We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whale watching” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Voyager IV Excursions - Whale Watching

Voyager IV Excursions - Whale Watching
181 North Harbor Dr, Redondo Beach, CA 90278
(310) 944-1219
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Activities in Redondo Beach
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Whale watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

What a great trip! Saw 6 gray whales, thousands of dolphins and seals!! Spent a lot more time then we were supposed to which was a treat with all our sightings! Loved it !!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Would have ranked higher if boat was non-smoking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great crew, nice boat. Easy access to whales and pelagic birds at a reasonable cost. Was first in line to get best spot on boat for photography and was disappointed to have large group of smokers end up sitting nearby. Was surprised as I have never been on a wildlife watching boat (Ecuador, Trinidad, Costa Rica, New Zealand, USA [Washington, Hawaii, S. Carolina, Florida, etc]) that had smokers on board. That was the only negative about the trip. Would be an Excellent if they made the short trip (2.5 - 3 hrs) non-smoking.

During the late February trip we saw 5+ Fin Whales, Short-beaked and Long-beaked Common Dolphins, California Sea Lions, Common Murres, Cassin's Auklets, Scripp's Murrelets and numerous gulls including a single Black-legged Kittiwake. etc.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful weather + great crew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Very easy nearby parking + casual indoor/outdoor cafe next door to enjoy before or after...food looked very tasty + spectacular day + great, good-natured and informative crew in addition to the lovely folks handling matters in the office--------- Okay, there were no whales on our trip. However, there were pods of dolphins with one very crowded sighting just about surrounding the boat and seals and ocean birds and a gorgeous flat ocean that made the coming and going just perfect. A relaxed weekday outing that included locals like myself and some international tourists. Not too crowded so a number of us socialized throughout the journey. The water was sparkling, the air was brisk and shot through with the warmth of a bright sun, and the ever changing views made for a delightful day!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So Much Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We enjoyed our 3 hour morning excursion on the Voyager very much. On my Bucket List was "See a whale" Check! They don't guarantee that a whale will be seen so we were fortunate to see two pretty close to the ship! What a thrill! Lots of dolphin too! The crew was great and made us feel very welcome. Will do this again when in the area.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great trip! Take dramamine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The only thing I would advise is to take dramamine before doing this. The experience is so great you don't want to miss it by being sick. Even if you don't noramlly get motion sick the waves can be rough. I wish the ticket sales people would have advised us of this or sold dramamine at the counter when we purchased our tickets. The captain did suggest it but we were on the ship at the time. A little too late for that advise. The guides were great and knowledgeable!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Voyager IV Excursions - Whale Watching also viewed

Redondo Beach, CA
 

Been to Voyager IV Excursions - Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voyager IV Excursions - Whale Watching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.