We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A.J. is GREAT !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Redlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Redlands to your Saves list
Motel 6 Redlands
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1120 West Colton Ave., Redlands, CA 92374 (Formerly Howard Johnson Redlands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Redlands
Rancho Mirage, California
1 review
“A.J. is GREAT !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

"A.J.", the proprietor of this Motel 6, will fully take care of you .

He is GREAT !

The property is also great: Very clean, convenient to food and restaurants, solid Wi-Fi connections, the works !

And, the prices are always fantastically low.

- J.M. , Rancho Mirage, CA

Room Tip: Ask "A.J." for whatever you need, and he will fully take care of you !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    8
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
8
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Yes, it's cheap, and the rooms are a decent size. But our sheets and pillow cases were stained, the blanket had holes in it, and there was a hole in the wall patched with some sort of filler that hadn't dried and didn't look like it ever would. At some point while we were out during the day, housekeeping removed our bathmat. A new one didn't appear until sometime after 6pm. There was also dog feces in the pool area. The free-wifi is finicky and very slow.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hey, it's Motel 6. Lowered expectations. But the Redlands property was the best Motel 6 I have stayed in. Above average room size. Nice king bed. Good TV. Overall it had a European hotel feel to the room, in that minimalistic style but very functionable. I rate it 3 out of 5 simply because I don't think a Motel 6 can rank higher competitively, but I never ranked a Motel 6 this high. Wifi in room was awful...nearly worthless.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

We stopped here because of the many positive reviews, but realized something was wrong - - there are far too many positive reviews and far too few realistic reviews. While the staff was accommodating and nice, the rest of the story isn't so nice. It's an old and dated building that needs a power wash badly, as do the stairs and walkways. Upon entering the "lobby" we were overcome with the smell of someone's garlic lunch. Our room was dated and somewhat shabby. Odd décor, possibly modern in the '60's. No pictures on the walls, hard floors dusty complete with crumbs. The bedspreads were stained and marked. There were no towels in the room, and the TV service was broken except for a few channels. There appear to be permanent residents here - - one room has a pillow outside the room for a dog to sleep on with food and water placed nearby. Keep traveling if you can.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

I love staying here. My father has been at the Redlands Community Hospital for about a week so my and my fiancé have bee staying that this location off and on for about that amount of time. The quality of the stay is superb. I'm really not one to write reviews, so the fact that I'm writing one now really speaks levels about this location.
Ok so about the rooms and why I think they rock:

The rooms (we've had a few different rooms and the quality doesn't differ) are very modern and offer a lot of space and natural movement. I really like all of the updated furniture and TVs.

The TVs all have a little shelf right beneath them and different inputs for convenience. You can bring your own hdmi, component, etc. cables and make a connection right there with your own devices!

WiFi is free and easy to connect to and the connection isn't at all bad. We've been watching a lot of Netfix and the streaming rarely stops to reload or buffer.

The floors are HEATED. So that when you're stepping out of the shower there's no need to fear the unpleasantness of a cold floor. They're heated from the moment you step out of the shower up until the point when you're standing at the sink. Major luxury that I will miss.

The bed is comfortable for us, but to others it may be considered a bit stiff. To each his own though, right?
It's conveniently located, too.
Staff has been friendly and we have nothing but good things to say.

The only reason I did not give the full 5 stars is because the towels are a bit skimpy and they haven't been great about giving us more. Also, no hand towels and only one washcloth. There should at least be 4 full sets.
And no iron, ironing board or hairdryer. (although, you are able to check some of these things out at the front desk.)

Overall, we've very much enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

We stayed at this location while staying with family. It was very nice and clean rooms newly renovated. The staff was excellent especially the lady at the front desk. She really made us feel welcome. Thanks Angie!

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colton, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

I went with my husband and it was a very nice place, beautiful inside. Angie the front desk person was very sweet and helped us with anything we needed. I will defiantly be back to stay on valentines.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Redlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Redlands

Address: 1120 West Colton Ave., Redlands, CA 92374 (Formerly Howard Johnson Redlands)
Location: United States > California > Redlands
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Redlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Redlands 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Redlands is located off of I-10 and Tennessee Street, just a short drive from Southern CA Ski Areas. California's Moreno Beach is only 13 miles away. Enjoy our modern rooms, outdoor pool, and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel 6 Redlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Redlands Hotel Redlands
Redlands Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Redlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.