We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach

Save Saved
You added Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 North Harbor Drive, Redondo Beach, CA 90277   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Redondo Beach
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Nice Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Surprisingly nice Hotel. Desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and appointed well for a Best Western. We were in town for our son's wedding. Hotel was locared just inside Redondo Beach City limits. Rode our bikes on the Strand in Hermosa Beach and Manhattan Beach, which was a very short bike ride from the hotel.
Desk suggested we keep our bikes in the room overnight, which I felt was very gracious as some hotels frown on bikes in the rooms ( which I really dont't mind. We usually cable our bikes to the car rack ).

Breakfast was your typical Best Western waffles, sausage patties, scrambled eggs and carbo bombs. Coffee was surprisingly good. Afternoon cookies at the coffee station by the front desk was a special welcome treat. Warm cookies and hot coffee on a cold day....Yummy.

We did not use the spa.

If you are contemplatihg a trip to Hermosa Beach, Manhattan Beach, or Redondo Beach and don't want to spend a truck load of cash on fufu hotels, drop by this place. It is short on glitter, long on hospitality.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a "Marina View" on 3rd floor. Sunsest are wow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    166
    51
    23
    14
See reviews for
128
118
26
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Year after year my family and I return to this spot only to be reminded of the fabulous location, service and cozy rooms. It's minutes from fun restaurants, The Redondo Beach Pier and The Strand that hugs the sandy beaches of Southern California for a couple of miles. The Strand is a runners delight winding along the beaches of Redondo, Hermosa, Manhattan and El Segundo.

The Sunrise has never disappointed in terms of our expectations of a Best Western, a modest hotel with a bit of beachy charm. The rooms are decently appointed (plenty of thick bath towels and good toiletries), there's FREE parking (unlike the Crown Plaza across the street) along with a continental breakfast (included with very fare rates). We can usually find apples, cookies, coffee and tea in the afternoon for a quick snack which is a hit with my boys.

They even located a couple of beach toys for us to borrow for an afternoon. The beach cruisers are a nice surprise and reasonably priced albeit a bit rusty, but that just adds to the charm. The staff always smiling and quick to provide help reminds us why we keep returning.

I would definitely recommend The Sunrise in Redondo.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Hotel was well located across from the beach. We walked along Redondo Beach then later up the beach sidewalk to Hermosa Beach and Manhattan Beach. We arrived at 9am off a cruise ship and staff at the hotel were very accomodating by providing us with an early check-in. Rooms and hotel are a bit dated but very clean and very quiet and comfortable. Lots of restaurants within walking distance - go to the Chart House just up the street for a great Happy Hour and to watch the sunset. Conveniently located near LAX but far enough away so aircraft arrivals and departures are not an issue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I just wanted to make mention of the fantastic customer services that I received during my weekend stay at the best western (sunrise). the computers had crashed prior to my arrival and there was no way to track my reservations but that did not stop Ms. Jennifer from providing me with warm hospital service with an amazing smile. She did a beautiful job of taking care of my travel needs. Now even after taking great care to get me checked in, upon my departure she discovered that the reservation was right to begin with but she handle the difference and cleared the rate that I was quoted and professionally executed my departure. I would put my travel care in her hands any time. Thank Jennifer!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel was a great surprise in the LA area.We went with friends and met some California friends. Never stayed at a Best Western Plus before, and we were very happy with it. It is slightly dated, but in excellent condition, great rooms and comfortable beds.The location to the beach is very good. It's across the street from a marina, and some good restaurants. We rented bikes at the hotel, and rode along the beach and boardwalk all the way to Manhattan Beach. A fun ride or walk to see the beach and the pretty beach houses that line it. Lots of restaurants and shops along the Boardwalk.We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed the area. The downside is that it is about an hours' drive on the crowded freeways to get to tourist areas in LA, such as the Getty Center, Rodeo Drive and Hollywood. If this is the main focus of your trip, this would not be a good hotel for you, but we really enjoyed Redondo Beach, and would stay here again to enjoy the beach areas. Thumbs up on this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel through expedia, and stayed in a room on the third floor, facing the back of the hotel (Rm 332). The hotel staff were amazing, including Jennifer who checked us in and out, Angelo who was always there to chat and greet us in the evenings, and Don who helped us find the amazing Joe's Crab Shack.
The pool and hot tub were clean and wonderful (open until 10pm). The hotel was also very clean. Breakfast was great because it was not only free, but offered many options. Our room was clean and the bed was super comfy. Decent TV channel selection. Very clean bathroom, and excellent daily servicing from housekeeping staff.
The Redondo ocean side walk is about 3 minutes across the street, and the main pier is about 5 minutes away. The actually sandy beach is approx. 8 minutes away.
This location is a 5 minute walk away from 2 grocery stores, a subway, mcdonalds and starbucks. We found it very economical to buy food from the store, and put it in our fridge in our room, and use the microwave in the dining room of the hotel.

Overall an excellent experience =)

Room Tip: Stay at the back of the hotel for a more quiet room (the road in front might be noisy?), and there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I came to Redondo to spend a weekend getaway with my wife. Great location close to a lot of great restaurants. We received some of the best customer service that typically you would expect but don't receive from bigger brands. Staff was amazing, Lupe the Front Office Manager ensured we had a great stay and made us feel like we were home. He provided great recommendations and really seemed to enjoy his job. Jennifer and Angelo were also amazing and very friendly. Breakfast was better than expected for a continental. Waffles, eggs, sausage a plus to the normal juice yogurt pastry continental breakfast. I would definately recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach

Address: 400 North Harbor Drive, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In summer of 2014, The Sunrise Hotel will reopen after having undergone a multi-million dollar renovation. New features will include the addition of balconies on our ocean-facing rooms, a second level outdoor lounge with spectacular marina and ocean views, a sparkling new lobby, and the addition of an expansive portico inspired by the rich architectural history of Redondo Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Redondo Beach
Redondo Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.