We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WEEKEND VISIT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Redlands

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Redlands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Redlands
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1120 West Colton Ave., Redlands, CA 92374 (Formerly Howard Johnson Redlands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Redlands
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WEEKEND VISIT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

While the initial rating of this hotel was two stars, I think it is working it's way up.

The experience began with the front counter hospitality of the employee, Lucinda. Lucinda was courteous and friendly. She answered all of our questions and made our check in process quick and convenient.

We also had the opportunity to deal with Veronica at the front desk during our visit. Veronica was friendly and helpful as well.

The newly remodeled room was clean and comfortable. Although, the was no dresser or closet to store out belongings.

Although the rooms were clean and comfortable, we might suggest that the management clean up the exterior of the hotel. There was trash and debris under the stairs going up to the second floor. The pool was clean and the water was nice. However, the surrounding stucco and trim was pealing and dirty.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. The location was close to the university. It was easily accessible to grocery and eateries.

Hospitality was excellent.

Thanks!

Room Tip: The room was quiet when closed up. However, we were right off the the busy Colton Avenue and there w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Redlands, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for deciding to stay at our newly remodeled Motel 6 property. We greatly value all the feedback that is brought up by our valued guests. Hospitality is our number one goal here at Motel 6. We are glad that our amazing front desk team members shined for you and provided for you and your family great customer service. We will look into improving those areas you have just mentioned. We hope that on your next visit to Motel 6 Redlands, you will be able to see how much we have improved since your last visit.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    4
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
4
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Disgusting, but Staff were absolutely wonderful. Blankets dirty, was told they didn't have anymore and they were just stained. Took blanket off, gravel on sheet,took the sheet off hair on mattress cover. splatter on walls, toilet paper holder coming out of the wall. The pool was so cloudy, jacuzzi green; filthy walkways. Horrible smells in corridor, people smoking dope. Stayed one night and was saved by Ayers across the street.

Room Tip: Spend $20 more and stay somewhere else. This hotel caters to vouchers and young adults who need a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Redlands, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Please apologize us for the inconvenience your encountered while staying at Motel 6 Redlands. Please know that as much as we love to keep our rooms in top and immaculate condition, there are going to be instances where mistakes are going to be made by our housekeeping team. Also, the action taken by the front desk agents was unprofessional. It would have been better and courteous if we had moved you to a different room. I would have gladly shown you a room and would have help you decide which room would be better for you and for your family. We will also make it a point to keep all hallways clean and we will specially speak with our pool guy so he does not miss any of the days he is schedule to service our pool. We hope you will be able to provide us with one more chance at showing you all the improvements we have made since your last stay.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This location is advertised as newly renovated. Furniture did look new, but minimalist at best. No closet just hooks on the wall. No dresser just a few shelves under the hooks. Room clean but the sidewalks and parking area filthy. We were forced to stay one night until we could rebook. When we stated our dissatisfaction the response "Well this is a Motel 6" We did receive a refund. Stay at your own risk.

Room Tip: The east side of hotel is subject to Freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Redlands, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Please apologize us for the inconvenience you encountered while visiting the Redlands area. Please know that we take great pride in saying that we are one of the best Motel 6 in the area. As you were able to see, the entire property has been fully remodeled. We offer all our guest free Wi-Fi, parking and continental breakfast. As much as we would like to have everything in top condition and clean, we have valued guests such as yourself that provide us with feedback on where improvement is needed. We thank you for this feedback, and we will make sure to talk with all our team members so cleaning issues just as the one you encounter will not happen again. We would love to see you back at our property if you are ever visiting the city of Redlands.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Checked in to Motel 6 with a dog, place is newly renovated. Because of dog had to stay in smoking room, it had a strong odor but with windiw open it resolved. The staff is primo in assistance and general friendliness. They made the visit worthwide just to meet them. Central location to fast food restaurants and I 10 which met my immefiate need.
Rooms are basic, but they Have flat screen tv, cable lots of channell. Bathroom eas clean as was the linen.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Redlands, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on our property on your recent stay at Motel 6 Redlands. As you were able to see, our Redlands Motel 6 is newly remodeled. The fully furnished rooms do have a flat screen television, wooden floors, microwave, fridge and Iron with Iron board. Motel 6 Redlands, also offers free Wi-Fi, parking and continental breakfast. Yes, we are also centrally located and we are less than two minutes away from the I-10 freeway, which can take you anywhere in the city. Thank you again for the wonderful review and we hope to see you again on your next visit to the Ontario area.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Motel 6 in Redlands is a wonderful place to stay.The staff is very friendly and helpful. Angie is the best! Me and my son need a place to stay quickly and also needed a place that was pet friendly also.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Redlands, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
It brings us such a joy to hear that your experience at our newly remodeled property was one of fun and relaxation. As you and your son were able to see during your stay, our newly remodeled rooms come with a brand new flat screen television, we offer free Wi-Fi, parking and a small breakfast every morning. Our team members are always providing an absolute best customer service and it shows be the great comment guest like you provide for all future guest to read. We hope to see you and your son on your next visit to the city of Redlands.

Kindly,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I really wanted to like this place. I needed something simple. Did not spend a lot of time in the room. Just needed a shower and a bed.

The sheets were dirty and covered in hair. I had the sheets changed but it wasn't any better. The next morning when I turned on the lights, the cockroaches made their presence known by scurrying back under the baseboards. I think people are actually living here.

The room had been remodeled, no carpets, so you can really hear your neighbors stomping around. I wore earplugs and that helped.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Redlands, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay at Motel 6 Redlands. We do take into great consideration all feedback positive or negative. As all feedback is for the better of the hotel and future guests. We will look into speaking with the company that provide us with bedsheets so that they can provide us with better and cleaner bedsheets. And we will also speak with our housekeeping team so that they can do a better job with the cleaning or our rooms. We hope that you will be able to provide us with another opportunity at staying at our property so that you may see all the improvements we have made since your last visit.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The Motel 6 in Redlands has been newly remodeled and its fabulous! All the modern amenities on a budget I can afford. The Staff is very friendly and helpful. Angie is the best! I'll definitely being staying here any chance I get! Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 Redlands, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for providing us and future guests with such a detailed review on your recent stay at Motel 6 Redlands. You are correct when you say that all the rooms have been nicely updated and for all the modern amenities, it is in fact a bargain to stay at such clean and up-to-date hotel. Also, thank you for the wonderful comments you have regarding our team members. Here at Mote 6 Redlands, it is our goal to treat all our guest with the best possible customer service, and thanks you what you have just mentioned above, we know we are doing just that; providing our guest with great customer service.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Redlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Redlands

Address: 1120 West Colton Ave., Redlands, CA 92374 (Formerly Howard Johnson Redlands)
Location: United States > California > Redlands
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Redlands
#4 Romantic Hotel in Redlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Redlands 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Redlands is located off of I-10 and Tennessee Street, just a short drive from Southern CA Ski Areas. California's Moreno Beach is only 13 miles away. Enjoy our modern rooms, outdoor pool, and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Redlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Redlands Hotel Redlands
Redlands Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Redlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.