We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 N Harbor Drive, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2552   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quiet and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This area of California wasn't entirely what I was expecting. The Crowne, however, lived up to expectations. I loved that the rooms opened onto a balcony, the amenities were clean, we had use of pool, spa, and tennis court (all of which we used). We also enjoyed meeting the locals at the spa as the Gym underneath shares facilities with the hotel. It's a very quiet area though, certainly after the hustle and bustle of Anaheim. We had a gorgeous dinner in the restaurant one night, the waiter couldn't have been more helpful. As expected, meals were a little expensive. Great to have the free shuttle to and from the Malls. Overall a relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the ocean is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! I will certainly share your comment regarding the great dinner you had with our Director of Food & Beverage. We are a quiet area, that is something that makes it a great getaway from the ordinary.
Hope you will come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    302
    171
    64
    32
See reviews for
187
236
53
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Good value if you book through Priceline but almost $30 a day parking too expensive. Spacious room but wish there would have been two comfortable chairs to sit in to watch tv. Biggest complaint was even though it had a flat screen tv, the picture was horrible on all channels; very dark and no adjustment. Also very limited channels.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments and it seems that you were happy with your stay overall. Regarding the television, I agree with you that the picture quality could be better; we are planning to switch to a new provider after we finish our renovation in January. This wil give a true high definition picture as well as an improved channel selection for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Service wasn't very good. Long check in time. Poorly organized. Bellboy and valet service is slow. Did not provide Maid service one day. Breakfast was mediocre. Quiet. Harbor and restaurants nearby. Room keycards work well.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
I am sorry that you did not have a very good experience during your stay with us. I do hope that you will return again and have a better service experience. I will share your comments with our management staff so that we can improve in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights from november 6th after a cruise just to wind down and have a look at los angeles.There is refurbishment work being carried out presently, but this did not have any affect on our vacation, we found this hotel in perfect area for the beach in one direction or the marina in the other.Rendondo beach is a really quite area of los angeles making crossing roads so easy as i have a walking problem and can not move very quickly and is well kept around the marina and the fantastic pier area.I noticed the beach was raked by a tractor in the mornings as well,the hotel is not a huge high rise as there are building hight restrictions in the area but is a good base about 1/4 of an hour from lax airport but no noise,there is good spa where my mother in law had treatment and a swimming pool and terrace.There is minimal view of the power station some have moaned about with a hotel & large brick wall with murals painted on it obscuring it.We booked a trip to see the sights of los Angeles which we really enjoyed and is worth the time.we ate breakfast in the hotel but at night ate in the cheescake factory a short walk away,there is also an excellent cafe on the end of the pier where we sampled the local fish & chips.The hotel had a confrence everynight of our stay but this was no inconvience at all,overall it is a good hotel in a fantastic location and i would not hesitate to stay here again due to the great location.The room was great with all the usual facilities & tv you did not have to pay for to watch normal chanels, when the refurbishment is finished this will make the rooms even better so give it a try.

Room Tip: Try and book a room with a marina or sea view,the third floor is undergoing refubishment so ask abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, OR
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights. They did have construction going on and was quite noisy during the day. They were very understanding and gave me free breakfast and found me a quieter room. The staff was very professional and really made the stay enjoyable. If you have a car parking is a bit pricey. It is $23 for self park and $27 for valet. There was street parking a few blocks away if you are willing to walk. Make sure to watch for signs for street sweeping days. It varies by street. The room has 2 full beds, no queens. It was very nice sized. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Booked before reading the reviews. Once i realized they were undergoing construction i called all worried and asked if they could put my husband and i in one of their ocean front rooms and away from any possible noise (its our anniversary). The gentlemen on the phone said he was unable to make that change (even though those rooms are available) because i had made the reservation via a 3rd party site. I thought everyone made reservations like that now days, i wouldn't have known to go to this particular hotel otherwise. Anyway, customer service could have been a little bit more accommodating, my rez is on Saturday and Im just hoping for the best.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Newly renovated rooms, priority club 4 hr bike rental, breakfast and great marina view. A little expensive but worth it. Golds gym complimentary! Nice staff huge lobby, nice pool and hut tub. We stayed in twin bed room and it was on 4 th floor. Lots of fun on boardwalk. Also great no 2 golf course 10 miles away Los Ceros public course. Beautiful ocean course , little windy.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments, glad that you could get in a round of golf while here!
Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina

Address: 300 N Harbor Drive, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2552
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California coastal hotels that blend thoughtful amenities, soothing lodging, and a lively location come no better than Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach Hotel. The leader of LAX & South Bay area hotels, we are a short 7 miles from the airport and within convenient business distance to El Segundo, Torrance, Manhattan Beach and Gardena. Walk only a block to exciting Southern California attractions like white sand beaches, energetic surfing, boat rental, dining and entertainment. After a fun day, our Redondo Beach hotels onsite European Day Spa is the perfect way to relax, maybe spend a tranquil evening by our pool overlooking the Pacific Ocean, or you can head over to Gold's Gym, free 24 hours a day. Then, treat yourself to a meal at award-winning Splash Mediterranean Bistro. Unwind as you retire to the most inviting rooms among hotels near LAX & the South Bay, featuring the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage. Providing the finest banquet facility in Southern California, Crowne Plaza is your best choice for unforgettable Redondo Beach events and weddings. 25,000 sq. ft. of elegant space, 19 venues, and unrivaled catering put the winning stamp on any event. With attractions for leisure and a location for business, it's the ultimate California coastal or beach getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach And Marina
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina Hotel Redondo Beach
Redondo Beach Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Redondo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.