We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This has really gone downhill!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Redding South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Redding South to your Saves list
Motel 6 Redding South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2385 Bechelli Lane, I-5 at Cypress Avenue, Redding, CA 96001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Redding
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“This has really gone downhill!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I have stayed here many times over the last eight years or so and have always been pleased with the service and accommodation which was always reliably clean and safe. I have recommended this place to friends and fellow travelers
I spent the night the other day and was horrified at the filthy toilet, the huge stains on the carpet and a door which was almost impossible to lock and also appeared to have been forced in the recent past. I should have complained, but I had driven 700 miles and was exhausted. There were many unsupervised children who were making a huge noise.
I will have to find a new stop on my travels through Redding

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    18
    6
    12
See reviews for
17
18
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Typical no-frills Motel 6 amenities, but stands above others in cleanliness and the friendliness of desk clerks (on both check-in and check-out). Unlike most M6's, our room had a full bath tub instead of dinky shower stall.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Wyoming
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Clean, quiet enough, the room was small with one bed. NO coffee pot or clock or other such extras were in the room but we did get HBO.They charged $2.99 a day for internet! The place is priced like the nicer motels I stayed in but just isnt as nice, except for the price it would classify as an 'economical' one night only stay! This is the first place I ever saw a safety warning on the door to lock both locks and they are not responsible for theft from vehichles. not a great sign?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011 via mobile

Have stayed here at least ten tmes And always get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I reserved on the phone, and was told I would get two queen beds and a room not facing the freeway. I arrived 10 minutes later and got one bed and a room facing the freeway. It was too late for me to look for something else, so I settled for it. The front desk clerk claimed it did not face the freeway, but it most certainly did.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I've stayed @ this location prior & was pleased. Not any longer! The woman I made the reservations with said I'd have 2 beds (for my teenage son & 1 for meI). Arrived & they only had a room w/1 bed. The lady @ the front desk was friendly. I found hair on my pillow, between the sheets & on the towel in the bathroom. I thought it was odd, but didn't think twice about the flea that jumped on my arm before bed. Turned off A/C & went to bed. Itched most of the night. In the morning walked to the bathroom-feet started to feel pinching only to find 10-20 fleas on each foot! The warm air apparently woke up the flea infested room. Packed up quickly & told the front desk. Was offered 50% of next stay at that location. Not Happy!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is a typical Motel 6: no worse and not better really. The room was clean and everything worked fine in the room. Front counter staff was friendly and the check-in clerk even called me up 30 minutes after I settled in to see if everything was OK. This motel is right on Interstate 5 so it is noisy. They set me up with a room facing west (away from the freeway) and it was quiet. Other rooms on the east side may be noisy. The only problem was that the bed was pretty bad. You could feel every spring in the mattress. The mattress pad may have been queen-size at one time but at shrunk to some odd size somewhere between twin and full. I’d say that the bed was my only problem.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from I-5 for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Redding South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Redding South

Address: 2385 Bechelli Lane, I-5 at Cypress Avenue, Redding, CA 96001
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Redding South 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Redding South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Redding South Hotel Redding
Motel Six Redding
Redding Motel 6
Redding Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Redding South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.