We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Room 5094” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 N Harbor Drive, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2552   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Avoid Room 5094”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Avoid Room 5094 - the exhaust fan for the hotel is right above this room, and turns on between 11pm to 4am, vibrating the room and bed.

The hotel knows about this, as they give you ear plugs in this room.

Don't valet, save the $5 and walk 50 feet. Breakfast buffet is $21 - a bit steep for not a lot of variety.

Otherwise, the hotel is just getting tired.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPREDONDO, Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach.
We have forwarded the exhuast noise level concerns to our team of engineers and feel confident the issue will be rectified. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    302
    171
    64
    32
See reviews for
187
238
53
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

The Crowne Plaza did meet my expectations. While the rooms are getting a tad worn, the bed was good, and they had things like a mini fridge, safe, as well as some artwork to make things more interesting. They did have a bistro, but it was so expensive, that I decided to try something else, which was well worth it. They also had a pool and jacuzzi, and spa. You could also rent bikes at the hotel, and they gave me a 4 hour rental for free for staying at the hotel. They also had a great view of the ocean. And the room always was silent, 24/7. The final thing that sold me on this hotel was the free pass to gold's gym while I was visiting. Honestly, this hotel might have been worth double of the $60 fare I spent, I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPREDONDO, Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit here at the Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed for several days at this hotel and have mixed feelings. The lobby is very nice and gives you an impression of a luxorious hotel. Our room and bathroom was however, very average and outdated - nothing special. We got an more expensive room so we would have an ocean view. Our balcony was super small and first thing we saw was a huge, concrete roof, than the street, than some buidings and trees, and them piece of the ocean - barely visible. I was very siappointed and thought that this "ocean view room", which was qyite expensive, was a rip off.
Front desk wan nice and there is a very nice spa within the hotel except that they cancelled two of my appointments and forgot one all togethere - super frustrating. Once I finally made it ther eit was nice though. breakfast in the hotel restaurant is $24, which I think is way over priced! We had valet parking for $26 a day - an outrages price. the first night there they left the lights on and drained our car and then said that it wasn't their repsonsibility. We had to involve the hotel manager for this to be fixed and he indeed made them jumpstart our car and charge our battery.
As you see, many descrepancies there. Ok hotel but with a lot of problems.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPREDONDO, Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
Thank you for your reviewing your stay here with us at the Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach. As part of our brands sleep advantage program, the Crowne Plaza chain offers
different sleeping amenities including: lavender spray, ear plugs, eye masks and drape clips. We also have nice comfy beds, guaranteed wake up calls, and a designated quiet zone for the weary traveler. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

This is a typical basic convention type hotel. It is not a luxury hotel; no marble floors, no pillow top mattresses, and no frills. The rooms are a little worn. Our room had small rust spots in the sink and bathtub, the retractable clothes line was missing, and the wallpaper had some small blemishes. The carpet was in good shape and the bed was neither comfortable nor uncomfortable. We didn’t hear our neighbors unless they ran the water or were in the hallway. The hallway noise came right in. Also, the door to the housekeeping area was left open spreading the smell of Pinesol through the hallway and the carpet was dirty under the bed skirts.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. When you name your own price on Priceline, you get whatever room is available. You can call the hotel and state your preferences but that does not change your reservation and you are only guaranteed a room. For example, we were booked into a smoking room. I had called to request a non-smoking room with in king bed in a quiet location with a water view. When we arrived, all rooms that met my criteria were sold out. They could accommodate the non-smoking and quiet location but they gave us the choice of a king bed or a water view. We choose the water view with two double beds which suited us just fine. The view was very nice. The pool and jacuzzi are also nice.

The location is excellent. Just across the street on the pier is Polly’s. We shared the combination fish platter and a salad, yummy. Then we walked one block south to the boardwalk. With three fish markets, a bevy of bars, restaurants, shops and an amusement area, this is a happening place on the weekend. We had dinner at Maison Riz, a French Japanese restaurant with a good atmosphere and good food if not a little pricey. If you arrive before 7PM, they have drink and half price appetizer specials at the bar.

To the north is a bike path along the beach that goes through the beach towns all the way to Santa Monica. The bike rentals at the hotel were the most economical. We rented half day for $15. The bikes were easy to ride and the beaches are beautiful. There are many restaurants along the beach in Hermosa Beach and on the main arteries along the way to Manhattan Beach.

There is a Whole Foods market in a shopping center at the corner of Beryl and N. Sepulveda Blvd. (Highway 1), a short walk from the hotel.

Parking at the hotel is $22 for self parking or $26 for valet parking per day. However, if you don’t mind walking a few blocks, you can park in the neighborhood for free. There is also a bike rental across the street where you can park if you rent bikes there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPREDONDO, Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
The Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach is a perfect destination for meetings, conventions, family and leisure travel. We have created a resort atmosphere and are just steps away from the Redondo Beach Pier where there are plenty of fine restaurants. Our newly renovated pool deck offers a fantastic view of the sunset as well as the Pacific Ocean.
We look forward to your next visit. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

I think the star rating of the Crowne Plaza should come down a bit. The room itself is looking a little tired for a 3.5 star rating. Overall all though, it was fine - clean, good location, and my husband had an incredible sleep on the Tempur springless mattress. We booked through Priceline and got the room for $55 but then with taxes and whatnot it came to $70. Then we had to pay $22 to park our rental car there for one night. So what started out as a really good deal, quickly added up. I think next time, i would just stay at the Best Western next door. The best thing about the Crowne was the location - right across the street from the beach and my favorite, the Cheesecake Factory!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPREDONDO, Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay here with us at the Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach. The Crowne Plaza chain promotes a great nights sleep with our Sleep Advantage program, which offers comfortable new beds, sleep amenities and a gauranteed wake up call. Again, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Redondo Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

I just spent one night at this hotel, prepaid. I provided a debit card as security for incidentals. The only charge was for $22 for one nights parking. The put a $200 hold on my card for 5-7 business days which equalls 7-10 days. After much protest to no avail, I have written IHC, the owner to complain.

I understand a hold, but once checked out and the charges debited, the balance should be released immediately.

Also, after being assigned a room that stunk badly from tobacco smoke, I called the front desk requesting a different room. I was told the hotel was sold out and they could only send a maid to spray the room, which they did. Once the maid came in, she saw a stain in the carpet larger than a basketball, and she said she had reported this huge stain 2 days earlier, and there were several other small stains in the carpet. She called the front desk and got us a different room. We learned from her that the hotel was about 40% occupied. That told me the front desk staff does not tell the truth and does not care about your experience.

A little inconvinence was the hotel provides a coffee maker, but they only provided 1 paper coffee cup, and no creamer or sweetner.

This property is tired, in need of a face lift, and terribly expensive parking for the region and the wifi is very expensive and charged by the hour.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPREDONDO, Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Thank you for staying with us here at the Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach. Our hotels debit policy should release any withstanding authorizations within 72 business day hours upon check out. Wireless internet is available complimentary to all Priority Club members, or can be purchased for a small fee of $9.95 for a 24 hour use. We value your patronage and feedback and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

I was a little worried after reading the reviews for this property, but upon arrival was very pleasantly surprised! The lobby is gorgeous, and the room was spacious and comfortable. We walked across the street, had a wonderful meal at the Cheesecake Factory, and walked back ...just a wonderful atmosphere!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPREDONDO, Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay here at the Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Los Angeles area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina

Address: 300 N Harbor Drive, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2552
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California coastal hotels that blend thoughtful amenities, soothing lodging, and a lively location come no better than Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach Hotel. The leader of LAX & South Bay area hotels, we are a short 7 miles from the airport and within convenient business distance to El Segundo, Torrance, Manhattan Beach and Gardena. Walk only a block to exciting Southern California attractions like white sand beaches, energetic surfing, boat rental, dining and entertainment. After a fun day, our Redondo Beach hotels onsite European Day Spa is the perfect way to relax, maybe spend a tranquil evening by our pool overlooking the Pacific Ocean, or you can head over to Gold's Gym, free 24 hours a day. Then, treat yourself to a meal at award-winning Splash Mediterranean Bistro. Unwind as you retire to the most inviting rooms among hotels near LAX & the South Bay, featuring the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage. Providing the finest banquet facility in Southern California, Crowne Plaza is your best choice for unforgettable Redondo Beach events and weddings. 25,000 sq. ft. of elegant space, 19 venues, and unrivaled catering put the winning stamp on any event. With attractions for leisure and a location for business, it's the ultimate California coastal or beach getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach And Marina
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina Hotel Redondo Beach
Redondo Beach Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Redondo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.