We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Hilltop Drive, Redding, CA 96002-0508   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Redding
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Show Low
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Updated Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

This Best Western earned the "Plus" by having a nice fitness room and excellent breakfast in a roomy, on-site restaurant. There was a large, flat screen T.V. in the room, but the fridge was super small, and the freeway was right next to our room. Overall, a pretty good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHilltopInn, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. All of our standard rooms are facing the highway so when you book rooms with us look for the rooms that say deluxe that means you will be in a preferred location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    141
    52
    28
    9
See reviews for
152
121
22
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Nice room, don't get me wrong. But.... I had reserved a second floor room overlooking the pool, and received a first floor room overlooking the parking lot. That kind of stuff never makes me Happy, I can roll right through it, but Really? So based on that this review isn't glowing. The room was recently remodeled and was nice. They do a continental breakfast in their restaurant, which does provide nice tables and utensils. But you really need to stck with what the customer reserves. Point reduction for your failure. And you probably thought I wouldn't tell anybody.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHilltopInn, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We do apologize for not being able to accommodate your requests for upstairs overlooking the pool area. We do try our best to give each and every guest what they have requested, sometimes due to unforeseen reasons we are not able to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had to 'drop in' without reservations after a very long, unexpected 8 hour drive. The front desk staff person was very pleasant and I felt I got the perfect room and price. The restrarunt was good, the wait staff responsive, and the pool wonderfully refreshing. The big 'draw' was the newly remodeled sign and the rooms are indeed new.

I would stay again!!

Room Tip: ask for the rear building facing the pool. Yes, it sounds odd but the pool is across the parking lot...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHilltopInn, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I'm so glad you enjoyed the pool area; it's my favorite spot on our property. We hope to see you again next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a nice motel. Our room was at the back of the property, which faces Highway 5, but that was the only negative. We didn't have any problems with noise. The room was recently remodeled and very nicely furnished for a motel. They provided a very nice hot breakfast in the restaurant- eggs, bacon, etc. Good place to stay for families travelling through the area.

The motel is close to a number of restaurants. We visited the Sundial Bridge and also went rafting on the Trinity River with Trinity River Rafting, which was a blast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHilltopInn, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate your positive comments and look forward to seeing you next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The desk noted my cane and switched my room to lower level. Room was small but adequate. The pool and hot tub were great and open early. We chose to stay an extra night as the attached restaurant was super and the pool area relaxing

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHilltopInn, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us, and the great comments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

It was very hot in Redding so we were pleased that the check-in process went quickly and smoothly so that the family could get to the swimming pool. The room was ready for us and pre-cooled to a very comfortable temperature. There was just enough space for all of us, a family of five with our youngest in a porta-crib. The pool area is outdoors and includes a toddler waiting pool (only 1 foot deep), a nice sized pool for kids and adults (up to 8ft deep), and a hot-tub, too. The water temperature in all three pools was just right. There were plenty of tables for lounging in the shade and towels were available (you do need to ask for them at the front desk, though). The hotel is connected to an on-site restaurant were we were able to get something and enjoy the cooler evening on the patio rather than indoors (room service is available). This restaurant is open only to guests for a full, buffet breakfast. The food was tasty and plentiful. The WiFi wasn't very strong in our room. This seems to be a popular hotel as there were a lot of guests and it was busy. The rate was appropriate for a Best Western, but there are rather high accommodation tax/fees in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHilltopInn, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
We are so glad that your family enjoyed their stay. Thank you for the positive comments and we look forward to having you as our guest's again when you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoChesCoPA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The rooms were very modern and had nice amenities however I wasn't thrilled with their space for the public computer. It was just next to the front desk so no privacy to look at my new wedding pics or do banking. They also charged a tourism fee at this hotel which I just realized ($3). Bed was comfy, but pillows were much too firm and difficult to sleep on. One hotel we stayed in gave us several options in one King room. I slept without a pillow rather than wake with a stiff neck. All in all, we were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate the positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn

Address: 2300 Hilltop Drive, Redding, CA 96002-0508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Redding
#7 Romantic Hotel in Redding
#8 Business Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique AAA three-diamond hotel is located within the heart of one of the country's most beautiful regions - the Shasta Cascade. Our 114 upscale guestrooms have been tastefully decorated, offering either King, 2 Queens,or King with Sofabed. Hotel amenities: Free full hot breakfast buffet, complimentary high-speed wireless internet access, free business center, free local & toll free phone access,fitness center, complimentary DVD rentals, free USA Today newspaper Mon-Fri, outdoor heated pool & spa, in-room refrigerator, guest laundry, ample parking and conference room banquet facilities hold up to 100 persons. Relax and enjoy our on-site award winning restaurant C.R. Gibbs American Grille - lunch 11:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., 'Nutzy Hour' 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m., dinner 4:00 p.m. to closing. Enjoy dining on our outside patio. Only blocks away from high end shopping, specialty shops and two miles from California's newest destination icon the Sundial Bridge at Turtle Bay Museum and Arboretum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hilltop Hotel Redding
Best Western Hilltop Hotel
Best Western Redding
Redding Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.