We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Palos Verdes Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palos Verdes Inn to your Saves list
Palos Verdes Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 South Pacific Coast Highway, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-5902   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never Again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We had originally booked this place for 8 days. In the pictures it looked nice. When we arrived i was disappointed extreme. The hotel was very out dated. The next morning in the middle of my shower the lights went out. Seems to happen often. The bike rentals arent really free & crapy bikes too. Left that same day to a Best Western. Crapy place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalosVerdesInn, Manager at Palos Verdes Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Beaches201,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit to Palos Verdes Inn. We value all forms of guest feedback as an opportunity to continually improve our services and facilities for our guest. It is of great concern that I have learned your experience fell, not only short, but well bellow par, of your expectations. Your feedback is valuable to the renovation discussion, so thank you again for your comments.
Please accept my apology for your experience at our hotel and I hope you will come and stay at our hotel to see our new renovations when complete. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Gm@palosverdesinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    25
    25
    29
See reviews for
14
25
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrara, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was the Inn I stayed at when my flight was cancelled.
The room was large & clean and the Staff were always Pleasant & helpful.
Best part Location,location location.
Easy access to the Beach & shops all within easy walking distances and only 15 minutes from airport by shuttle.
The room would be better with a repaint, a tad overdue, but outside that every thing worked & I had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalosVerdesInn, Manager at Palos Verdes Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear David Gordon,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your experience at the Palos Verdes Inn.I`m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Goran ljubinovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I stay here for business. Some rooms have a balcony which is nice to relax on. The rooms are Clean and the location is great! You are walking distance to the the beach, Trader Joes, Albertsons and many more restaurants.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalosVerdesInn, Manager at Palos Verdes Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Michelle,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience at the Palos Verdes Inn. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed staying in a balcony room and strolling down Riviera village.
We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Goran Ljubinovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here as it was close for a funeral. We have stayed here I think 8 years ago. There is a Best Western down the street I would check out. The lobby is ok, staff nice ,but the room and bathroom is awful. Paint stripped from the door frame. black mold in the bathroom, the beds so uncomfortable and yes as mentioned can't get it cooler than 78 degrees. The neighbors were noisy in the apts. They had a party until 4:30 am on the balcony .With our windows open(as the air 'thing' is a joke) we had no sleep. I really don't get the 'kitch and clean' comment. It is not at all. Would never stay here again. It needs a complete overhaul.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalosVerdesInn, Manager at Palos Verdes Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Karen C,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Palos Verdes Inn. We value all forms of guest feedback as an opportunity to continually improve our services and facilities for our guest. The owners are planing a full renovation of the hotel early next year. We are also taking steps to reduce the noise form the AC unit and that rooms are staying cooler.
Please accept my sincerest apologies that you were left to feel disappointed in any way.
I hope you will come and stay at our hotel to see our new renovations when complete: we certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
GM@palosverdesinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were looking for an affordable hotel near the ocean and we found Palos Verdes Inn. This hotel was very afforable with good ocean views (get a 4th floor). It is located within walking distance of the beach and fun places to eat (The Original Pancake house next door is a must). The Hotel is clean, dated and a little run-down. Still stuck in the 80's. The pictures in the lobby and the great beach mural of the VW bug (hid in a corner) should be the new inspiration. Replace the old lounge area seating with trendy colorful seating would certainly brighten and invite. The elevator is a must fix. The rooms are clean but are void of any personality. Add a couple of beachy pictures. Take out the old entertainment centers with their old TV's and replace with a simple TV table and Flat screen TV and "viola" a new room. The bed was OK. A nice bistro set on the patio would be welcome. For the price and the location I will go back,

Room Tip: 4th floor ocean view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalosVerdesInn, General Manager at Palos Verdes Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Sonofyamnil,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Palos Verdes Inn and taking time to respond to our online Guest Comment Card! It is with our guests suggestions and comments, such as yours, that will help us to improve.Please come see us again in the future.

Sincerely,
GM@palosverdesinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and were really pleased we stayed here thanks to a friends recommendation. The location is great, close to Redondo Beach and very close walking distance to restaurants, bars & beach in the area. The Redondo area is a nice place to base yourself if you are after some R&R in LA.

The hotel is a 50s-or 60s icon, the lobby is very true to this period and the staff are helpful. The hallways to your room are rather dark and you do sort of think this is going to be bad, but the room we had was big, bright & light and faced the sea and most importantly quiet! Great to watch the sunset.

Also parking is FREE! a big plus in LA

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalosVerdesInn, General Manager at Palos Verdes Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear PacificHK

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Palos Verdes Inn and that you enjoyed strolling trough Riviera Village.
Please come see us again in the future.

Sincerely,

GM@palosverdesinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Disgusting dump.

The portable A/C units will not get the rooms below about 78. There is always something wrong with each room... it's sort of like a surprise to see what your's will be. While this time I had the standard black mold all over the shower (this is fairly common here) I also had blinds that did not close, and too many iron burns on the carpet to count. The rotary phone in the bathroom was a nice touch... truly showed how long it's been since this pace had any thought put into it.

Everywhere was musty and dank, and the "gym", like someone else said earlier, looks as though it may have previously been a closet.

The restaurant downstairs consists of multiple vending machines and microwaves... classy, indeed.

I've reviewed this place as "horrible" a couple of years ago, and it has yet to change. Save your money, and run far FAR away from this seedy dive.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palos Verdes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palos Verdes Inn

Address: 1700 South Pacific Coast Highway, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-5902
Location: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Palos Verdes Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palos Verdes Inn is the classic hotel landmark in L.A.'s South Bay region. Located just minutes south of LAX, Palos Verdes Inn is in the 'boutique' Riviera Village section of south Redondo Beach, just steps away from clean and quiet Torrance Beach, and the boutique shops and restaurants in the neighborhood. Two miles from world-class shopping at Del Amo Fashion Center. Tired of the heat and hustle of L.A., Beverly Hills and Hollywood? Tired of the crowds in Santa Monica and Venice? Then Redondo Beach is THE place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Palos Verdes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palos Verdes Hotel Redondo Beach
Hotel Palos Verdes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palos Verdes Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.