We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more, dissapointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Redondo Beach Galleria Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Redondo Beach Galleria Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Redondo Beach Galleria Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2740 Artesia Boulevard, 2740 Artesia Blvd, Redondo Beach, CA 90278, Redondo Beach, CA 90278-3314   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Expected more, dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Before going to LA we were unsure of where to stay. Redondo Beach seemed a good spot as you're away from the hussle and bussle but requires a car to see any of LA. Hotel is still a 10 minute drive from Redondo beach, which was a small but lively strip of pubs, restaurants and shops, and of course the beach and pier.

The hotel was basic. Clean room, comfy beds. Fridge and microwave, an old TV. Free Wifi. Sinks were in the bedroom?? The hotel felt more like a motel with the room door opening on to a communal outside balcony facing the car park. Extremely noisy at night from people outside and people in their rooms. Breakfast served in the hotel reception between 6am and 9am with only room for four tables sitting 8 people in total. This was to serve 50 plus rooms, needless to say we didn't get seated most mornings.

Hotel staff were clueless at times.

Wouldn't stay here again. Would stay in Santa Monica due to location.

Room Tip: Top floor to help avoid heavy footed neighbours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Redondo Beach Galleria Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us. Your comments are invaluable to helping us improve our standard of service and are greatly appreciated. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    76
    37
    11
    9
See reviews for
46
55
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We wanted a non-smoking room but they were all filled. The smoking room was awful of course, but we managed. We got Chinese takeout from Rice Things and took it back to our smelly room. There is also a Target around the corner for some quick shopping. The drive to Long Beach wasn't too bad, but next time we will choose a closer non-smoking hotel. Oh, and this hotel has no pool, only a hot tub.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Redondo Beach Galleria Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us. Your comments are invaluable to helping us improve our standard of service and are greatly appreciated. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Made a late reservation after reading trip advisor reviews of a LAX airport motel we had originally booked. We have stayed here five times previously but not since 2005. It is fairly close to the airport. I didn't feel like the freeway so this time we just headed south on Aviation Boulevard, made a left on Artesia and we were there in less than twenty minutes. We were on the afternoon 15.45 Virgin flight from Heathrow and arrived at the motel late evening so the desk clerk spoke through the safety window but let me in the reception when she saw I was harmless. A very friendly and helpful young lady, she quickly checked us in and we soon had the bags in the room. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was fine. I definately recommend this motel, not only as handy for the airport but in a fairly safe area with loads of eateries and shopping nearby as well as the Pacific.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Redondo Beach Galleria Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us. Your comments are greatly appreciated. We are pleased that our staff was able to meet your needs and that your stay with us was pleasant. We hope you choose Best Western for all your travel needs and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Having flow over from the UK being "jet lagged" and tired we needed a Hotel not too far away from LAX just to use as a stop over prior to stating our holiday.

This Hotel we have used before and found it fits the bill perfectly, not from LAX and relatively good value which met our needs. Nice to have elevators up to the second floor and no parking charges which seem to be sneaking in all over the States, just why it is not included in the overall price is beyond me, after all nearly everyone arrives in a car.

However, check in and out was seamless and we had a good rest in a clean and presentable room before moving on. WIFI was free and worked well. Beds and room clean and comfortable with good showering facilities and nice clean towels etc.

Breakfast bar was nothing to shout about but if you enquire at the front desk they will direct you to a great little restaurant just a couple of blocks away. Just do not expect the "Ritz" which it is not but it lives up to the Best Western brand and is good value for money.

Room Tip: choose upper level for a peaceful nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh K, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Redondo Beach Galleria Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear valued guest,

We thank you for taking the time to tell us about about your experience with us. Your comments are greatly appreciated. We are pleased that our staff was able to meet your needs and that you stay with us was a pleasant one. We hope you chose Best Western for all your future travels and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Second time here in one year,Two trips from England. Nice & Clean, staff were Good and the room was comfortable.Parking and breakfast were also good.We were looked after very well and we Recommed this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Book in Advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh K, Manager at BEST WESTERN Redondo Beach Galleria Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for you review! We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Everything was very nice, service was good, staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast was very good. Not a lot of tables, but room outside by the pool was good. Would definitely stay there again. Close to shopping.

Room Tip: 3rd floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh K, Manager at BEST WESTERN Redondo Beach Galleria Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Here at Best Western we do our best to meet the needs of all who stay with us, and we are grateful to you for taking the time to let us know we accomplished just that. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel is in a nice location. I thought that it was closer to the beach but that is my own fault for not looking closer on google

Staff did not know information about the nearest drug stores, good restaaunts, or any info on bus schedules. They did look up bus schedules, and gave us the names of some chain take-it restaurants but the staff we asked about the drug store made no effort to locate one for us. I was disappointed that there were no discount airport shuttles for our party of three. Each person had to pay individually. I would like to see a complimentary shuttle or at least cheaper rates (16 per person).

The rooms were nice and the housekeepers did a nice job but I did find a hair in the towel on the rack. The water pressure varried and sometimes the showers ran out of hot water and only came out warm.

The outdoor jacuzzi was very nice after a long day at the beach or out shopping.

Air conditioning in the rooms worked great as did the small bar fridge, microwave, tv, and wireless Internet, all things we used daily. I asked about a baby crib and was told they had a travel playpen for $10 per night. After 4 nights it would have been cheaper to buy one at the second hand store, so I decided to have my daughter sleep in the same bed as me. I think it should have been complimentary.

The continental breakfasts were pretty standard but yummy. If items like yogurt ran out, staff would refill them by request. Would have liked regular yogurt not just the low-fat High-sugar diet kind. Would liked to have seen bananas in the apple&orange fruit selection.

Overall very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitesh K, Manager at BEST WESTERN Redondo Beach Galleria Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. It helps us greatly in looking into how we can improve ourselves and we value all input our customers have, and we are grateful for the time they put into letting us know where we can improve. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again, and we hope that your next stay will be even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Redondo Beach Galleria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Redondo Beach Galleria Inn

Address: 2740 Artesia Boulevard, 2740 Artesia Blvd, Redondo Beach, CA 90278, Redondo Beach, CA 90278-3314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Redondo Beach Galleria Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Mediterranean style architecture and accommodations at this Redondo Beach hotel with great beaches, shopping, nightlife and LAX just minutes away. The BEST WESTERN Redondo Beach Galleria Hotel is located near the best beaches in Southern California and just a few miles from the Los Angeles International Airport. - LAX. Beach goers looking for a great location will find themselves in proximity to local beaches such as Redondo, Hermosa, Manhattan Beach, and a short distance to Venice and Santa Monica Beach. Relax and Enjoy beach hot spots; boardwalk shopping, pier restaurants, and nightlife entertainment. Easy access to popular and exciting nearby attractions include Disneyland, Universal Studios/Universal Walk, Magic Mountain, Knott's Berry Farm, Aquarium of The Pacific, and the Paul Getty Museum. Guests will be within walking distance to the South Bay Galleria Mall and minutes away from Del Amo Fashion Center, offering world class shops, entertainment, theatres, restaurants. Favorite local events near the hotel include beach volleyball tournaments, soccer tournaments, fishing, whale watching and charter trips to Catalina Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Redondo Beach Galleria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Redondo Beach Galleria Hotel Redondo Beach
Redondo Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Redondo Beach Galleria Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.