We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Request non-smoking in advance” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 N Harbor Drive, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2552   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Redondo Beach
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
“Request non-smoking in advance”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

They have smoking rooms. If you want non-smoking, request it in advance. I came here pregnant and with my infant daughter, and they couldn't give me a non-smoking room. Really disappointing. After almost an hour if negotiating, they gave us free parking. Still, won't ever stay here again. Really disappointing experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
My sincere apologies for the fact that you were not given a non-smoking room. As part of our renovation project, we will be converting the hotel to 100% non-smoking, so I can assure you that you will not ever face this problem in the future. As a non-smoker myself, I certainly can identify with your concern and for your daughter as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    259
    159
    58
    31
See reviews for
162
215
48
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

When I booked my room it was suppose to be a 3.5 star hotel. Not quite. The hotel is not terrible by any means, but dated to say the least. I have a non-smoking room, but I can smell smoke, and it made it harder to get to sleep.

The hotel does have a free shuttle to the two local malls which is nice. I was also able to check in early and check out late the next day. Nice rooftop pool. No complimentary breakfast was a minus, and the restaurant breakfast prices are quite high.

Not terrible for the price, but I'll take my chances somewhere else next time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Clinton N,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am pleased you liked our rooftop pool and shuttle service. I'm sorry your stay was negatively affected by the condition of the room.The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed in a king room with a water view. Our view was of the mariner, the pool and the inlet. The rooms are as you would expect for this type of hotel. The room is large, clean and the beds are comfy. The 5th floor is being remodeled, but we were at the opposite end. The club room was not available so the hotel gave coupons for a nightcap and breakfast at the hotel restaurant. You could pay additional $4 for the upgrade to a hot breakfast. We paid the AAA rate that included a break on the parking fee. $23-$27. The price for breakfast was $18 for cold/$22 for hot. The hotel does not allow guests to borrow carts for luggage. The bellhop is your only option. We tipped him $1/bag, but I got the feeling that wasn't enough as he wouldn't acknowledge us for the rest of our stay. This hotel also charges $14/day for internet. The pool and hot tub on the 2nd floor roof was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Upgrading their rooms and they should look nice soon.
Parking is expensive. $23 per day.
Breakfast not included.
Wifi is free if you sign up for rewards program. Otherwise it $10.
Pool is nice with great view. Saltwater conditioned, no chlorine.
Free gym pass to nice gym right next door (Gold's I think)
Clean, smells like carpet shampoo.
Business center with printer access.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ocean side. Nice view and nice breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in a full front ocean view room. View was very nice. Room was very clean with a comfortable king size bed. There is a free breakfast for club members which was ok, nothing to write home about. Front desk staff were excellent and very accommodating and gave us an extended time to check out at no extra charge as we were flying out late in the evening to Australia. They had started renovations which did not interfere with our stay. Was a bit pricey, but worth it for the location for us and close to the airport. They do not have a shuttle bus to the airport. There are plenty of cabs available out the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. Glad you were pleased overal and I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights here for the wedding near by. Staffs were very friendly. Very conveniently located (5min to Redondo pier). Out door pool (water was a bit cold when we were there) was nice. Room is dated but they are currently under renovation. Daily Parking fee is separate @$24. Overall we had a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. We will check on the pool temperature as you mentioned it was a bit cold. We are excited about our guest room renovation which will be completed by January 10th next year. Our first batch of new rooms is scheduled to be turned over to us at the end of this week, so hopefully you can stay in the new room when you come back to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for two nights last week. The hotel was easy to find and has a beautiful view of the marina. The lobby is nice and has a beautiful fish tank. The front desk staff were very friendly and made check in/out seamless. The rooms seemed to be outdated. The tv and cable system seemed very old. The bathrooms were nice but didn't get much airflow due to a small overhead air condition unit in the main living area. The room was clean and had comfy beds. There are smoking rooms at the hotel which does result in a smoking smell in the hallway which may bother people. Breakfast was fantastic but was very expensive almost to the point of unreasonable. Great location relative to things to do if you like walking on the boardwalk. Did notice that rennovations were being done while I was there which is exciting. Good overall experience and would like to return especially if rennovations go as planned.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments, which were positive overall. All of the issues you mentioned--televisions, cable system, and smoking rooms--will be corrected during the current renovation. I am confident that your next visit will allow you to stay in our new rooms and you will be thrilled with your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina

Address: 300 N Harbor Drive, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2552
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California coastal hotels that blend thoughtful amenities, soothing lodging, and a lively location come no better than Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach Hotel. The leader of LAX & South Bay area hotels, we are a short 7 miles from the airport and within convenient business distance to El Segundo, Torrance, Manhattan Beach and Gardena. Walk only a block to exciting Southern California attractions like white sand beaches, energetic surfing, boat rental, dining and entertainment. After a fun day, our Redondo Beach hotels onsite European Day Spa is the perfect way to relax, maybe spend a tranquil evening by our pool overlooking the Pacific Ocean, or you can head over to Gold's Gym, free 24 hours a day. Then, treat yourself to a meal at award-winning Splash Mediterranean Bistro. Unwind as you retire to the most inviting rooms among hotels near LAX & the South Bay, featuring the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage. Providing the finest banquet facility in Southern California, Crowne Plaza is your best choice for unforgettable Redondo Beach events and weddings. 25,000 sq. ft. of elegant space, 19 venues, and unrivaled catering put the winning stamp on any event. With attractions for leisure and a location for business, it's the ultimate California coastal or beach getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina Hotel Redondo Beach
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach And Marina
Redondo Beach Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Redondo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.