We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Military rate=no breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Redding

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Redding to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Redding
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1830 Hilltop Drive, Redding, CA 96002   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Redding
Okinawa, Japan
1 review
“Military rate=no breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I were given a military/government discount rate during our one night stay here. I was thrilled they offer a military discount, but was a little upset when I was informed that we did not qualify for the complimentary breakfast because we were paying at the discounted rate. The whole "take some away to get something else" philosophy doesn't sit well with me, and I believe we should have received the same service we would have without the discount.
Everything else was great and I was happy about the pet policy since it can be difficult to find somewhere to stay that allows dogs.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    127
    72
    28
    24
See reviews for
117
92
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SAFETY HARBOR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I ended up at the Red Lion when my flight out of Redding got cancelled (long story, DO NOT get me started). Counter agent at the airline was very accommodating and called the Red Lion on my behalf and negotiated me a distressed traveller rate. The crew from the inbound flight was staying there as well, so they got me on the shuttle to the hotel with the crew.

Have you ever stayed at one of those cool hotels where it seems like it was built privately, rather than by some chain that builds all of their hotels with a cookie cutter floorplan? This is one of those hotels. It's got a rambling floor plan, a very cool two story lobby, and just a great architectural feel overall.

My room on the ground floor had sliding glass doors that opened up to my own patio furniture. The room was VERY large and spacious, as was the bathroom. The decor, furniture, and amenities of the room all had a slightly upscale feel to them. The bathroom seemed to have been updated with nice countertops, shower stall, tile all around, and just a great feel to it.

Free Wi-Fi was a nice touch. The staff was VERY friendly and accommodating. Breakfast buffet was good.

The only drawback I could mention is a slight musty smell in the room when I first walked in. Like it just needed to be aired out. Fairly common in hotel rooms, so I didn't mind it, but thought I should mention it as the only negative to my ENTIRE stay here.

If I EVER end up back in Redding, I'll be staying at the Red Lion without a doubt!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crescent city
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Very nice accommodations. I usually do not tip cleaning staff, but on this trip it was worth it. Now the rooms were what I expect from a red lion, a grade above the average. What tipped the scale here was that I was a very late check out and even though the management was rushing my daughters and myself , the cleaning staff kept reassuring us and even assisted my 7 year old with her luggage. THe breakfast buffet is well worth the price especially considering my children were free. A word of caution however, if you want to pay cash for the buffet, make sure that you so before they ask you your room number. I paid cash and then when I checked out, I found that the waitress pocketed the $20 and billed it to my room. The staff had no issue crediting my bill, but it did make me wonder. Pool and fitness center are up to par, so for $84.00 a night I was very pleased.

Room Tip: Most rooms are acceptable, if you really want the quite section, then see an interior or north side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Upon entering the room we noticed the filter in the hallway looked as if it been years since replacing and the vints all had a build up of fuzzy dirty. We stayed a few nights and woke up coughing. Thought it would go away, wound up in DR offices during the next few weeks of sleepless nights. Should have asked for a different room or went somewhere else. It is an OLD hotel that smells like one too.

Room Tip: Inspeck the room for cleaness. If not, go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ckorol, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I received your survey about the concerns related to your experience with the air filter in the hallway. I want to assure you that our staff does their best to insure our guests receive the service, accommodations and attentiveness they deserve and I apologize we fell short during your stay. I appreciate your concern and we are doing everything in our power to insure this does not happen again in the future.

Our consistent goals of cleanliness, food quality, security and friendly service require diligent attention to feedback from our guests. We have already addressed your experience to insure future guests have a more positive experience. Your added input has been additionally helpful. Thank you for your correspondence.

Please accept my sincerest apologies. I hope that you will give Red Lion another opportunity to delivery our usually impeccable product and service in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had never stayed at a Red Lion before and I have to say I was very pleased. It is in a nice location, the staff are very nice and helpful and the pool is great! The breakfast was very nice. The rooms were clean and comfortable. And we walked down the street to a good Mexican restaurant (the one on the same side as the hotel) and had a nice dinner.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back of the hotel on the ground floor and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for over a week and enjoyed every minute of it. I think I went for a swim just about everyday in their beautiful pool.

From the friendly staff at check in, accommodating kitchen staff and the awesome breakfast, we were pleased from start to finish.


The only place I see they could improve is their business center. While their computer is fast and up to date, there is only one and it is right out in the center of all the busyness, making it a little hard to concentrate when writing for business.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room that opens to the courtyard. They negotiate, so if you ask, you can get one fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a very nice experience at the Red Lion in Redding. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating. It was just my daughter and myself heading home after a vacation in L.A. The rate was very affordable.

Room Tip: Talk with the staff at the front desk and explain your needs. They are very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Red Lion Hotel Redding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Redding

Address: 1830 Hilltop Drive, Redding, CA 96002
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Redding
#9 Business Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Redding 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Hotel Redding is the gateway to Northern California's recreational playground. Adjacent to I-5, the Red Lion Hotel Redding is just five minutes from downtown and 15 minutes from the airport via our complimentary airport transportation. The Redding Convention Center, Mt. Shasta Mall and excellent golf courses are nearby with Lake Shasta, Whiskey Town Lake, Mt. Lassen Volcanic State Park, the Sundial Bridge and other local attractions just minutes away. Our 192 elegantly appointed and spacious guest rooms and two suites feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel. These include private balconies or patios, king or queen beds, complimentary wi-fi, voicemail and Encore on demand movies. For recreation, try our outdoor pool, whirlpool, kiddie pool and fitness center or relax around our spacious courtyard.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. The 3-Shastas Bar and Grill is available for on-site dining, drinks and entertainment. With 8,731 square feet of meeting space, we are also able to accommodate as few as 10 or as many as 650 for your next conference or special occasion.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Redding Red Lion Hotel is committed to your care, comfort and value. Redding's Lodging Leader. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Redding
Redding Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Redding, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.