We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Redlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Redlands to your Saves list
Motel 6 Redlands
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1120 West Colton Ave., Redlands, CA 92374 (Formerly Howard Johnson Redlands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Redlands
South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The rooms have been remodeled and are much improved. BUT...no shampoo, no Kleenex. NO SOAP, no clock, poor wi-fi (but free). The room appears clean enough, but the linens are questionable. Sheets are stained. Yuck. Blanket is pretty shabby and spread has burn holes even though this is a no-smoking room. One set of super thin towels, and a request for a clean set for morning has been ignored. Great TV ... Convenient location. Inexpensive, but I don't think I'd stay here again. I've been much happier at other Motel 6 locations.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    5
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
4
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

They claim to be pet friendly, but have no grass on their property to potty dogs, just pretty landscaping. Had to go next door to find a place to potty my dogs. Rooms have been redone with hardwood flooring, but don't expect it to be clean. My puppy had a pee accident. The paper towel I used to clean it, was BLACK when I was done from how dirty the floor was. I checked in at 6:30pm and still had to wait for towels. Saw all sorts of ants in one corner do the room and gum was smeared on the floor.
Hotel is right next to freeway, so it is loud. Walls are paper thin.
Lighting in the room was pretty much non-existent.

Room Tip: Request room on the Colton Ave side. That is opposite the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Redlands, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Thank you for taking a minute of your busy schedule to provide us with your recent experience at Motel 6 Redlands. And please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered when your dog had the pee accident. We will make sure to show your review to our housekeeping team so they can be more attentive when cleaning the rooms that are assigned to them. Regarding the issue you had with the towels, we assure you that this will not happen in the future as we are now fully stocked with towels. We hope you can give us another opportunity at staying with on your next visit to the Redlands area.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Excellent customer service and super room! Made reservation over phone and checked in next day! Everything was ready and great! Clean spacious room remodeled and private. The best thing was that the staff really went out of their way to make sure I was pleased and everything was in order. Even better is that the rate is great! I would absolutely recommend this place again and again. Thanks so much for making my stay exactly what I needed.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Redlands, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Thank you for providing us and future guests with your feedback on our Redlands property. We are happy to hear that our customer service shined for you during your stay and we are also glad to know you liked our newly remodeled rooms. Thank you for the wonderful comments you have regarding our great customer service. And yes, you are correct to say that we have the cheapest rate in the area, again as our entire property is newly remodeled. We are looking forward to your next stay at Motel 6 Redlands.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I've frequently stayed at this motel and they have a lady working the front desk that is always such a pleasure to see she greets you with such a warm and welcoming smile I've never seen her at work with a negative attitude or unpleasant to anyone either. I feel she does her job to the highest degree of her abilities making sure to demonstrate her passionate need to utilize her customer service skills to their highest potential. I've been in the office as well when a customer has came in to complain about their stay none of which she could have done anything about but even when the customer got rude and every thing she didn't allow it to take her out of character she continued to attempt to remedy the situation as best as she could. Her name is Lucinda Ornelas and motel6 should not only be proud but honored to have her representing their company. I feel as though she should be the one training people in guest relations and customer service. I've stayed at several motel 6s in the area I've encountered several situations that motel 6 should be sending people in under cover to see how guest relations treat their guests cause if they are that unhappy with their job they shouldn't be kept in that position cause they only wind up taking it out on the guest. So if she could receive a star card or a five star review I don't know how you guys do it. But please pass the word along so that she receives credit for this thank you. Have a great day!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Redlands, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us and future guests with your review. And thank you for such wonderful comments you have regarding one of our Motel 6 team members. As always the number one goal here at Motel 6 Redlands is to have happy guest and to provide the best customer service. We feel glad to hear from a returning guest about the great customer service that was offered to them. Now, we do hope you were able to enjoy our free continental breakfast. Wi-Fi and parking, as well as take advantage of our always immaculate pool. Please know that our rooms are always kept it top condition, thanks is large part to the amazing work our entire team performs. Thank you again for the wonderful review and we hope to continue to see you back at Motel 6 Redlands soon.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Listen up road warriors!!! I want personally thank the amazing and hard working giels Angel, Nia and Monse for their outstanding customer service, beautiful smiles and diligent work ethics.. makes my frequent stays soo much fun. Stop by and make sure you say hello to these fine ladies and make sure Tom really left the light on for you!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Redlands, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for taking a minute of your time to provide us and future guests with your feedback on our property. We are extremely happy to hear that our customer service shined for you during your stay. When a guest knows our team members by name, that is when we know our team members did an amazing job with the type of service that was provided for our valued guest. We hope you were able to take advantage of our free complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi, and parking. We also hope you liked our newly remodeled rooms, and we hope you will be able to stay with us once more on your next visit to the city of Redlands California.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

A nice surprise for a recent 1 weeknight stay at the Redlands Motel 6. Room is clean & nice color scheme . Refreshing to see other colors besides off white on the wall. The TV was framed into the wall which gives a classy touch. Bed was comfortable with 2 pillows for the minimalist decor. Did not hear freeway noise despite of the overpass close by. Bath towels were on the skimpy size but enough to dry yourself after shower. Bathtub & sink were clean. Did not use the pool but pool & spa were dark by 9 pm. The facility would look more inviting with the pool lights on. There is no coffee maker in the room though coffee is provided in the lobby between 6-10 am. Parking is ample & nice to be across the street from El Burrito, a local favorite Mexican food with homemade tortillas. The night clerk was not overly friendly , she could use a smile. Overall, a pleasant experience for $50. Would stay again. Bring your own shampoo, conditioner, and lotion since the motel only provides soap.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Redlands, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our newly remodeled Motel 6, which is located in the city of Redlands. Thank you for the wonderful comments you have regarding the layout of the room and the color scheme. Please know that we take great pride when we get such wonderful comments from our valued guests. We hope you were able to take advantage of our free Wi-Fi, continental breakfast, as well as our free parking. Yes, we do have the most affordable rates in the city of Redlands, and for the condition of the room you'll get, it say its a bargain. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Redlands area.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpinteria, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Lucinda was very helpful in assisting us with all of our needs, including having to change our rooms to a quiter area due to the noisy street. Our new rooms were in a hallway, and they were rather quiet. The pool was cool and refreshing given the 106 degree day!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Redlands, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We are glad to hear that your stay at our Redlands property was one of enjoyment; that you were provided a room that best suited your needs, and that the crisp and clean pool was to your liking during the 100+ degree weather. We hope you liked our newly remodeled rooms and our free continental breakfast. Please know that in our Motel 6 property, we also offer free Wi-Fi and parking. We are open twenty four hours and we also have one of the best Motel 6 that the city of Redlands has to offer. We hope to see you again at Motel 6 Redlands.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Redlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Redlands

Address: 1120 West Colton Ave., Redlands, CA 92374 (Formerly Howard Johnson Redlands)
Location: United States > California > Redlands
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Redlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Redlands 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Redlands is located off of I-10 and Tennessee Street, just a short drive from Southern CA Ski Areas. California's Moreno Beach is only 13 miles away. Enjoy our modern rooms, outdoor pool, and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Redlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Redlands Hotel Redlands
Redlands Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Redlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.