We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfy and worth our money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Hilltop Drive, Redding, CA 96002-0508   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Redding
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    142
    52
    28
    9
See reviews for
152
122
22
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Was on a road trip with my girlfriend to California, stopped in Redding for both the warm weather and the travel time from home. Loved the hotel! Very comfortable, close to food and nightlife, and had a great buffet breakfast the next morning. The surrounding area to Redding is beautiful and we had a great mountain bike ride after a good night's rest. Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Made my reserve through BW Gold Crown Club and was given one of the creepiest located rooms at this property. Under a stairway and facing a brick wall. Cavelike and dark as night. Room itself was fine...comfy bed, nice touches. Since it was just one night this situation was OK.
Restaurant JR Gibbs continues to be a hit or miss. Stick with simple salads or a pizza or burger. Don't try anything creative. Buffet breakfast which is included is above average and well maintained throughout service.

Room Tip: Try and avoid any under the stairwell locations. As always ask to see your room before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My 3rd time staying at the Hilltop Inn Best Western in Redding and that makes 3 out of 3 consistently good stays. The rooms are clean and generous. The added bonus is that everyone I dealt with from housekeeping to front desk to the great team at their CR Gibbs American Restaurant were warm, genuine and got it done for me. The food is great too and they keep playing with the menu adding daily specials. I'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington the state
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This facility is a very nice, small hotel. The lobby is modern and well kept. There is an exercise room (we didn't use it) that appears well equipped, pool (again we didn't use) and internet office area. The bar area becomes the breakfast area and here is where the facility shines. The breakfast is buffet and similar to any that you can get in stand alone restaurants...it was fully stocked with eggs, meats, fruits, breads, etc. All in all, this is a nice hotel. Our problem with our stay was...we were in a room that had an adjoining room to it. The interior doors to separate the rooms are THIN! Imagine cardboard separation. The people next door played their TV ALL NIGHT LONG! When we complained to the desk at 3AM, they called the neighbor and asked them to turn it down. We could hear the conversation and the neighbors referred to us as unreasonable, claimed the TV wasn't loud...3am in the morning! They did turn it down, but very little and it was still loud enough to be heard and was disturbing. We actually were uncomfortable of the attitude of their response. So...for a review of the facility, it gets slightly above average marks, for our personal stay it completely failed.

Room Tip: Do not have a room with connecting doors unless you request and want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Washington, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Everything about this hotel was good until we reached our room. It was small, dark, crowded and the bathroom layout was equally awkward with no fan in the shower area and no door to separate the bathroom area from the rest of the room. Clearly, this room was designed in the last century. Unfortunately, it was not priced accordingly. This room was grossly Overpriced!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn

Address: 2300 Hilltop Drive, Redding, CA 96002-0508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Redding
#7 Romantic Hotel in Redding
#8 Business Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique AAA three-diamond hotel is located within the heart of one of the country's most beautiful regions - the Shasta Cascade. Our 114 upscale guestrooms have been tastefully decorated, offering either King, 2 Queens,or King with Sofabed. Hotel amenities: Free full hot breakfast buffet, complimentary high-speed wireless internet access, free business center, free local & toll free phone access,fitness center, complimentary DVD rentals, free USA Today newspaper Mon-Fri, outdoor heated pool & spa, in-room refrigerator, guest laundry, ample parking and conference room banquet facilities hold up to 100 persons. Relax and enjoy our on-site award winning restaurant C.R. Gibbs American Grille - lunch 11:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., 'Nutzy Hour' 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m., dinner 4:00 p.m. to closing. Enjoy dining on our outside patio. Only blocks away from high end shopping, specialty shops and two miles from California's newest destination icon the Sundial Bridge at Turtle Bay Museum and Arboretum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hilltop Hotel Redding
Best Western Hilltop Hotel
Best Western Redding
Redding Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.