We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice park for the family, but way too expensive. Save your money.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Exploration Park

Turtle Bay Exploration Park
844 Sundial Bridge Drive, Redding, CA 96099-2360
+1 800-887-8532
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 Attractions in Redding
Type: Science Museums, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 300 Acres of Fun! A hands-on natural science museum, arboretum & botanical gardens, live animals, summer wildlife show, year-round Parrot Playhouse (lorikeet aviary), walking trails, forestry center and ecology exhibits are all part of our expansive environmental and cultural museum complex.
Redding, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Nice park for the family, but way too expensive. Save your money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The park is family friendly. great for small children. It's too expensive for what they offer. If you can spare the expense it's very nice and has a lot of interesting fish and some animals.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    52
    18
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Always a treat. The museum is host to lots of interesting exhibits and animal programs. You can also see the Sundial Bridge, the Arboretum and Botanical Gardens. Environmentally conscious, they have an abundance of education programs plus ones that allow you to buy a tree (or a whole grove), "adopt" an animal. Learn about natural resources and wildlife, stroll the bridge, enjoy the Sacramento River scenery. Never disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Cedro, CA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Amazing fireworks, great park/museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This area is the most delightful in Redding. The Sundial bridge is stunning, especially at night. The trails super. Turtle Bay is great for families and always has interesting and new exhibits. What a tremendous resource for the community. Not to be missed (and we did for the first 7 years of living here because we assumed they would be rather mundane after fireworks of DC, etc.) are the 4th of July fireworks. An amazing, spectacular program...the best you will see anywhere.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We love Turtle Bay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Every chance we get, we go to Turtle Bay, and we live a couple hours away. If you go, spend the $1 extra for the Lorikeet experience. It's fantastic.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had company from out of town with small children. We went to the museum and saw an amazing Lego Exhibit, also, parrots, butterflies, Math Exhibit, so much to see! We spent three hours there, ate lunch outside of the gift shop, then went back to see more! Very fun for all ages and i highly recommend it. We went back later in the evening to walk the Sundial Bridge, beautiful sunset and cool over the Sacramento River!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Bay Exploration Park also viewed

 

Been to Turtle Bay Exploration Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Exploration Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.