We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Comfy Bed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Redding

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Redding to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Redding
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1830 Hilltop Drive, Redding, CA 96002   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Redding
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Comfy Comfy Bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We checked in really late (just after 1 am) due to our travel schedule. The king room was very spacious and the bed was the best we had slept in for a long time.
Only main downfall is there is no lift (elevator) and therefore had to haul a big suitcase up the stairs. Not sure an older couple could do this.
My husband enjoyed the breakfast as I made the most of sleeping in.

Room Tip: Make the most of the comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    123
    72
    27
    23
See reviews for
115
87
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

My wife called to reserve a room and she asked about a military discount. "No problem" you just need to show your military ID card. That was not the same answer we got when arrived for a late check in. The answer she got then was there is no room at that rate and it is full price. A $140.00, now I would not complain but the room had a strong moldy smell. The bed also sank into the middle so all night I felt I was rolling down a hill. So we will not be back since there are other places in the same area that honor their phone rates have fresher smelling rooms, more comfortable bedsand for a better price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa Valley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

I booked two rooms for a family trip for 4 adults. This hotel is very nice, it's older but in a good way. It has a nice pool and spa area that is accesible to the bar so you can get a drink and sit poolside (no glass but cans or plastic cups are OK). The landscaping is mature so there are shade trees around. The room was lovely, super comfortable bed with plenty of pillows. The check in and out was smooth. Breakfast buffet was $4.95 for hotel guests and included bacon, sausage, eggs, pancakes, french toast. Yes, the pancakes came out of a machine but there were more than enough choices. They also provided to-go coffee cups to take some with you. The parking lot is sprawling so you can park close to your room. The property has a nice wrought iron style fence with key card gates for easy accesibility plus added security. The rooms have sliding glass doors to either patios on the ground floor or balconies on the upper floors.

I couldn't see a thing to complain about. I did notice that the TV's are the old style but I never turned it on so it didn't bother me at all.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed there with a Road Scholar tour and it was excellent. The rooms were newly renovated and nicely appointed with large area and clean bathrooms. After being in Carson City, NV at a miserable place this was a welcomed respite. Go see the Sundial Bridge in the evening while you are there. The food was excellent with a terrific happy hour menu.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed 1 night in June 2011. The front desk took 35 minutes to check us in. We get to the room to find it smells like dog. We go down to front desk to ask for another room. We get ignored - because front desk is helping another person. Its 12:45 am before they put us into another room. Altogether Check -in was 50 minutes! We are so tired at this point and go to bed only to wake up and look at this room in the morning , it had toe nail clippings on the carpet by the desk, a broken hair barrette, and a popcorn kernels on the floor! We have decided we will never again stay at another Red Lion in.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We were on our way from Seattle to Palm Springs and stayed one night in Redding at the Red Lion. Beds were comfortable, room was clean, but the breakfast needs a little help. I think that is true with most free breakfast. I would stay again though.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I've aimed for Redding on many trans I-5 Canada- LA drives. The Red Lion has seen it's up and downs over the years. Right now. It's Up and pleasantly , easily , pet friendly.
Nicely updated, clean, terrific staff.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Redding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Redding

Address: 1830 Hilltop Drive, Redding, CA 96002
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Redding
#9 Family Hotel in Redding
#10 Business Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Redding 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Hotel Redding is the gateway to Northern California's recreational playground. Adjacent to I-5, the Red Lion Hotel Redding is just five minutes from downtown and 15 minutes from the airport via our complimentary airport transportation. The Redding Convention Center, Mt. Shasta Mall and excellent golf courses are nearby with Lake Shasta, Whiskey Town Lake, Mt. Lassen Volcanic State Park, the Sundial Bridge and other local attractions just minutes away. Our 192 elegantly appointed and spacious guest rooms and two suites feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel. These include private balconies or patios, king or queen beds, complimentary wi-fi, voicemail and Encore on demand movies. For recreation, try our outdoor pool, whirlpool, kiddie pool and fitness center or relax around our spacious courtyard.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. The 3-Shastas Bar and Grill is available for on-site dining, drinks and entertainment. With 8,731 square feet of meeting space, we are also able to accommodate as few as 10 or as many as 650 for your next conference or special occasion.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Redding Red Lion Hotel is committed to your care, comfort and value. Redding's Lodging Leader. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Redding
Redding Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Redding, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.