We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you expect the least, you won't be disappointed.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Redding Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Redding Central to your Saves list
Motel 6 Redding Central
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1640 Hilltop Drive, Redding, CA 96002   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 40 Hotels in Redding
Santa Cruz, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“If you expect the least, you won't be disappointed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We stayed one night here on a drive from California to Oregon, partly because they would accept our dog, and there's a PetCo and Chevy's across the street, and the well-reviewed La Conquista on the same block. The staff was nice, swimming pool closed for the winter, room minimal but mostly clean, shower but no bathtub, and the bed was hard but adequate. For $2.99 you can get a scratch off ticket that gives you an access code for 24 hours of WiFi service in select rooms. Agonizingly slow WiFi service, suitable for checking email but not much else. We appreciate the pet friendly aspect, but few guests clean up after their dogs, making the small lawn areas pretty revolting.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m60095, Manager at Motel 6 Redding Central, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the M6 Redding (Central). I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Motel 6, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    4
    11
    9
See reviews for
7
6
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arcata, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

I think it's about the best you will get for under 60.00 a night. their are cheaper motels but most of them are old, run down, not kept up, and have people living in them. And if you want a ritzy room those hotels are 100.00+, We seem to stay at this motel 6 every time our family comes to Redding. The most important thing about a hotel are 1. Their really clean and 2. great price, so you can save your money for other things.
This place is clean, clean shower, newer, clean everything not even any built up dust, they'll give you plenty of towels, clean pool great for the kids, & gets lots of sun, Great shopping location on hilltop next to Mall, close to lots of eateries and clothing stores, safeway, ect. The only cons are that it is by a freeway, but with redding it's either gonna be very hot or very cold, and the A/C works great, and blocks out any noise, even without the a/c it would not be enough to keep me up. Also, when any motel is inexpensive, you do run the risk of party people renting them out and being loud, the walls are thin but seems about the same as any other hotel i've been in. I did have party people in the room next to me 1 night and they were up late. I had to get up early so i ended up just calling the office and the guy was Soo nice and sorry for this, he came right up and told them to be quiet or leave, and that took care of that. If you wanna save money and not sacrifice cleanliness, this is a great spot.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Deal breaker: dried blood on the bed spread and colorful stains on the sheets. I could not wait to get out of there. Was only there to sleep, so I could attend my niece's soccer final in Redding. Walls are thin. You can hear your neighbors on either side of you AND below you. You can also hear the freeway traffic, which your motel room faces. Check in was good.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Check in and our staff was friendly and accommodating. Basic room and bath. Non smoking room still had ashtray and retained smell of cigarettes and alcohol. Was not able to access the "free" wi fi. Road noise high as location is right next to the freeway.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Room very dirty: blood on the door frame in the bathroom, brown on walls in the bathroom, shower filthy, bedspreads dirthy with crusty stuff. Stayed two nights, second night nothing was cleaned, the only thing done was one bed made and a new bar of soap! Very noisy and small uncomfortable beds. Woke up both mornings with my back hurting.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
over there
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

Pros: GREAT location, tons of shopping, easy freeway access and close to Downtown. I only paid $46.95 with tax, It was quite clean, the staff was nice and the pool looked decent.

Cons: Small Rooms and my A/C didn't work all that well, thats it.

Over all I would recomend this motel.

  • Liked — Price, Cleanliness and Location
  • Disliked — Size and bad air conditioner
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2007

This hotel is old, dingy, and the rooms are horribly small. The room smelled funny and the floors were dirty! Our socks were black on the bottom. The beds are right up against the wall and they are not comfortable at all. The bathroom was very dingy and the shower was small and just yucky! I would never stay here again! I guess you really do get what you pay for!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Redding Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Redding Central

Address: 1640 Hilltop Drive, Redding, CA 96002
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 40 Hotels in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Redding Central 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Redding Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Redding
Motel Six Redding
Redding Motel Six
Redding Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Redding Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.