We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Inexpensive motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Redlands

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Redlands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Redlands
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1120 West Colton Ave., Redlands, CA 92374 (Formerly Howard Johnson Redlands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Redlands
redlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean & Inexpensive motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A nice surprise for a recent 1 weeknight stay at the Redlands Motel 6. Room is clean & nice color scheme . Refreshing to see other colors besides off white on the wall. The TV was framed into the wall which gives a classy touch. Bed was comfortable with 2 pillows for the minimalist decor. Did not hear freeway noise despite of the overpass close by. Bath towels were on the skimpy size but enough to dry yourself after shower. Bathtub & sink were clean. Did not use the pool but pool & spa were dark by 9 pm. The facility would look more inviting with the pool lights on. There is no coffee maker in the room though coffee is provided in the lobby between 6-10 am. Parking is ample & nice to be across the street from El Burrito, a local favorite Mexican food with homemade tortillas. The night clerk was not overly friendly , she could use a smile. Overall, a pleasant experience for $50. Would stay again. Bring your own shampoo, conditioner, and lotion since the motel only provides soap.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    5
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
4
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carpinteria, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lucinda was very helpful in assisting us with all of our needs, including having to change our rooms to a quiter area due to the noisy street. Our new rooms were in a hallway, and they were rather quiet. The pool was cool and refreshing given the 106 degree day!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Redlands, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are glad to hear that your stay at our Redlands property was one of enjoyment; that you were provided a room that best suited your needs, and that the crisp and clean pool was to your liking during the 100+ degree weather. We hope you liked our newly remodeled rooms and our free continental breakfast. Please know that in our Motel 6 property, we also offer free Wi-Fi and parking. We are open twenty four hours and we also have one of the best Motel 6 that the city of Redlands has to offer. We hope to see you again at Motel 6 Redlands.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Motel 6 gets 5 stars for delivering more than I expected. No, I did not get the amenities I would see in a 4 star hotel. But I did not want to pay for a 4 star hotel. I wanted to spend as little money as possible for a clean, safe room. To that end, I was very happy with my stay. My husband, 2 cats and I all spent a lovely night for way less (many places charge a ridiculous amount for pets, or charge extra for WiFi) than any other place I could find.

It's been newly renovated, and the vinyl flooring was a clean, welcome change from the well-worn rugs you see at most places. Nice big flat screen TV with plenty of channels available. The bath/shower had great water pressure (one of the things I really care about). The room was very clean, the mattress nice and firm. The air conditioning system cooled the whole room in a matter of minutes on a day when the temperature was well over 100 degrees. And might I say, it was a really large room.

All the employees I dealt with were friendly and helpful. Great hospitality!

There are a lot of places to eat within a few blocks of the motel. And if you have someplace particular in mind, the proximity to the highway makes it easy to get around.

Overall, I was very impressed with what I got for the price I paid. I recommend it to anyone who wants a nice room at a great price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Redlands, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for the wonderful review you have on your recent stay at our Redlands property. We are elated to hear of the wonderful experience you had with our newly remodeled and immaculate rooms. Since we are a pet friendly hotel, and we don't like to prohibit our valued guest from not bringing their pets along, we charge a minimal fee for pets. As you saw on your stay, all our room are newly remodeled with vinyl floor, flat screen television, new beds and an overall clean ambiance. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Redlands California.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While the initial rating of this hotel was two stars, I think it is working it's way up.

The experience began with the front counter hospitality of the employee, Lucinda. Lucinda was courteous and friendly. She answered all of our questions and made our check in process quick and convenient.

We also had the opportunity to deal with Veronica at the front desk during our visit. Veronica was friendly and helpful as well.

The newly remodeled room was clean and comfortable. Although, the was no dresser or closet to store out belongings.

Although the rooms were clean and comfortable, we might suggest that the management clean up the exterior of the hotel. There was trash and debris under the stairs going up to the second floor. The pool was clean and the water was nice. However, the surrounding stucco and trim was pealing and dirty.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. The location was close to the university. It was easily accessible to grocery and eateries.

Hospitality was excellent.

Thanks!

Room Tip: The room was quiet when closed up. However, we were right off the the busy Colton Avenue and there w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Redlands, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for deciding to stay at our newly remodeled Motel 6 property. We greatly value all the feedback that is brought up by our valued guests. Hospitality is our number one goal here at Motel 6. We are glad that our amazing front desk team members shined for you and provided for you and your family great customer service. We will look into improving those areas you have just mentioned. We hope that on your next visit to Motel 6 Redlands, you will be able to see how much we have improved since your last visit.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Disgusting, but Staff were absolutely wonderful. Blankets dirty, was told they didn't have anymore and they were just stained. Took blanket off, gravel on sheet,took the sheet off hair on mattress cover. splatter on walls, toilet paper holder coming out of the wall. The pool was so cloudy, jacuzzi green; filthy walkways. Horrible smells in corridor, people smoking dope. Stayed one night and was saved by Ayers across the street.

Room Tip: Spend $20 more and stay somewhere else. This hotel caters to vouchers and young adults who need a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Redlands, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Please apologize us for the inconvenience your encountered while staying at Motel 6 Redlands. Please know that as much as we love to keep our rooms in top and immaculate condition, there are going to be instances where mistakes are going to be made by our housekeeping team. Also, the action taken by the front desk agents was unprofessional. It would have been better and courteous if we had moved you to a different room. I would have gladly shown you a room and would have help you decide which room would be better for you and for your family. We will also make it a point to keep all hallways clean and we will specially speak with our pool guy so he does not miss any of the days he is schedule to service our pool. We hope you will be able to provide us with one more chance at showing you all the improvements we have made since your last stay.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This location is advertised as newly renovated. Furniture did look new, but minimalist at best. No closet just hooks on the wall. No dresser just a few shelves under the hooks. Room clean but the sidewalks and parking area filthy. We were forced to stay one night until we could rebook. When we stated our dissatisfaction the response "Well this is a Motel 6" We did receive a refund. Stay at your own risk.

Room Tip: The east side of hotel is subject to Freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Redlands, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Please apologize us for the inconvenience you encountered while visiting the Redlands area. Please know that we take great pride in saying that we are one of the best Motel 6 in the area. As you were able to see, the entire property has been fully remodeled. We offer all our guest free Wi-Fi, parking and continental breakfast. As much as we would like to have everything in top condition and clean, we have valued guests such as yourself that provide us with feedback on where improvement is needed. We thank you for this feedback, and we will make sure to talk with all our team members so cleaning issues just as the one you encounter will not happen again. We would love to see you back at our property if you are ever visiting the city of Redlands.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Checked in to Motel 6 with a dog, place is newly renovated. Because of dog had to stay in smoking room, it had a strong odor but with windiw open it resolved. The staff is primo in assistance and general friendliness. They made the visit worthwide just to meet them. Central location to fast food restaurants and I 10 which met my immefiate need.
Rooms are basic, but they Have flat screen tv, cable lots of channell. Bathroom eas clean as was the linen.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Redlands, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on our property on your recent stay at Motel 6 Redlands. As you were able to see, our Redlands Motel 6 is newly remodeled. The fully furnished rooms do have a flat screen television, wooden floors, microwave, fridge and Iron with Iron board. Motel 6 Redlands, also offers free Wi-Fi, parking and continental breakfast. Yes, we are also centrally located and we are less than two minutes away from the I-10 freeway, which can take you anywhere in the city. Thank you again for the wonderful review and we hope to see you again on your next visit to the Ontario area.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Redlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Redlands

Address: 1120 West Colton Ave., Redlands, CA 92374 (Formerly Howard Johnson Redlands)
Location: United States > California > Redlands
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Redlands
#4 Family Hotel in Redlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Redlands 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Redlands is located off of I-10 and Tennessee Street, just a short drive from Southern CA Ski Areas. California's Moreno Beach is only 13 miles away. Enjoy our modern rooms, outdoor pool, and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Redlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Redlands Hotel Redlands
Redlands Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Redlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.