We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not The Ritz but was great for us.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Redondo Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Redondo Beach Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Redondo Beach Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 South Pacific Coast Highway, Redondo Beach, CA 90277   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ontario,Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Not The Ritz but was great for us.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Best Western Redondo from November 10th to 14th, 2007.

It was our base location to explore Los Angeles, Long Beach,
Hollywood and Beverly Hills. It was perfect for us.

The room was a typical Best Western. Nothing fancy or extravigant but I knew that when I booked. We stayed there because of it's location.

Redondo beach is a nice community, I felt safe and that was important.

Our room was at the end on the second floor and we never had problem with noise or strange people around.

I would recommend this hotel to people who don't expect fancy on a simple budget.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    277
    79
    13
    8
See reviews for
189
200
35
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

I stayed here for one night and that was one night too many.

Just like the previous reviewer, I had looked at photos of the room (as seen on the hotel's website) prior to booking and decided it was decent enough. Well... I have no idea if such rooms actually exist because the one I was given up on the third floor was HORRENDOUS. It smelled really bad (even after turning on the a/c), the carpet was old and dirty, the wallpaper was peeling and bubbling everywhere and the furniture, bathroom and fixtures were seriously outdated and cheap. I really regret not snapping some pics to post here. On the plus side, the towels and bedding appeared to be clean (no hairs or stains that I could see), parking and internet are free.

There were also many rather unsavoury characters (for lack of a better term) staying at this motel. They were hanging out on the exterior corridors at all hours of the night making noise and generally making me uncomfortable. I had to empty out my car because I feared that anything left inside would be gone by the morning.

I noticed when checking out that there are some rooms in the "main" building (where the lobby is) and those may be better. If nothing else, they would be quieter.

I suspect some of the more positive reviews posted here may in fact be for the other Best Western in Redondo Beach which looked many times nicer than this one.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, Kent, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

This was our first stop on a three week holiday in the USA, I checked out all our hotels on the web and booked hotel suites of the highest standard we could afford. This hotel should have been the perfect start, but from all I had read I did not realise this hotel has two standards of rooms, I had looked at the photographs and taken the virtual tours all of which showed rooms of a far higher standard than we received. The hotel is fine as far as it goes and if you make sure when booking that you are in the higher standard of room you will not be disappointed at all, the facilities are good the location is good. The misrepresentation of rooms is far from good.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

Just spent 3 nights at this excellent value for money hotel. Location is ideally suited for out of town visitors hiring a car because it is the other way from the big hotels for LA.Only 12 minutes driving time from LAX in what seemed at first a quiet little suburb but walk down to the pier and experience all the restaurants, bars and markets and you realise the town haas a lot going for it.
Hotel staff very helpful, advising on and booking value for money trips, not rip offs.Breakfast a bit of a let down but for non US residents the opportunity to make one's own waffles was fun. Big bed, room safe no charge, free internet access everything we wanted. No bar but Joe's Crab Shack just down the road seves good food and drink, again well priced. Would definitely stay again

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Boring Breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

I'd hate to see what the other places in Redondo Beach are like after staying here. The room interior was ok but it was your typical motel with exterior corridors. The walls are paper thin, when I arrived the guy next door was playing music quite loudly! I called the front desk to ask for a change to a quiet room but they were all sold out so I had to endure the noise. Overall, a dump!

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — the noise, exterior corridors
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

My husband, our two children aged 9 and 11 and myself stayed here for 5 days during July 2006 on our way to New Zealand from the UK.

After scouring through hundreds of pages of Tripadvisor hotel reviews I decided on this one and we were not disappointed. We wanted something in a "non-touristy" area of Los Angeles, near a beach, with a pool, and the option to have breakfast at the hotel. It also had to be affordable and not too far to drive to major attractions.

We had a family room with two double beds. The room was a good size and had a little kitchenette at the back of it with a refrigerator, kettle, ironing board, etc. Yes, the room was a little worn around the edges, and the air conditioning was slightly noisy, but it was very clean and the housekeeping was good.

Even though this hotel is located on the busy Pacific Highway, it never seemed really noisy because the buildings which house all the rooms are set back from the road a bit. The entrance lobby is pleasant, it has nicely kept gardens and there are a good choice of restaurants nearby. The manager of the hotel let us have a late check-out on the last day at no extra charge. The breakfast (we had to pay extra for this) was fabulous - although we had to learn what "eggs, sunny side up, medium" meant.

Redondo beach and pier were pleasant but not as posh as other beaches in Los Angeles and the area as a whole seemed a bit more down-to-earth, but still very nice. The pool was small, but there were barely more than a few people in it at any given time, great for a refreshing dip after a hard day's sightseeing! There is a small mall right next door to the hotel with a good drug store, liquor store, hairdresser, florist, take-away eateries, etc. We would definitely stay here again if we went back to Los Angeles.

  • Liked — Location near beach, good price, breakfast at hotel, family room, air conditioning, pool
  • Disliked — Slightly worn and outdated in places, air conditioning a bit noisy
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2007

We like this hotel very much. It was comfortable, the rooms were clean, and the amenities offered were very suitable for only $119/nt.

  • Liked — Clean rooms, friendly staff
  • Disliked — It would've been nice to have a suite- the hotel only has standard guest rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Redondo Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Redondo Beach Inn

Address: 1850 South Pacific Coast Highway, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Redondo Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Redondo Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Best Western Inn is located in an ideal spot for any Los Angeles traveler. Only minutes from the beach and 9 miles away from the Los Angeles International Airport, we offer ideal accommodations for your next Southern California vacation to Disneyland, Universal Studios, or Hollywood. Complete with heated pool, spa and fitness room. Breakfast included. Bike rentals available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Redondo Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Redondo Beach Hotel Redondo Beach
Redondo Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Redondo Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.