We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sophie's Place

Sophie's Place
1708 S Catalina Ave, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-5504
310-540-8484
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 245 Restaurants in Redondo Beach
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Looks like everything you need is on the website.
South West France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We had lunch there yesterday and had decent service but excellent food, simple lunch menu. We sampled extremely yummy burgers including a less usual lamb burger served with a creamy feta, yogurt and sweet onion topping, the sweet potato fries were excellent and we saw beautiful salads and lovely shrimp being served at other tables. Wonderful array of wines and beers! Recently opened and we found the staff attention a bit sluggish at first but totally fine once the order was taken. A winner in a lovely Redondo neighborhood full of really original gift stores too.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Go for the Burger, Stay for the beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I always have such a good time when I come here and it's close to home to boot. The burgers are great and they've turned me on to a whole world of craft beers. Great food, awsome selection of drinks and good company...can't beat it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Best beer selection in the South Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

This is what a GastroPub is all about. Beer first, awesome food second. You won't find any Coors or Budweiser on this place's beer selection, but you will find over 60 craft brews that are sure to satisfy anyone's palate. The restaurant itself is in a beautiful location and the atmosphere is great. For food, you must try the S-LAMB burger (lamb burger with feta and tzatziki sauce) or the fried cauliflower. So yummy!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We were looking forward to eating at Sophies. We went for my birthday and were disappointed. The cauliflower appetizer was almost inedible. Even the waiter said it wasn't a fan favorite. Ok so why does it remain on the menu if customers don't like it? The entree was not memorable and overpriced for what you got. Not worth a return visit. We are surprised that the place is still in business.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Gastropub in the Southbay Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Been here a few times, and I gotta say its pretty amazing!

The actual restaurant space is somewhat cozy, but who cares?! Its good!

Awesome burgers, Mac & Cheese, and salads! (at least that what the girlfriend says) Best part? There is a ginormous beer selection! Craft and Micobrews that are rarely seen else where. Belgian Ales, Stouts, IPAs, Saisons, Whit....whatever, you get it....

Going day or night, its so nice to grab a bite to eat then walk a block to the beach and enjoy the Pacific Ocean or shop in the Riviera village area.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophie's Place also viewed

Redondo Beach, CA
 
Redondo Beach, CA
 

Been to Sophie's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sophie's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.