We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Redding

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Redding
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn - Redding to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Redding
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2731 Bechelli Lane, Redding, CA 96002   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Redding
ETNA
1 review
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Was very dissatisfied. What you see is not what you get. The door was real dirty. The walls in some spots were also not clean. Requested a change in rooms, and it was just a little better. With all the money they get you'd think they could put some money into fixing the place up. They look pretty good on the outside. We booked the room for two days. Didn't want to stay the first night but did. Second day went somewhere else. Wanted to swim but the pool had algae and leave...very dirty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley J, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Redding, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about our property. We are working hard to resolve and correct any problems you may have had. Our housekeeping department has been advised and have reviewed our cleaning policy. I do apologize that you did not feel comfortable here, but want to assure you that your issues have been addressed and we hope to see you again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    31
    31
    35
    115
See reviews for
75
46
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NEVADA CITY
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Fine for the price.

This is an older facility adjacent to the freeway.

blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah

Apparently a review is not acceptable unless it is more than two lines long.

What ever.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I am filling this out for 2 staff who stayed at your hotel. They said it was very ghetto, with what seemed like drugs and prostitute activities going on. They also said it wasn't very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Point
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

the location was convenient for our conference. the room was adequate and clean. things were a little shabby on the edges, that is to say a little warn. the breakfast was less than expected (coffee was weak, fruit was the lowest grade).

I don't think I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS BANOS
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Needed a room to share with a sibling while visiting our father in the hospital in Redding. The location was good for us, as was the price. The a/c did a good job of keeping the area of the room with the sink cool, but was not so good on the area where the beds are. There was no housekeeping during our stay. The TV seems to be whatever they can get from Chico, more snow than Mt. Shasta had. The in-coffee was slightly better than not having coffee. There is a great bagel place across the street, however. Consider bring your own towel. The shower surround was cracked and you need both hands to pullout the knob to get the water on. The toilet seems to be from an elementary school.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEBASTOPOL
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Not a bad nights sleep. Clean, and to the point. Nothing extra (except that one of the towels in the bathroom was folded like a really fancy place). No complaints. (Actually, I was pleased by one thing in particular, and it was an act omission, not commission. I didn't find any porn on the TV, which given that I was traveling with my daughter, was especially appreciated.)
The "breakfast" was only so-so. The room was actually a bit depressing, and the food was too, but heck, it was "free". I'd go back, if I didn't want to spring for a nicer place that might run me an extra 20$.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Redding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Redding

Address: 2731 Bechelli Lane, Redding, CA 96002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Redding 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express - Redding Hotel Redding
Howard Johnson Redding

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn - Redding, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.