We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Redding

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Redding to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Redding
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1830 Hilltop Drive, Redding, CA 96002   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Redding
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

They were so nice - treated me and my dog as welcome guests. Gave me a better rate than I was quoted when I made the reservation by phone. The room was clean, fresh, and comfortable. Nice linens and soaps. Room service was great and quick even though it was New Year's eve.

There was a well lit area to walk the dog and feel safe. (Thumbs down on the rude guest who failed to clean up after his dog - you make it tougher on the rest of us!).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    110
    63
    27
    21
See reviews for
105
79
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Stayed 3 nites here and found it to be very pleasant, comfortable and quiet. Excellent buffet breakfast. Room was clean and welcoming. Staff were gracious and helpful. A great stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011 via mobile

When we first entered the halls of the hotel it had a terrible mildew smell, which extended to the room. Right when we walked in you could see that the bathroom was not even cleaned. The toilet and toilet seat were discusting! The shower has Absolutly no pressure. The bed was so old and uncomfortible that neither one of us slept for more than a couple hours. We planned to be there for two nights but checked out after one and went across the street to the Hampton Inn.

Very disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ckorol, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. I was deeply concerned to learn about your experience with the condition of your bathroom and the odor you encountered en route to your room. I want to assure you that our staff does their best to insure our guests receive the service and accommodations in full working order and clean. I sincerely apologize we fell short during your stay. I appreciate your concern and we are doing everything in our power to insure this does not happen again in the future.

Our consistent goals of cleanliness, food quality, security and friendly service require diligent attention to feedback from our guests. We have already addressed your experience to insure future guests have a more positive experience. Your added input has been additionally helpful. Thank you for your correspondence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

My daughter and I stayed 2 nites, but slept just a few hours. It was the loudest place I ever payed almost $300 to stay. No room service or cafe, just a bar. Not even a section in the guest book with food suggestions. on the up side, the employees were nice, although understaffed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ckorol, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience experienced at our property with noise from other guests. I can certainly understand your frustration with not being able to sleep.

Our hotel does occasionally books sports teams which was the case during your stay. Ordinarily teams do not present an issue to other guests in the hotel but unfortunately this time one of the teams was particularly unruly. We will be taking this into consideration should that particular team wish to book again.

Thank you very much for your valuable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

On Oct. 31st we stayed at this property. Very clean. Lobby very attractive. Nice Bar and Grill. Room was spacious and immaculate. Bathrooms very roomy. Very quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard would be more attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathey's Valley, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I am tough to get 5 stars out of, but this place gets the 5 stars. Don't judge a book by its' cover--the outside isn't real appealing, but the property sprawls and is nice inside. Rooms are really nicely updated, looking almost new. Everything was clean and not worn out, lots of good TV channels. Bed was comfy and the room had a soft clean chair and work desk and chair. Breakfast isn't free, but is very good. Eggs, sausage and the usual fare. Plenty of free parking, many good restaurants within walking distance. A mall a mile or so away. Just one very minor problem--the keys didn't work the first time, so had to walk all the way back to the front desk to get the person to do them right. And there is no elevator if climbing stairs are a problem for you.

Room Tip: Have the front desk be thorough and have them do their job right the first time with the room keys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Latest trip to Redding was business and pleasure. The Red Lion Hotel on Hilltop Drive was a perfect location for the conference side of the trip and all the outdoor activities included in this experience. My room overlooked the courtyard and was extremely spacious - double with two queen beds. Desk, free WiFi, coffeemaker, TV (not flat-screen but that's okay), large bathroom with sink and vanity sink outside. Very quiet....but, again, this was an inside room.

Easy access to major freeways and highways and all the outstanding local attractions. Just minutes from Turtle Bay, Sundial Bridge, and downtown. Close to incredible outdoor recreation including fishing, boating, hiking, biking, and soaking up all the beautiful views. Don't forget nearby wineries, farm trails, outlet shopping, and more of those stellar views. Oh, yes, even skiing during the season.

Had the opportunity to enjoy a beer in the 3-Shastas bar & Grill. Manager, Jennifer, provided outstanding service, conversation, and a smile. A 14-year veteran off the hotel...they must be doing something right to keep her on staff. And a hiccup in our conference rooms, the banquet manager, Ron, came to the rescue and had everything back on track.

Dog friendly, too! Walking to many nearby restaurant chains but also ask about local recommendations.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Redding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Redding

Address: 1830 Hilltop Drive, Redding, CA 96002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Redding
#11 Business Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Redding 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Hotel Redding is the gateway to Northern California's recreational playground. Adjacent to I-5, the Red Lion Hotel Redding is just five minutes from downtown and 15 minutes from the airport via our complimentary airport transportation. The Redding Convention Center, Mt. Shasta Mall and excellent golf courses are nearby with Lake Shasta, Whiskey Town Lake, Mt. Lassen Volcanic State Park, the Sundial Bridge and other local attractions just minutes away.Our 192 elegantly appointed and spacious guest rooms and two suites feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel. These include private balconies or patios, king or queen beds, complimentary wi-fi, voicemail and Encore on demand movies. For recreation, try our outdoor pool, whirlpool, kiddie pool and fitness center or relax around our spacious courtyard.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. The 3-Shastas Bar and Grill is available for on-site dining, drinks and entertainment. With 8,731 square feet of meeting space, we are also able to accommodate as few as 10 or as many as 650 for your next conference or special occasion.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Redding Red Lion Hotel is committed to your care, comfort and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Redding
Redding Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Redding, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.