We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach

Save Saved
You added Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 North Harbor Drive, Redondo Beach, CA 90277   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Redondo Beach
2 reviews
“Terrific staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just got back home from traveling up and down the coast of California on spring break. The Best Western sunrise hotel was the most memorable stay we experienced. From check in to check out, this hotel made us feel at home. Front desk staff was very hospitable, Jennifer, Joanna and Don were extremely helpful with restaurant recommendation and directions. Housekeeping staff were very friendly and thoughtful by leaving extra towels in our room after noticing our kids enjoyed using the pool daily. We will be back next year, hopefully after renovations are completed.

Room Tip: Ask for marina view room on third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    183
    55
    25
    14
See reviews for
128
117
26
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Great service, rooms are really nice! I love that everything is walking distance. I would come here again with no doubt. The front desk staff are so nice, and helpful, housekeeping are very polite and nice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Check in was quick. Corridor was musky and smelt of mould. Beds were soft. Air conditioner was old and noisy. Needed air con to cool room down as it heated up even when cold outside. Breskfast area too small for the number of people staying there. Breakfast bar was hard to get to due to number of people. Cook could not keep up with demand. Breakfast at burger king was a better alternative.
House cleaning was ok. WiFi was slow. Bosted about super quick internet but we found it slow and poor reception. Had to go to reception to get reception. We do not recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven d, General Manager at Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing the Best Western Sunrise in Redondo Beach as your key destination during your recent trip. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations on an overall satisfaction level. I am happy to mention that we will be conducting a renovation in the latter part of 2013. I hope that you enjoyed your time in Redondo Beach of what it and its surrounding areas have to offer. I am certain that upon your next visit that you will enjoy your stay. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others and we will definitely be addressing the areas where we came short. We look forward to your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The front desk person Lupe was extremely helpful and friendly. He made our stay very pleasant. The breakfast is nice. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. The hotel is very close to the Redondo Pier which is a great place for the entire family to visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We spent 6 nights with our grandkids at the BW Sunrise Hotel. It was a great experience. We wanted a hotel near LA and Long beach and this was the perfect location. It was also walking distance to the Piers and several Restaurants. The staff were all friendly and helpful including the Front desk, housekeeping and the maintenance man. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The grandkids enjoyed some time in the pool and hot tub. The breakfast was great but you may benefit by getting there early. We will definitly return to this hotel next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

from the front help to the cook named on Don our experience was great. Best location closest to the pier don't have to worry about parking. Everybody is very friendly and the breakfast that was free was not too bad.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The staff was very courtious and friendly. The rooms were clean and the houskeeping was excellent. Property was well maintained and parking is very close to the entances for easy access, important to me since I was with my 93 year old mother. Close to beaches and restaurants. I would especially like to thank Don A for all his help with directions and recommondations and always with a smile.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach

Address: 400 North Harbor Drive, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In summer of 2014, The Sunrise Hotel will reopen after having undergone a multi-million dollar renovation. New features will include the addition of balconies on our ocean-facing rooms, a second level outdoor lounge with spectacular marina and ocean views, a sparkling new lobby, and the addition of an expansive portico inspired by the rich architectural history of Redondo Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Redondo Beach
Redondo Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.