We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach

Save Saved
You added Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 North Harbor Drive, Redondo Beach, CA 90277   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Redondo Beach
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The reception is very helpful, especially Jennifer is efficent and smart dealing with varies of duties. She worked very hard, sometimes 11 hours a day during the Christmas period.

The breakfast is also good, it is called continental, still provide the eggs and meats, woo..

Thanks a lot!

Room Tip: The room with marine view will be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    166
    51
    23
    14
See reviews for
128
118
26
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We live in Redondo Beach and have had relatives stay here. The results were typically positive. My autistic son turned 17 last week and his one wish was to stay overnight. The lovely registration agent offered their breakfast room to us for a small pizza party that evening. When we arrived the manager, Lupe, could not have been more rude. It was pretty shocking - his first words were: "how long do you plan to be here?". He continued to make us feel embarrassed and unwelcome to be there, even though we were polite and cleaned up like we were never there. The next day we realized my son had left 2 personal items in his room so I called to let them know we'd retrieve them. Lupe promised to check the room and call. He never did. I called back, and he sounded bored and said, No, they weren't found. When I asked if he'd checked with the maid, he said "I can tell you her name!". I didn't ask for her name. The entire experience with him was so bizarre and rude. Despite how lovely Angelo was - Lupe is good reason to stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven d, General Manager at Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience with me regarding the circumstances surrounding your visit to our hotel. We value all feedback whether positive or negative.


I sincerely apologize that you had a negative interaction with one of our managers during your visit. I take full responsibility for the miscommunication with our staff regarding your arrangement for your son’s birthday gathering. How frustrating that must have been for your son, your family and you. We hope to continue to be your number one choice when visiting the Redondo Beach area.

Please call me directly the next time you need accommodations at our hotel so I can personally attend to your reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, California, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had trouble with their computer system,but that didn't affect my stay at all.Have stayed there several times and has always been great.Service is great,rooms are clean,beach and marina location,GREAT.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

the reception was very nice, they always give us very very helpful suggestion about how should we plan our trip, and make it more efficient. Especially the staff number Angelo, he is very friendly, and always help us to plan our next day. living here is a good choice.

Room Tip: the bed is very soft
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Sunrise hotel was a treat for my latest business trip. I stayed in room 315 (two queen beds) on the marina side. My room was very clean. I saw numerous housekeeping staff throughout my stay and they always had a smile. That may seem an odd note, but I had a contrary experience at a higher end, historic hotel the week prior.

The building is a bit noisy and a bit dated though. The street traffic was quite loud in my room and I could easily hear anyone walking down the hallway or talking in adjacent rooms. I didn't mind the outdated decor as others might as everything was very clean and the staff was super helpful and friendly.

Angelo at the front desk set up my business dinner at The Chart House down the street which afforded us a beach-side table, personalized menu welcoming our group, and a free dessert. It was very nicely done!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near 308. There are two loud vending machines right in the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting family for Thanksgiving. On the positive, we had a clean room, comfortable bed, complimentary breakfast, free parking and a great location. On the negative, the decor is stuck in the 80s and very tired and the fitness center is not on par with hotels in this price range. Soundproofing needs to be worked on: we could hear the people in the next room through the common door linking the rooms.

Saw guests walking in with dogs and was told dogs are allowed on the first floor, but our noisy neighbors had one in their room on the second floor.

Will we stay here again? Probably not.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for five days and every single employee was very pleasant and helpful. Walking distance from pier with great restaurants and bars. Breakfast was free which is a nice and easy way to start your day. Tour to LA picks you up at the door and they made reservation for us

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach

Address: 400 North Harbor Drive, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In summer of 2014, The Sunrise Hotel will reopen after having undergone a multi-million dollar renovation. New features will include the addition of balconies on our ocean-facing rooms, a second level outdoor lounge with spectacular marina and ocean views, a sparkling new lobby, and the addition of an expansive portico inspired by the rich architectural history of Redondo Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Redondo Beach
Redondo Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;