We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean & comfortble” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Redding

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Redding to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Redding
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1830 Hilltop Drive, Redding, CA 96002   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Redding
Redding
1 review
“Very clean & comfortble”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The hotel was spotless, the bed was so nice. The pool area and work out room were clean and refreshing. Staff were polite and kind. Great hotel I would recommend if you are in the Redding, CA area.
Thx

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLion_Redding, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review, February 12, 2015
Clean, spotless and good service. Great to hear, please return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    123
    72
    27
    23
See reviews for
115
87
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I experienced a lack of caring for security at this hotel. When I went to my room, I found the door open...not locked; asked for a different room, they said none was available. When unpacking my car, an old car with two men parked 40 feet from me watching me (I was alone) and stayed there until I started my car to move and then left. Obvious checking out single women for a later breakin of the car. I reported this to the hotel with indifference. And being a bath person, was disappointed that there was only a shower.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLion_Redding, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review, February 12, 2015
We now have a security firm that is on property to provide additional security. I think you'd find things now more secure and a safer feeling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was great, on an interior courtyard that was quiet (hotel is on the interstate). The location is convenient, near the mall. The room was excellent: clean, very comfortable, everything worked except I couldn't work the internet access.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLion_Redding, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review, February 12, 2015
All was well with your stay except for connecting to the internet - FIXED - great connections now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The staff was able to check us in early and provide us with the room we had requested. We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony along with the cleanliness of the room. This is a great place to stay if you're in the Redding area.
Tom

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLion_Redding, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review, February 12, 2015
In our book you are #1 - That helps makes us, "Redding's Lodging Leader."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Very nice hotel with hot tub and nice grounds. encourages us to bring our pet and welcomes us with our pet. lovely room, although old fashioned, everything is up to date, the rooms are large and adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLion_Redding, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review, February 12, 2015
Pet heaven. So accommodating for those with critters of all kinds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Actual rating = 3.5

We are quite fond of Red Lion Hotels and the one in Redding is one of the best. The front desk staff at this location are especially friendly and helpful. Getting to this hotel is as easy as it gets, Hilltop Dr. runs parallel to I-5 with major interchanges at the north and south ends. Hilltop also has many restaurants to choose from, it's a short walk to any number of great food choices. Unfortunately the Red Lion has two floors and NO elevator. We didn't find our double queen room to be very large by current standards, nor was it tiny. It's nice to have a little extra space with a balcony. The pool area is excellent, better than many in northern California. The lounge in the lobby is a very popular spot for the locals and is often super busy, a nice change from the usual boring lobby bar.
Red Lion often responds aggressively to Priceline bids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLion_Redding, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review, February 12, 2015
We roar during the day and purr at night. Thanks for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Arrived after 19 hours of travel to find our booked room already paid for with 2 Queen beds had been given to someone else. Receptionists abrupt and not at all apologetic. Were given a room with a Roll away and Queen bed so VERY unimpressed with customer service as they so couldn't have cared less and we had no option! In the morning we were greeted by Rasey who was soooooo helpful our entire stay of 8 nights, she was very apologetic and moved us after 2 nights into the room we had booked with complimentary breakfast to endeavour to make amends. Hotel was clean although our room was missed on servicing on one occasion. Would we stay there again? If we could be sure Rasey was there yes otherwise no. Breakfast became very monotonous after a few mornings and the coffee was always lukewarm and they ran out of orange juice by the end. So sadly not a great first visit to Redding for us.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLion_Redding, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review, February 12, 2015
Yes, Rasey is a jewel. She loves her guests and does work hard to make your experience and enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Redding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Redding

Address: 1830 Hilltop Drive, Redding, CA 96002
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Redding
#9 Family Hotel in Redding
#10 Business Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Redding 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Hotel Redding is the gateway to Northern California's recreational playground. Adjacent to I-5, the Red Lion Hotel Redding is just five minutes from downtown and 15 minutes from the airport via our complimentary airport transportation. The Redding Convention Center, Mt. Shasta Mall and excellent golf courses are nearby with Lake Shasta, Whiskey Town Lake, Mt. Lassen Volcanic State Park, the Sundial Bridge and other local attractions just minutes away. Our 192 elegantly appointed and spacious guest rooms and two suites feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel. These include private balconies or patios, king or queen beds, complimentary wi-fi, voicemail and Encore on demand movies. For recreation, try our outdoor pool, whirlpool, kiddie pool and fitness center or relax around our spacious courtyard.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. The 3-Shastas Bar and Grill is available for on-site dining, drinks and entertainment. With 8,731 square feet of meeting space, we are also able to accommodate as few as 10 or as many as 650 for your next conference or special occasion.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Redding Red Lion Hotel is committed to your care, comfort and value. Redding's Lodging Leader. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Redding
Redding Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Redding, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.