We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a beach hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 N Harbor Drive, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2552   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not a beach hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Ok so the hotel days redondo beach hotel! No beach people you have to walk a ways up get to the beach so if you think this is on the beach long we did don't choose this hotel. Other than that the rooms are nice but front desk workers not so much!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I will be following up regarding the front desk service, as we want all guests to have a great experience.
Hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    324
    180
    65
    33
See reviews for
195
256
55
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TravelMad1983
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights before heading up the PAcific Coast Highway. Hotel has recently been remodelled and rooms are really large, well decorated and clean. Pool area is okay, used by people from the gym next door as well as the hotel guests. Only one umbrella for shade for the whole area. You can walk to the pier but there isn't a great deal to do in Redondo Beach. Good meal at Tony's on the pier. Lots of airline crew use this hotel as it is close to LAX.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Regarding the umbrellas, we are adding new pool furniture by the end of June including more umbrellas, so on your next visit it will be great! There are also major plans to redevelop the Redondo Pier area, which will result in a fantastic experience for visitiors to the area. Stay tuned for further details!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding in April. We requested a king sized bed online however when we got to our room that had two double beds. This was not told to us at the time of check in and when we called the front desk we were told that the hotel was sold out but that they would move us the next day. Unfortunately, the tub in our room also did not drain.
Although the front desk was extremely accomodating in having our room changed, having our bags held until our room was available was a hassle as the bellman behaved as I was a nuisance and said there was "nowhere to put my bags" but eventually put my bags in the back room. When we returned to retrieve our bags, we had to wait for 10 minutes because the bellman were socializing in the luggage room.
Our second night we were then awoken by a call at 145 in the morning from the front desk stating that pepper spray had been released on our floor and that we had the option to come to the lobby but lock our door. When I called back several minutes later, the front desk agent could not give me proper instructions. We were awaken at 3am when firefighters came to our floor. When I called to speak to the manager the next morning, it was not until I complained repeatedly that we were given compensation for our second night's stay.
I think that the hotel staff need to educated on hospitality as it is non-existent at this hotel. On a positive note, the location is superb and the room decor is quite nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments, and so sorry that we did not provide the service you should have received. I apologize that we were not able to give you a king bed and also for the problem with the drain. Rest assured that I will be following up regarding your comment about the bell desk as well. Unfortunately the pepper spray incident was related to another guest, and it did affect several other guests including yourself. That has never happened before and again I am glad we offered you compensation.
I do hope that you will give us another chance to be of service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel is beautiful and favorably priced for its quality. They are fresh off a complete renovation in January 2013 and it shows. We had a king bed that fantastically comfortable. The room was spacious and spotless. The staff was extremely courteous and offered prompt and effective service.
We attended a wedding reception during our stay and the food was delicious. The brunch on Sunday morning was also delicious with made to order omelets and waffles plus tasty fresh fruit.
The location is perfect, close to the harbor and the redondo pier and all the good restaurants. They have bike rentals on site and the bikes were comfortable and affordable compared to other local bike rental places. If you have the opportunity, take a bike on the Marvin Braude Bike trail, which stretches from south of Redondo Beach all the way past Santa Monica. It is a beautiful ride all along the coast.
Stay at this hotel and you will NOT be disappointed!

Room Tip: Almost every room has at least partial ocean view. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

From the outside it looks slightly run down, however inside is very nice... Rooms are updated. Clean and the beds were comfortable... Staff were all nice.. Stay was very pleasant overall...

Pool was nice located on the second floor room section...

Parking for overnight is 28 and 23 if you are a registered guest. Found this to be slightly higher than average for the area all things considered.

Didn't eat any food at the hotel, walked along to the Boardwalk for some great sea food instead. Well worth the walk.

Room Tip: For a quite room, request inside courtyard vs street side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malvern uk
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great staff, well maintained hotel, parking right next door, great pier just down the road.
This hotel excels itself, in fact I would say its better than the awful intercontinental in LA, it's premier brand. The staff are caring and attentive, and its quiet, and peaceful, good location for the pacific highway. First class

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Beds excellent, cleaning great, gym amazing, view of marina beautiful. Food good, people nice. As for the Spa within the Crowne Plaza. We charged the spa to our room, first mistake. They over charged us by $120US! We had to deal directly with them to rectify the issue. The manager of the spa knowingly overcharged thinking we were checking out the next morning and wouldn't be able to rectify the issue. After an hour of hassle, the situation was fixed and we were offered free massages by the most senior therapist. We refused as we now felt uncomfortable with their service. Even though I say the situation was rectified, we have not seen the credit back on our card yet (we paid cash for the service minus $120 over charge). If you chose to use the spa, please pay cash to avoid this hassle. Kim, the most senior therapist is excellent and does great massages according to my husband who had her.

Room Tip: Excellent hotel in great location. Newly renovated Jan 2013. Try to get marina view if you can. A vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina

Address: 300 N Harbor Drive, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2552
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California coastal hotels that blend thoughtful amenities, soothing lodging, and a lively location come no better than Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach Hotel. The leader of LAX & South Bay area hotels, we are a short 7 miles from the airport and within convenient business distance to El Segundo, Torrance, Manhattan Beach and Gardena. Walk only a block to exciting Southern California attractions like white sand beaches, energetic surfing, boat rental, dining and entertainment. After a fun day, our Redondo Beach hotels onsite European Day Spa is the perfect way to relax, maybe spend a tranquil evening by our pool overlooking the Pacific Ocean, or you can head over to Gold's Gym, free 24 hours a day. Then, treat yourself to a meal at award-winning Splash Mediterranean Bistro. Unwind as you retire to the most inviting rooms among hotels near LAX & the South Bay, featuring the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage. Providing the finest banquet facility in Southern California, Crowne Plaza is your best choice for unforgettable Redondo Beach events and weddings. 25,000 sq. ft. of elegant space, 19 venues, and unrivaled catering put the winning stamp on any event. With attractions for leisure and a location for business, it's the ultimate California coastal or beach getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach And Marina
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina Hotel Redondo Beach
Redondo Beach Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Redondo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.