We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair prices for decent rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stardust Motel

Stardust Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stardust Motel to your Saves list
Stardust Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Pine Street, Redding, CA 96001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Redding
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fair prices for decent rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed here for some weeks a while back, and the prices given were very fair. The rooms were okay. They did have a cleaning crew that washed sheets etc.. However, the walls had snot on them(as in nose snot), and the carpeting was filthy, like it had never been cleaned. Across the street, there was, and maybe still is, a motel housing a MULTITUDE of sex offenders put up there by the state. So, if I had kids, I would keep a close eye on them while outside.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    6
    3
    8
See reviews for
7
7
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My brother and I often seek out independent motels in our travels. Some have been very good, some should not to be named. And, we always have wonderful adventures in the process. We had a ball at this one, though many would not. This property is a waypoint for temporary/permanent homeless and nearby workers. There seemed to be shifting populations of folks coming and going all afternoon and well into the early evening. We watched it all and found them to be friendly and helpful. Redding seems to be a depressed area.
The owner, Patel, was as kind and accommodating as you could wish for; it was in walking distance of downtown, the rooms were very clean, the TV had 800 channels, the beds were comfortable and it was quiet at night. The rooms were $48 for a single. Book direct with the motel number.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

The owners have taken over from a very bad manager and are making much needed changes. The rooms are as clean as motel chains. It is right in downtown and within 5 minutes walk of good restaurants and bars. No, need to drive.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Front desk was helpful getting all 5 of us settled in. Had a good experience for the price paid. If your traveling through Redding looking for a place to stay on a budget, this is your match. We did 2 rooms with two queens. Lots of channels on direct tv.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anon, Pampanga, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I had been on the road for a few days and I broke down in Redding Ca the problem was I broke down at 230 am and had to wander through the streets of Redding desperately looking for a room and every hotel was booked up by 11am I had wandered about ten miles and I was in tears out frustration and exhaustion and I came upon the stardust hotel and I explained my situation to him even though he was completely booked up and every other hotel had a strict "no check in before 4pm" policy, he went completely out of his way to fix up a room for me and charged me 30 dollars less than anywhere else would have a steal at $56 and was so kind to me he urged me to get some rest and if I needed anything to not hesitate to ask. It isn't a five star hotel in physically but it is spiritually, even if he had not been so kind and acted like the rest of the other hotel owners did, the rooms are still very clean, the property and the swimming pool were very well maintained and the parking lot was also well maintained and the trash was also, the bed was amazing ( I slept the whole rest of the day and the night) and the showers are amazing along with great wifi coverage.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

On a business trip in NorCal looking for a cheap double bed led me to this place because of the low weekly rate and only place with availability at 1am. Very quiet motel that seems to be serviced and run by the family owners. They fixed any small problems that we brought to their attention, and were always present and friendly. Great location in Redding surrounded by a mall, good restaurants, and plenty of parking.
Recommended for a discount motel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murwillumbah, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were a little nervous about stopping here after reading the reviews but were relieved to find courteous, friendly service, a very clean & spacious room with a good bed, fridge and microwave. Our room (14) had been re-carpeted, bathroom retiled and all in all very comfortable, bedding clean. The only downside was an incredibly noisy aircon which we turned off before falling asleep. Highly recommended if you are on a tight budget.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stardust Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust Motel

Address: 1200 Pine Street, Redding, CA 96001
Location: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stardust Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Stardust Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stardust Hotel Redding

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stardust Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.