We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2160 Larkspur Lane, Redding, CA 96002   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Redding
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed in many many Hilton properties, Hampton Inns being one that we never hesitate to choose... But this one wasn't up to par. The service was outstanding (as we have always found at Hilton properties) but the cleanliness was at a new low. There was pink and black mold in the bathroom, the room seemed dusty and there was a wrapper on the floor from the previous guest. Also, there were sticky notes on the headboards that said that there were clean sheets put on the bed before our arrival. I found it odd and DIScomforting that I was staying somewhere where that wasn't assumed. Overall, it was fine, not filthy, good service, decent hot breakfast and a good price but not what we expected (and certainly would have improved if someone had used some bleach in the bathroom).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at our hotel. I apologize for the condition of the bathroom and we will be taking corrective action in this regard. We should have taken better care and usually do. The sticky notes you referred to is something Hampton wants us to do to let our guests know that everything is fresh and clean on the bed and of course that should be a given and is with our hotel. I hope you will give us another opportunity to be of better service and I would like to hear about your stay, if that is the case. Our team cares very much about the happiness of our guests and their stay at our hotel. Your business is important to us.
Again, my apologies and we look forward to being of service to you.
David Grabeal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    128
    35
    11
    2
See reviews for
131
118
27
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I am a Hilton Honors gold traveler and love Hampton. This one had a nice front desk staff but the breakfast and breakfast staff could use improvement for sure. We liked the room, though begin by the workout room was not good as the treadmill woke us up at 6am. Breakfast: the scrambled eggs were old and puffed up like they were microwaved. I made an inquiry and the young woman got kind of snippy with me that they are NOT MICROWAVED and that everyone asks that! That should be a clue Hampton, if people are asking if your food is microwaved then it is not just me that is noticing the drop in quality. Each day the eggs were kind of old when I was there at 9am.

Room Tip: Don't get near the exercise room unless you want to be woken up early. The suite was nice but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We go to Redding annually for business for a week in January. This month, we returned to the Hampton where we were last year. The hotel is spotless and the staff is amazing. Gave us free laundry detergent, free water every time we entered the hotel.

Beds were great. Rooms cleaned daily and spotless. Great hotel and great management obviously!

Room Tip: Any room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Redding Hampton Inn is close to great restaurants and a shopping mall. My room, was quiet and clean. I loved that the room was large, had a king bed and a long counter in the bathroom. The breakfast was very good; staff was great and the new renovated lobby is really grand. I felt safe and comfortable. My bed was a little firmer than I liked; however, it was o.k. The staff were all kind and considerate and very helpful. I definately recommend this hotel to other travelers.

Room Tip: I had a king bed on the third floor and all the amenities in the room were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Since my last visit in April 2012, they have renovated the lobby/breakfast area. Although I miss the comfy couches, its a nice lay out and the breakfast is still very good (I do miss the fresh donuts they served a few years ago though). The rooms have always been clean and I believe the housekeeping department to be one of the best in all of the hotels I've stayed in the past year (30+).
A pleasant surprise is they now have a dedicated computer/usb charger on the nightstand (two plug-in outlets and two usb outlets). Extremely helpful! Thanks. We will be back in two months.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel many times before. NEVER a problem. This time: Our room key never worked. Once staff let us in the room with their master key, we noticed a horrible smell in the room. After reporting this and being tired of not being able to get into our room with our room key, we were upgraded to a King suite, which was very nice. However, what we did NOT know that this was a room for the hearing impaired. It has a bell outside the room. Anyone walking by, can just press this bell. The result:very loud chimes ringing in the room and flashing lights. Twice at night, we had this happen. First we thought this was the fire alarm. We called front desk. He told us it is probably the battery in the fire alarm that needs to be replaced. Then someone rang that bell again and we were woken up with flashing lights. We called the front desk again. A front desk clerk came upstairs, however, then informed us that this was the bell. He disabled the bell then outside the room. Needless to say, we were angry and had no sleep that night. Then, checking out the next day, we could not get a refund, because we had prepaid this room over the internet. We were told. our next stay at this hotel would be free. What, if we don't stay there again???

Room Tip: Be aware of rooms for the hearing impaired. These rooms have a bell outside in the hall and anyone c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for letting me know about your recent stay at our hotel. I very much apologize for the room that you were given during this stay and the issue with the door bell on the second room. This is not our usual level of service and I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Rest assured that we will take care of you as indicated when you come to Redding in the future. Feel free to contact me in this regard. We do appreciate your business and I know that we will meet or exceed your expectations next time.

David Grabeal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt County Calif.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Spent a week in Redding, shopping, visiting friends, sightseeing and enjoying the restaurants we don't have on the coast . The hotel was clean, quite, comfortable beds, wet bar and all the amenities. Has a counter and sink outside the bathroom which is really nice.

Room Tip: If your a Hilton Honors member you get a free upgrade to a Jacuzzi Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites

Address: 2160 Larkspur Lane, Redding, CA 96002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redding
#5 Business Hotel in Redding
#6 Family Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Redding's newer premier hotels, featuring 80 beautiful rooms with the Hampton Cloud Nine bed, On the House breakfast, business center, pool and whirlpool. Close to great restaurants and retail centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Redding
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Inn Redding
Redding Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.