We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always A Pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach

Save Saved
You added Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 North Harbor Drive, Redondo Beach, CA 90277   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Redondo Beach
Sun City, California, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always A Pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had trouble with their computer system,but that didn't affect my stay at all.Have stayed there several times and has always been great.Service is great,rooms are clean,beach and marina location,GREAT.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    166
    51
    23
    14
See reviews for
128
118
26
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

the reception was very nice, they always give us very very helpful suggestion about how should we plan our trip, and make it more efficient. Especially the staff number Angelo, he is very friendly, and always help us to plan our next day. living here is a good choice.

Room Tip: the bed is very soft
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Sunrise hotel was a treat for my latest business trip. I stayed in room 315 (two queen beds) on the marina side. My room was very clean. I saw numerous housekeeping staff throughout my stay and they always had a smile. That may seem an odd note, but I had a contrary experience at a higher end, historic hotel the week prior.

The building is a bit noisy and a bit dated though. The street traffic was quite loud in my room and I could easily hear anyone walking down the hallway or talking in adjacent rooms. I didn't mind the outdated decor as others might as everything was very clean and the staff was super helpful and friendly.

Angelo at the front desk set up my business dinner at The Chart House down the street which afforded us a beach-side table, personalized menu welcoming our group, and a free dessert. It was very nicely done!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near 308. There are two loud vending machines right in the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting family for Thanksgiving. On the positive, we had a clean room, comfortable bed, complimentary breakfast, free parking and a great location. On the negative, the decor is stuck in the 80s and very tired and the fitness center is not on par with hotels in this price range. Soundproofing needs to be worked on: we could hear the people in the next room through the common door linking the rooms.

Saw guests walking in with dogs and was told dogs are allowed on the first floor, but our noisy neighbors had one in their room on the second floor.

Will we stay here again? Probably not.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for five days and every single employee was very pleasant and helpful. Walking distance from pier with great restaurants and bars. Breakfast was free which is a nice and easy way to start your day. Tour to LA picks you up at the door and they made reservation for us

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here in may 2012, it was our first stop / night after we got from a 10 hour flight. We didn't want to sleep in a hotel near the airport so we picked up our rental car and afther a short drive we arrived at this hotel. It was a very friendly welcom, they immediatly offered us an other room because they were cleaning the pool and this room could be a little noisy. They also made a reservation for us at a restaurant, when we arrived after a 10 minute walk we got a really great table! View over the beach and the sea, very beautiful! They also printed a menu with our name on it, made us feel special! We definitely would stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Check in was great, fast and easy and we were greeted very curtiously by Jennifer at the front desk. The room was good, not great just seemed a little dated but we didn't expect brand new furniture and everything for the price of the room. One major issue that we ran in to...we had several ants in the bathroom when we checked in. We killed a few on our own, and then called the front desk and asked them to move us. No such luck as the hotel was sold out. So they sent housekeeping up to spray the bathroom but then that only pushed the ants in to the living area which we discovered about an hour later. Long story short we eventually got moved to a different room, although it took the desk a very long time to relocate us. They offered again to spray the room which at that point was just unacceptable to me. No way were we staying in a room we paid good money for that had ants crawling all over it. I suspect that the ants were coming from the coffee refrigerator area as there was a cabinet there that seemed like lots of sugar and food gets dropped behind. Upon picking up the tray with the coffee maker on it, we discovered lots of crums in the old room and in the new room. Obviously they are not cleaning under items, just around them. Outside of that, the hotel is in a great location with great restaurants near by.

Room Tip: Marina view got us a good view of The Cheesecake Factory, but thats about it. I'd still rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach

Address: 400 North Harbor Drive, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In summer of 2014, The Sunrise Hotel will reopen after having undergone a multi-million dollar renovation. New features will include the addition of balconies on our ocean-facing rooms, a second level outdoor lounge with spectacular marina and ocean views, a sparkling new lobby, and the addition of an expansive portico inspired by the rich architectural history of Redondo Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Redondo Beach
Redondo Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Hotel at Redondo Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.