We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be in a hurry won't help.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jack's Grill

Jack's Grill
1743 California St, Redding, CA 96001-1906
530-241-9705
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 271 Restaurants in Redding
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't be in a hurry won't help.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Small dark hole in the wall 14 tables no reservations. Went with a party of five checked in the hostess we were told a table will be ready shortly. We bellied up to a most excellent bar and much to my surprise they serves a healthy shot of Old Overtholt Rye Whiskey. Seemed fitting considering the ambiance. Well, shortly turned out to be over an hour before we were sat but you kinda have to expect that at Jacks. After too much whiskey we were seated, our order was taken and served very nicely by the wait staff who were very pleasant, the hostess seemed to be the frumpy one. Had a 16 oz rare slab of charred mammal flesh which makes all the waiting almost worthwhile. It was delish! Baked potatoes, house salad, the waitress made us her special blend of dressing oil/vinegar with blue cheese dressing mixed. The help always knows whats best.
All and all a great time. The wait could have been explained a little better but hey they seem to have all the business the need so there doing something right. I'll be back when I'm finished digesting the huge New York Strip I had for dinner, it's gonna take a while!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    48
    18
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mount Shasta, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to go for steaks and drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Have gone there since the 1960's as a child with our family. The only thing that's changed-for the better- is a no smoking policy. It doesn't stink now. The steaks are delicious, the top sirloin very reasonably priced-and served with a green salad drowned in yummy blue cheese dressing. Have to get there early to get a table. Its dark and noisy as it is a very tight squeeze, part of its old charm. Sweet waitresses and a bartender have been there forever. Go there once a month with my 95 year old lady friend and her daughter.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Great Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you want a little of Redding's History and a Great Steak try Jack's Grill. It opened in 1938 and has always been the go to place for a great steak.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“the best and the worst.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The food is awesome. bread soaked in grill mate on one side, scarred with the grill on the other. salad just limp enuf to eat, but not be a contender for the doggy-bag. and the walls? Try not to notice the fly-specks dating back to 1953, or you will not concentrate on the only "dry-racked" steak in Nor Cal. And its an awesome steak. So awesome they don't need to make you wait thru 3 cocktails to get a table. But they will....!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Popular local dive for steak and potato lovers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband, a salesman, has been coming here for over 30 years and won't eat dinner anywhere else in Redding. This place reminds him of the local neighborhood bar/restaurant back in Queens, where the staff "know you and call you by name".

Thy don't take reservations. The place opens at 4pm and on the weekends there is usually a crowd waiting outside. Dinner doesn't start until 5 pm. By 6 pm, even most weekdays, the tables are full and you'll have to wait until the first set of diners is done. Put your name in with the hostess at a stand in the middle of the restaurant. There are about 14 tables.

So have a drink while you wait. The bar seats about 14. There's a flat screen TV, always showing the latest game. Mike, the main bartender is great and serves a good pour. About $5 for a well drink. Skip the wine, unless you bring your own, which I have seen people do. Not sure about corkage fee- doubt it would be much.

The menu is limited - their focus is on the steaks, which we hear they dip in oil and then grill, which gives them a tasty seared coating. Sirloin, filet, NY (no rib-eye or porterhouse) with a couple of variations on size, including a brochette with peppers and onions. $25- 35. Other items include fried chicken (popular with non red-meat eaters) and fried scallops. Dinner includes choice of baked potato or steak fries (the best), and a large bowl of salad - ice cold, chopped iceberg lettuce with some canned french green beans tossed with ranch, vinaigrette, thousand island, or blue cheese, or a combination of any of the above. No light dressing here! Packaged saltines are served with the salad and garlic bread with the meal. A side of sautéed mushrooms is extra. No appetizers or desserts on this menu. Coffee or tea available for $2.50.

The waitresses and busboy have been there " forever" and run their tales off.

The place is old, dark, with some "strategic" red lights and table votives. But make no mistake, this is not a place for a romantic dinner or where you go to impress the in-laws. This is a local dive with a friendly, neighborhood atmosphere and a great steak. It's been around since 1935, I think, so it must be doing something right.

P.S. Use the bathroom at home.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Grill also viewed

 

Been to Jack's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.