elegant and inviting, and a wonderful place to relax whilst watching the sun gently glistening over the waterfront. The courtesy bikes are ideal, especially to take a leisurely ride along the Strand bikeway, which I loved. The staff were courteous, friendly and very helpful.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Your nice comments are well received. Thank you for the feedback.We are happy you were able to experience the beach cruiser bikes in a short amount of time. They are a wonderful addition to the hotel. We are very proud of our elegant lounge and appreciate your kind words. We hope that you are able to visit us again one day.

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
260 Portofino Way | Redondo Beach, CA 90277
310-798-5875 aholyoak@hotelportofino.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Dirty rooms, luke warm showers, and the linens smell of sweat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for bringing this information to our attention. The overall cleanliness is very important to us and our hotel. Our goal is always to keep rooms in perfect condition. Your comments have been helpful. Thank you!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
260 Portofino Way | Redondo Beach, CA 90277
310-798-5875 aholyoak@hotelportofino.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

Amazing staff amazing rooms amazing views amazing food amazing cocktails!! Love this place can't wait to go back. you will need a car but they have parking/valet at $24 a night. Not too bad.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneliseHolyoak, Public Relations Manager at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Many thanks for the great comments and feedback. We are thrilled you liked the cocktails and ocean views. Please come again soon!

Annelise Holyoak
The Portofino Hotel & Marina
260 Portofino Way | Redondo Beach, CA 90277
310-798-5875 aholyoak@hotelportofino.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina

Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathe in the sea and all that Redondo Beach offers. Offer guests an authentic SoCal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer”, endlessly. Welcome to The Portofino Hotel & Marina in Redondo Beach at King Harbor, a haven for business and leisure travelers alike. The Portofino boasts breathtaking scenes from sunsets and sailboats to dolphins and pelicans and is framed in the floor-to-ceiling windows and private balconies within this beautiful Redondo Beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Portofino Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.