We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a mixed bag...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Eating Room

The Eating Room
107 E Citrus Ave, Redlands, CA 92373-4741
909-792-5400
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 184 Restaurants in Redlands
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Calif
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Really a mixed bag...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The food here is ok... and generally a bit different than most of your standard breakfast places. Portions are on the small side and prices on the high side. I would rate it higher except for my experience with their bakery. The have an associated bakery with lots of yummy stuff and they also make cakes. We ordered a birthday cake there and when we picked it up not only did they mess up the order it looked like a drunk chimp did the decoration and writing on the cake.. I mean really... they have a reputation as being the best cake place in redlands and a toddler could have done a better job on the cake... we never got as much as an apology for it. Will NEVER buy a cake there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Charming decor and tasty food ..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I wanted to take a special friend to a special place for her birthday lunch celebration and remembered The Eating Room from several years past. It has been expanded since I was last there and is a much more open, welcoming place. The farmhouse décor is delightful and adds to the experience of the entire meal.
We ordered sandwiches ... she the Portobello mushroom and I had the brie .. very good and well presented. I had mentioned upon ordering that it was her first time and that it was her birthday. At the end of the meal, she was presented with a miniature chocolate cupcake with Happy Birthday written in pink icing on the plate and I got a rooster sugar cookie. We were both happy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westampton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Big Breakfasts and baked goods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Ate here three times while visiting relative in Redlands. Had the breakfast combo twice. First time opted for the waffle, scrambled eggs and sausage patties. Second time had the French toast in place of waffle.
Great service from our waitress. Asked her to bring us Almond croissants, from bakery, for later on - no problem. Bakery is attached so, definitely take a look at the baked goods while at the restaurant. There is also a separate room that holds specialty cakes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Visited the Eating Room twice while staying in Redlands for lunch. Good food. Service was good. Try a local place rather than the chain restaurants.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Saturday Outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Average food
Good service
Great Bakery........bought an éclair to go and hummm......should have got 2!
Let me address the parking....it is hard to park, but really, it's not that bad. So you have to walk a little big deal. It's not like you're going to leave in a few minutes. I think we have to support small business' no matter the little inconvenience! When they opened the restaurant how did they know it would blossom so much? Let's support them instead of griping about a few steps!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eating Room also viewed

 

Been to The Eating Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eating Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.