We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool April Nights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Redding

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Redding to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Redding
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1830 Hilltop Drive, Redding, CA 96002   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Redding
Elk Grove, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cool April Nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We just returned from a 4 day stay at the Red Lion Inn in Redding and attended the Cool April Nights car show. We had a great time and really enjoyed our stay there. The location, staff, and rooms were great. The only minor complaint that I would have is the breakfast buffet. We were disappointed in the food and felt that even at $6 per person, that it wasn't very good. Other than that, it was a great trip.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor, but not facing the street. It was quieter than the front rooms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    123
    72
    27
    23
See reviews for
115
87
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lacey, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here while on a road trip from Washington. Best hotel of the trip, we stayed on the way down and on the way up. The second time I was told about the Red Lion Rewards Club. I wish I had known about this before! Free upgrades every time you stay, plus earn points toward a free night. We were upgraded to a king balcony room with breakfast for the price of a queen room. The room was clean and the view of the courtyard was great. However, the breakfast was served between the hours of 6-9 am. We got there at about 8:30. The food was soggy and had obviously been our for over an hour. I'm just glad we got the breakfast for free, because I would not have been happy paying $10 a person for old eggs and soggy potatoes. the fridge in the room did clunk on and off, but I can be a light sleeper. It is a good quality road trip hotel- especially considering most hotels at similar price points are outdated and usually have some kind of smell.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room. Or, if you have lots of things to load and unload, ask for a room with a sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here on our trip to Lassen Volcanic National Park. We were unaware of the cities like Burney and other which are closer to the Park.
Breakfast is not included which is a downside. The rooms are clean and the sleep was comfortable.
It located close to stores and food joints so that was a plus.
Overall, I am not sure I ll come back here for a night, however, it is good if you are not looking for too much value for your buck.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, Washington
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice with a bar and restaurant on site. There was a somewhat limited offering in that they were in the process of completing a remodel project but it was not quite completed. We enjoyed the room and they were pet friendly. We stay there again, all of the staff we very accomodating and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This Red Lion was very nice. We had a lovely large double queen room (upgaded automatically with our RR member card points) that faced a courtyard. For the best rate, call Red Lion, don't use the all-inclusive websites. Red Lion is great to deal with and very accommodating to their members. This is my 3rd location staying at a Red Lion and they have all been very good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

use Red Lion regularly on our biannual trips south...made the mistake of booking on priceline.com rather than using the Red Lion site. Paid $99 plus $16 in "fees and taxes"...not a bad rate for this nice hotel. Plus, you get to see the "fees and taxes" detail.


We were accustomed to the usual Red Lion amenities in the past..as a free mekmber of their "club" you get great rates ( $89), large beds, free breakfasts, great rooms,and they allow pets!. But--if you book through priceline.com..youi get none of that. No large dual beds, no free breakfast, no great rate, unspecified "fees and taxes:, and the lowest level room.

Ive been ripped off like this through priceline too many times. They book lo-cost wholesale rooms and pass them off to the consumer..ensuring they take a nice piece for themselves. You cant cancel without incurring a $7 fee, and they give you no choice of the exact hotel when you bid.

fool me once---fool me twice...buit it wont happen again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times now! But this time we stayed 3 nights and got two rooms. We also have dogs and they are always accommodating! Our friends stayed next door at the holiday inn and payed about 50.00 extra a night! When they saw our room and the easy access in and out with our sliding door to the outside plus the nice interior they were disappointed they didn't stay with us! Thank you R&r club for helping me with the reservation! We had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Redding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Redding

Address: 1830 Hilltop Drive, Redding, CA 96002
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Redding
#10 Business Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Redding 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Hotel Redding is the gateway to Northern California's recreational playground. Adjacent to I-5, the Red Lion Hotel Redding is just five minutes from downtown and 15 minutes from the airport via our complimentary airport transportation. The Redding Convention Center, Mt. Shasta Mall and excellent golf courses are nearby with Lake Shasta, Whiskey Town Lake, Mt. Lassen Volcanic State Park, the Sundial Bridge and other local attractions just minutes away. Our 192 elegantly appointed and spacious guest rooms and two suites feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel. These include private balconies or patios, king or queen beds, complimentary wi-fi, voicemail and Encore on demand movies. For recreation, try our outdoor pool, whirlpool, kiddie pool and fitness center or relax around our spacious courtyard.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. The 3-Shastas Bar and Grill is available for on-site dining, drinks and entertainment. With 8,731 square feet of meeting space, we are also able to accommodate as few as 10 or as many as 650 for your next conference or special occasion.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Redding Red Lion Hotel is committed to your care, comfort and value. Redding's Lodging Leader. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Redding
Redding Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Redding, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.