We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal, service a bit spotty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bluewater Grill Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar

Bluewater Grill Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar
665 North Harbor Dr, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
(310) 318-3474
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 266 Restaurants in Redondo Beach
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Chowder
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Redondo Beach, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great meal, service a bit spotty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were in for New Years Eve and were not disappointed. Phantom Creek oysters were awesome, sweet and slightly briny, even my wife (not the raw fish person) enjoyed one while the ceviche lettuce wraps were tasty but not like what we'd expected. They could have used a bit more time to blend maybe? Main course was delicious. The cedar planked salmon was delicate, the prawns in linguine in a red sauce was subtle without swimming in too much marinara. The teenagers enjoyed an angus burger which was done to to request and fish and chips done to crispy perfection. The mixed veggies could have used a little seasoning as they were a bit bland. Lava cake and creme brulee with a Frangelico coffee finished off the evening in excellent style. The only real thing lacking was steady service. We waited to place our dinner order, we waited for the table to clear after appetizers, we waited to get water, we waited for the table to clear after the main course. Possibly it was the demand on the kitchen on a busy night? It just seemed like a little more effort (they did have plenty of help we thought) they could have aced the evening. Overall, it was a fine meal and I would absolutely recommend Bluewater Grill.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Owner at Bluewater Grill Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We always appreciate feedback and thank you for taking the time to review us. New Year's Eve can get a bit hectic and thank you for your understanding about the service.

We hope to see you again.
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    67
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
REDONDO BEACH, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“ALWAYS GOOD SEAFOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I had the wild salmon with mashed potatoes and spinach for dinner there Christmas eve. As always everything was fresh and well prepared. Service was prompt, courteous and helpful. For an appetizer the clams were great with a broth that I couldn't leave. I have been to the Bluewater several times and everything has always been consistently very good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Owner at Bluewater Grill Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks for the review and I'm glad you enjoyed the steamers. Hope to see you soon! Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was our first stop after we arrived in Redondo Beach. We enjoyed the steamed clams, wonderful short rib tacos, and crab dip. Less impressive was the fish tacos (too dry) and calimari (couldn't taste the calimari). I would recommend this restaurant for happy hour.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Owner at Bluewater Grill Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Happy Hour at Bluewater is the way to go! I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us. Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“nice fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

this is a very pleasant place to have a meal nicely set on the ocean and very clean and with good range of fish and plenty of choice in cooking styles, not a special place but one the is worth a visit if you are near the area

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great spot in the south bay..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

place is pretty good. this is one of the better spots, with views. try the clam chowder. Way better than Bluewater in NPB.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Owner at Bluewater Grill Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Nothing beats clam chowder and fresh sourdough bread looking out onto King Harbor. Hope to see you again!

Best,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluewater Grill Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Bluewater Grill Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluewater Grill Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.