We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Suites Redding

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Oxford Suites Redding to your Saves list
Oxford Suites Redding
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1967 Hilltop Drive, Redding, CA 96002   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct - Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Redding
Maui
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What a great little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

We always stay at Marriott hotels but there was not a Marriott in Redding, California so we made reservations at this Oxford hotel. We had never heard of the brand before but it looked nice and clean. Mary was the lady that helped us on the phone and she was super nice and helpful. Our stay was just perfect. We were only passing through but such a nice, clean comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    122
    47
    26
    11
See reviews for
164
104
29
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

My wife and I were travelling north from California to Victoria, Canada with our three children when the weather caused the I-5 to shut down near Mt. Shasta. We decided to make the most of it, and spend the night in Redding. After checking out a few hotels, and realizing that an indoor pools were hard to come by, we found the Oxford Suites.

The lobby looked very classy, the front desk gentleman was very helpful, and eveb though the pool was outside, it was very warm, and we enjoyed it very much. It was a similar price to other hotels, but with the complimentary beverages, evening reception, and breakfast, works out to be a better deal than Motel 6. The room was spacious, with 2 Queen beds, and a separate sitting room with a couch, desk, and a 2nd TV. When you have small children, this is very practical.

We will definately stay at Oxford Suites again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

We found ourselves upgraded to a large suite ( with a hospitality bar), with a separate bedroom and a flat screen TV in each room. As it was pouring rain it was wonderful to enjoy their evening reception with two comp. glasses of wine each along with two great soups and a salad, Cheese and crackers were also offered. Ample portions that served as our dinner. The hot cooked breakfast the next morning was very good.

This was our first stay at an Oxford Suites and will look for them again in our travels.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Oxford Suites tries really hard. There is a good team of service personnel; a respectable manager's reception and breakfast service; a clean, up to date property. However, there are a few problems that make it less than exceptional:

1) The absolute worst pillows I have ever encountered, and I have the stiff neck to prove it. Felt like I was sleeping on an overstuffed sponge.

2) Noisy plumbing. I heard five or six different pitches of water hammer in my room, which made it hard to sleep on the funky pillows in the first place..

3) TV in the bedroom but not the sitting area.

4) No door separating the bedroom from the sitting area.

5) A comfortable chair with a reading lamp IN THE BEDROOM.

What if someone wants to stay awake without disturbing sleeping family members? Isn't that one of the the purposes of a suite?

Oxford Suites sure has a nice convenience store in the lobby. Wish the company would redirect that investment to deal with some of these issues.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

The property is a solid 3 star. Surprisingly nice spacious suites in good condition, comfy beds, fair sound insulation. Breakfast is pretty good. For the price, the room and food is a terrific deal.

This hotel offers terrific service and value. Great service all around. Everyone you encounter is genuinely pleasant, from front desk day and night, housekeeping, restaurant. Not fancy, but you get proficient courteous service.

What sets this hotel apart is the service you get when something goes wrong. Everyone will go the extra mile to fix whatever it is that is troubling you--from housekeeping to front desk. Little extra services with a smile make everything work out. Now if only all 4 and 5 star hotels would treat you like that!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

We stayed at Oxford and were so pleased! Dog friendly room with wood floor, no nasty carpet. The king bed was the most comfortable we've ever slept in....with lots of great pillows too! The room had a separate living area with couch, chair, desk and another TV, along with microwave and frig. We enjoyed the hot tub when we arrived. The happy hour in the evening is amazing, one free drink and this night they served spaghetti and salad! The breakfast was really good too. An all around great place to stay and great value.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at 3 different Oxford Suites and have enjoyed each one. (Their brand new property in Boise Idaho is FANTASTIC). We asked for a quiet room and got one on the 3rd floor (top floor). It was a suite--sitting room and bedroom with bath. Because it is a suite, the rooms feel a little small, but there is plenty of storage, a tv in each room and a refrigerator with a small freezer space in it. Each evening, except Sunday, they have a guest reception with appetizers and beverages. For us, it is our dinner. Their breakfasts are hot, with a cook right there to make things. When we travel in Washington, Idaho, Oregon and California we always check to see if there is an Oxford Suites on our route because we think we get a great value for our money.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oxford Suites Redding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Redding

Address: 1967 Hilltop Drive, Redding, CA 96002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Redding
#3 Best Value Hotel in Redding
#6 Romantic Hotel in Redding
#7 Family Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Suites Redding 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located in the heart of California’s outdoor recreation country, the Oxford Suites Redding is just a short drive away from the Redding Convention Center, Redding Soccer Park, Bethel Church and Simpson University. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Airport Shuttle, Outdoor Pool, Spa & Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oxford Suites Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Redding Hotel Redding
Oxford Hotel Redding

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford Suites Redding, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.